We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful views, friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 360 on the Hill

360 on the Hill
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Bowen
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“beautiful views, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

we have dined here a few times and each time they seem to improve on the last visit, don't expect elaborate dining it is very much down to earth, good sized meals well cooked with lovely service from the staff, the views are spectacular and always a relaxing visit to look out over the sea looking for the whales, the food is homey and well priced, the toilets were well kept and clean, it is a cafe and some people expect 24/7 it is a small country town and as such does not warrant for them to be open for long extended hours, we had breakfast there and it was delicious and a huge meal we shared between us, they are open for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea but do do dinner on certain nights best to contact center for times but we will continue to visit them for meals. Remember this is run by the local indigenous people of the area so they do a great job of promoting and representing their people. Ask about their culture and background interesting to hear their heritage.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dont bother going if you want food or drinks!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Drove up for the fantastic views all around. Went to the cafe at 3.10pm for afternoon tea, there were people eating outside and staff were preparing food for others. Was told by a snooty young girl, "we're closed, not serving anymore" - unbelievable at 3.10pm in the afternoon on a perfect day. The car park was half full, lots of people about who no doubt would also be very disappointed in this so called Cafe!! Really great for tourism.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“morning tea disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our scones were dry and hard. The pancakes were too thick - not at all tasty and certainly not worth the $14.
The observation tower was empty. We didn't feel welcome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank parisTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food ,great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our food was fantastic, really fresh calamari, ceaser salad was great, beer cold.... Unreal views and great place to visit even if you dont eat.Flagstaff Hill are the signs you follow.Staff were friendly, they were really busy so it was a little slow but thats ok.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maroubragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
704 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a fantastic idea - pick the best view in Bowen and stick a restaurant on top of it!! Add a bit of history etc and you've got a great place to visit. Follow the signs to the Flagstaff Hill Interpretive Centre. We visited on a Sunday for lunch and we pleased to see that we were not the only people taking advantage of a perfect North Qld winter's day.

There's plenty of parking, and you can enjoy the view from many angles before actually going in to the restaurant. Choose whether to sit outside on verandahs facing either the ocean or inland or inside. Order from the counter off a reasonably priced menu - $26 for garlic and lemon calamari, a little less for the steak burger and chips. The calamari was beautiful - very nice crumbs, and perfectly cooked, just about best I've ever had. Both dishes came with freshly made crunchy chips, calamari with fresh salad that showed some care in making, and a nice tartare sauce.

The usual soft drinks were available, don't know of they are licensed - didn't see anybody drinking beer. Staff are friendly and service was relaxed, but not slow.

You can read about the history of Bowen while waiting for your meals, or go up to an observation deck for an even better view of the surroundings. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjbMirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 360 on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing