We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with excellent service”

The Pearly Shell Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pearly Shell Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My father and I stayed at the Pearly She'll Motel last year and had a great nights sleep. The owners are very friendly and took care of us even when we needed to check in later in the afternoon. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Pjbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Pearly Shell is a great little motel and the owners/manager always give friendly service. The rooms are nice and the location is handy to Bowen and the highway. PayTV is a nice bonus given the low cost of the room. I am a repeat customer and will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After many years travelling Australia and parts of the World for work the one thing that greatly diminished over the years is good old fashioed service values. I can't remember that last time I stayed somewhere as friendly as The Pearly Shell. It was fantastic value for money and incredibly clean. The managers Chris and Tara were so down to Earth and nothing was a problem for them, and despite the down turn in tourist numbers on the East Coast they were positive and made us feel at home. So well done guys and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We too have stayed at the Pearly Shell, it is a well run family motel. Rooms are fresh and extremely clean. The owners were very helpful and friendly and Mickey the motel dog is always there to welcome you back from your day out and a game of rope if you are missing your puppy back home. Great place for a stopover on your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stay at this motel a number of time a year. Have never had a reason to complain about a single thing. If you had a problem maybe you need to ask yourselves a few questions about arrival times and at what time did you go and let them know the milk was opened in the fridge. This would also have been an opportune time to ask about movies etc. The fact the motel does not advertise it is open 24hrs a day doesn't seem to enter your head.
We would recommend people to stay there any time of year and experience very friendly country hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stay down in Bowen for both work and holidays, and always stay at the Pearly shell . Chris and Tarah provide great quality customer service and always make my stay feel like a home away from home. The rooms are always extremely clean and fresh. Its always very relaxing to come back to the motel after a big day at work have a beer and pat Mickey( the motel pup) and a yarn. I would recommend staying at the Pearly Shell to anyone who is travelling up or down the coast as its inexpensive, friendly, very comfortable rooms and great customer service from Chris and Tarah.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After driving with four children from NSW, stopping in at numerous places along the way, The Pearly Shell, was like a home away from home. The management couple were so friendly, and welcoming. They gave us info on where to eat, what we can do with the kids and places to visit in the area. The room we had was clean and tidy and the beds were made like we were staying in a fancy hotel, not paying $150 per night, for the 6 of us. AND, it's conveniently located on the main road, as you drive into Bowen. The Pearly Shell Motel is where we'd recommend staying, when needing accommodation in North Queensland.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowen hotels
2.5 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#6 of 9 in Bowen
40 reviews
2 mi away
Queens Beach Motor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Port Denison Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Motor Lodge
Castle Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Bowen
60 reviews
1 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
2.4 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearly Shell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearly Shell Motel

Address: 2 Don St, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range: $74 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearly Shell Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 12 room motel located in the beautiful seaside town of Bowen. We are conveniently located and are just a short stroll from restaurants, takeaways and convenient stores. We are value for money and the friendliest little motel in town! Whether you are working or holidaying, Bowen is the perfect location. The fishing spots are plentiful and the beaches are award winning. Come and stay a while and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in beautiful Bowen!* Pool & free bbq area* guest laundry* family rooms with kitchenettes* all rooms have kettles, toasters and microwaves* clean and fresh rooms * continental breakfast menu and meal packages available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pearly Shell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing