We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and service always excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jochheims Pies

Jochheims Pies
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Bowen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jochheims pies was started by Darcy and Merle Jochheim in 1963. The Pie Shop initially sold Pies, Pasties, Sausage Rolls Apple Turnovers, Cream Horns and cold drinks. Son in law Paddy O'Regan, commenced at Jochheims pies in 1976. In 1999, Paddy and wife Jayne ( Darcy and Merles eldest daughter) purchased the business and began introducing delicious new products. The shop next door was renovated to add seating for 65 Customers. Freshly baked bread, a large range of Sandwiches and rolls,quiches, new lines of pastries, Freshly brewed coffee were introduced over the next decade to cater for an ever expanding Customer base. To keep improving the products we regularly enter in Baking competitions. Our latest award is winning " Best Meat Pie" at the recent ( June 2014 )NIBA NQ Baking Show. Feedback from Customers is important to us, so if something's not up to your expectations, please let us know. We have a 200% "money back guarantee"
Bowen, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and service always excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

the best dine in or take away, staff are so pleasant, facilities are super clean and you always feel like you are you are special when greeted by early morning or late afternoon staff. The coffee from Jochheim's is great too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Webb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for being our Customer.
We work hard on our Service, Cleanliness and Products
It's an ongoing commitment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We always stop here on our way north. The pies and service is always good. Sometimes very busy and you have to wait a bit. Worth it though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks for your feedback Gail. And 'thanks" for calling off the highway to visit us.
It does get a little hectic at times, so, sorry 'bout the wait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday In Bowen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We drove all the way from Maryborough to have a holiday and I was craving a meat Pie and decided to go to Jochhiems for lunch and I had a Mushroom Pie which was fantastic my wife had the potato pie which was ok it just needed more potato and it would of been nicer if the pie lid wasn't added but still great pies tho will be back

Helpful?
Thank MagnaDefender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the Mushroom Pie.
Next time you're back, let us know, and we'll get rid of that pesky lid on the potato pie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
849 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“We saw the sign on the highway and detoured”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The sign gave us the message that Jochheims pies were extraordinary, so we decided on a pie lunch in Bowen.

Sorry, Jochheims - just another pie and nothing special

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Sorry we didn't meet your expectations.
Our policy is" If you wouldn't sell it to your mother, don't sell it to a Customer"
Maybe one of staff had a blue with their mother?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service. Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I think we went here about five times in a week. Really lovely people, consistently great service, the food was lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kochie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We appreciate your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your visits to us .
Hope you had a great stay in our beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jochheims Pies also viewed

 

Been to Jochheims Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing