We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boonah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I was put up here mid-week over-night through my work. I was very impressed with the quality of the service, the food and the room. The property presents very well, the attention to detail was obvious wherever you look.
The format is quite unique and relaxed. Rob and Marina are very accommodating when it comes to food, there is no menu, you just tell them what you like. I just went with Rob's suggesion of a nice steak for dinner, apple tart/pie for dessert and a custom omelette/friut platter for brekkie.
My only complaint was that I did not have the time to really soak it all in and was gone the next morning. Still, a very nice over-nighter. I hope to return next time with fiancee for a longer period.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Note_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 174 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

Fantastic location. Lovely surrounds and facilities. The accomodation is of a very high standard and well thought through. Luxury bedding, furniture and equipment etc. Everything that you require for a relaxing weekend away is provided. There is an outdoor pool and the "great room" if you wish to relax elsewhere. The only thing that we were disappointed with was the food. We opted to have dinner in the great room served by the hosts as we were told that there was no-where else to eat nearby and no self-catering. We were not given dinner options and told that we would just be served whatever the hosts decided to make (for $55 per head). We were invited to advise of any food allergies or dislikes. I advised that I had a particular food allergy and was very annoyed when I was served up that very thing for entree!

Main was fine (but far from restaurant quality). The dessert was not something that I would have ordered myself, was not enjoyable and I didn't end up eating it. Given the quality of the accommodation we expected that the food would be of similar standard and were very disappointed when it wasn't. Breakfast was included in the weekend stay, but was again disappointing. The fruit and yoghurt that was served first was good. We were then offered cooked breakfasts. One of our cooked breakfasts was burnt (very visibly), the other had only 2 of the 3 items ordered. I ordered poached eggs, The eggs weren't cooked enough and had busted , but were still plated up nonetheless. overall just not enjoyable and quite unexpected. We would still recommend the accommodation but suggest that you venture to one of the nearby towns to dine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilaTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBunyipRob, Owner at The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

I'm really disappointed that you weren't happy on Saturday night . I wish you had said something at the time. The empty plates are all we can go by. The baked shiraz pear you had for dessert is usually a hit. We try to use in season produce and our meals are prepared fresh and are not designed to imitate a restaurant. Sorry you don't like crispy bacon. It's something we'll make a point of asking guests in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Coming from the city the views and surroundings are a welcome change and nothing short of spectacular. The rooms are beautifully fitted out with a generous king size bed and luxury linens.
There is no need to venture elsewhere for dinner when you can wander into the Great Hall in the evening with your bottle of wine and chat to fellow guests as your lovely hosts Marina and Rob prepare a gorgeous 3 course dinner using seasonal produce.
Looking forward to staying again when it is cooler and can make full use of the fireplace.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

After only a few hours here it felt like we'd been away for a week we were so relaxed. The views are stunning at any time of day, rain or shine. The decor in each room is slightly different but all are lovely and well appointed, but the piece de resistance is the Great Room were you can just chill out and watch the views or curl up with a book. Would love to go back in Winter to lounge by the fire all day, but in Summer the pool was very welcome after a hard day's sight seeing. Rob and Marina are the perfect hosts - friendly, helpful but unobtrusive. The food was superb - when I mentioned that I loved roast pork, Rob cooked it specially for us the next night and Marina's gift of pickled figs and a rose on Valentine's Day made us feel very special. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Exceptional, personal service in a very relaxed, easy going, yet very luxurious setting. The views and sunsets from The Bunyip are absolutely second to none. Limited guest numbers ensures each couple feels exclusive and pampered making the most of all facilities. The three course dinner parties in the Great Room offer an opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests and hosts Rob and Marina .The Bunyip is close to many Scenic Rim attractions and quaint local towns ready for exploring. The interesting architecture and uninterrupted views combined with personal service on your own timetable sets it apart from other typical bed and breakfast accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYandGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were travelling in the area and ended up staying at the Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort for a night. It was an unexpected wonderful experience. Robert and Marina made us feel very welcome. Not only with the new well designed modern resort with wonderful views from the Scenic Rim to the Great Dividing Range, but also good food and service is provided. We recommended the resort to our relatives in Byron Bay and we will be back.
Peter and Mei
Perth, Western Australia

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Scenic Rim area has long been a favourite destination in SEQ for my husband and I, so for his 40th birthday I planned a surprise weekend getaway to Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort. From the minute we arrived and were greeted by Riley (resort’s English Red Setter) and Marina we knew we had discovered a truly special place. The views of the surrounding mountains are breath taking, and become even more beautiful at sunrise and sunset. On Rob’s return we were lucky enough to be shown a rainbow which ended on the property, proof indeed of the mythical pot of gold.

The Great Room (grand dining hall) and luxury apartments are designed to make the most of the mountain views. They are built from natural materials, perfectly suited to the environment, and the furnishings are modern and stylish without losing comfort. We especially enjoyed the fluffy towels, cloudlike bed, plush leather couches, complimentary robes, chocolates on arrival, and Nespresso coffee maker. Floor to ceiling glass windows allow you to view the scenery regardless of where you are in the apartment, and motorised blinds (great for the guys) can be deployed for privacy and/or light control. The only sounds are the sounds of nature...crickets and plentiful bird life.

Rob and Marina are fantastic hosts. They work well together as a team and it’s obvious they love what they do. Breakfast was included in our weekend package and we opted for a 3 course dinner both nights. Breakfast includes a continental selection followed by a cooked selection where you can request anything you desire, even an American style cooked breakfast of pancakes, bacon and maple syrup was not out of the question. The evening meals were outstanding and catered to suit our tastes, and the ambience of the Great Room encouraged conversation between newly introduced guests.

Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort was a perfect place for a quiet and relaxing weekend. To celebrate my husband’s birthday we both received an in-house massage expertly given by Marina. At this point we were left wondering, does life get any better? Then we were surprised once again by a unique and much appreciated touch, an unexpected birthday muffin presented during the evening meal. We reluctantly left on Sunday afternoon vowing to return again, although during our next stay we will try gliding as well as having another massage. I expect that this new resort will win many awards in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ_DJHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boonah
24.1 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
16.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
5.1 mi away
Boonah Motel
Boonah Motel
#2 of 3 in Boonah
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
537 reviews
20.9 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
268 reviews
6.5 mi away
Boonah Valley Motel
Boonah Valley Motel
#3 of 3 in Boonah
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort

Address: 139 Lutter Rd, Boonah, Queensland 4309, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Boonah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boonah
Price Range: $242 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact The Bunyip for bookings. Sites such as Wotif etc will in error show there is no availability Luxury secluded and exclusive boutique resort located 1 hour from Brisbane. Glorious views. Two level apartments per couple. The Great Room provides for entertaining on a Grand Scale. 100 Acres of bushland surround the property. Willowbank Raceway is only 20 minutes. Self Cater or Full Service. Bushwalking, Gliding, Wine Trails and more or just Chill.Quality fittings and stunning architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort Boonah, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing