We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acacia Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acacia Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Blackall B&B and Inns
1 review
“Wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

It had all the makings of a great motel. What a shame the service was abysmal. Very rude without a thought of reoccurring business. Also window has no fly screen and considering their main water source is from a sulphur lake this makes the whole room smell like a toilet when you take a shower. They also could instal fans to help alleviate this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBAManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    16
    4
    13
See reviews for
13
22
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Got to Blackall after a long drive, having stayed at the Barcoo Hotel opposite about two weeks before, thought we would go a bit upmarket so chose the Acacia. It took 20 minutes to make any contact with the reception and we ended up telephoning the owner to say we were at the desk! First thing- we were informed that the restaurant was closed as the chef was on holiday so guess where dinner was..across the road at the Barcoo Pub!! The room , No 17,somewhat grubby and the sulphur smell which is part of Blackall was very apparent, keep the bathroom door shut!! Breakfast..in desparation, a bowl of cornflakes and milk purchased from the local supermarket. The thermal pool a bit short on therms but high on sulphur, The staff( we only saw one, having a drink with the other 3 patrons) rather amateur, it seems to be a family business) with only 3 venues in this ' metropolis' being No2 is not a suprise!
Maybe it gets better when the tourist season is in full swing but is that a reccomendation?? Try the pub opposite, half the price, cheerful a bit basic but much better value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydnpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed at the Acacia Motor Inn over the Easter Break. The information provided on the net stated there was a pool and restaurant. The pool was filthy, unusable and unfortunately the restaurant was closed over the Easter Break. Disappointing. First impression of the room was appealing, however closer attention should be given to the cleaning of the rooms. Hairs on the floor in the bathroom, plastic in the basin drain and crumbs on the top of the fridge where the fridge protruded out further than the bench top. On arrival the fridge was turned off, and by the morning everything we put in the fridge was frozen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked from one town away, even offered a credit card deposit - which we were told wasn't required, and by the time we arrived we were told that they were fully booked. No apology, no attempt to assist with finding somewhere else, just were full and don't have a room for you.

Were lucky to find a room at the Blackall Motel. Basic amenities but the hospitality of the owners more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We hit Blackall and decided to treat ourselves. And what a treat it was! The room was beautifully appointed and the bed was magnificent. Our host Ozzie was delightfully friendly. The only down side was the sulphur smell from the shower. But overall this is a shining oasis with wonderful facilities.Like the locals say :there is more that ....all in Blackall!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

This motel was clean and tidy. Anyone staying in Blackall will be confronted with the sulphur smell which comes from the showers due to the artisan bores. You will also need to run the shower for at least 15 minutes before the hot water eventually arrives at the shower head

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Classik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwekwe, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having been a past resident of Blackall and travelling through the one day we heard that the Acacia had reopened and stopped in to have lunch and a coffee. The food was great and the staff helpful and friendly.

Thank-you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acacia Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Motor Inn

Property: Acacia Motor Inn
Address: 110 Shamrock St, Blackall, Queensland 4472, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Blackall
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blackall
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing