We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcaldine Country Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barcaldine
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We prebooked this motel as we knew accommodation is well sort after in central Qld these days. We were glad we did. The motel suited our needs exactly. The room was good although we did ask to be changed from a room with a noisy old fashioned air cond to a modern one and it was a lot better and no trouble to do. THE RESTAURANT was great and we ate there both nights. Good home cooking done well and as I am a coeliac, they were well informed on what I could or could not eat. I like a toaster (which was provided) in the room so that I can do my own breakfast which is a hard meal to cater (cereal and bread which I supply). A bit noisy as it is on a T junction where a lot of road trains have to brake but it didn't really worry us. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: check the air cond before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    40
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
38
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The motel has not been renovated The rooms are small and showing their age Flat screen TV is a nice inclusion Convenient location where you can walk into the town It's on a main road and is a bit noisy with road train traffic

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Barcaldine Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Judy, we have been through our records for august and cannot find you booked into our motel,we have renovated 12 out of our 20 rooms and are still in the process of finishing the rest - as you would realize we are unable to do them at the moment as it is our busy season (we will be finishing them in the near future) obviously if you stayed here you must have acquired one of our older rooms (which are kept in good order and are very clean) - our motel is situated on the highway (which most motels are) and there is not much we can do about the road trains, but until now we have not had many complaints. Maybe if you stay here in the near future we can offer you one of our renovated rooms.
thanking you, Dave and Carolyn Madders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaudesert, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our adult family of three stayed here quite recently and found it to be a very charming place. It was extremely clean and comfortable with ample space to be found in our unit. We visited the on-site restaurant and the service and food were very good and all at a great price. As a recent reviewer of this property has stated, the wifi service was not working either when we were there, but if you did not absolutely have to have this service available it really is of no concern. We found the only downside of this property was the ongoing truck noise for much of the night but apart from that, it was a very comfortable and affordable place to stay. We will definitely be back when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dikell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I recently stayed at the Barcaldine Motor Inn for 2 nights while in the region for work. On arrival I went to the fridge for a cup of cold water but alas, all that I could find were 2 chilled stubbies with a 'with compliments' note attached - not complaining :)

Not to let my review hinge on the availability of complimentary beers - back to it.....
The bed was comfortable, the staff extremely friendly, the room was very clean, foxtel was available (albeit with limited channel selections), and the meals were quite large and well priced. Not much more needed while in this part of the world.

If I was to have one criticism, it would be that the wifi service did not work on either day I was there. In hindsight, I guess not being contactable wasn't all bad.

As a well seasoned traveller, I can happily recommend the Barcaldine Country Motor Inn if you need a place to rest your head for a day or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadewhanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Barcaldine Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the excellent reviews, we always like to see our customers happy.
we would like to explain why the wireless internet has not been working for a while, we used to have wifi installed but the company stopped operating out this far and we have now taken on tomizine which we had a few hiccups with, we have now rectified the problem and all is working now. sorry for any inconvenience caused to any of you.

dave and carolyn madders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Chrissie & I stayed here for the first time on Tuesday the 19th June 2012 and advise that in our experienced opinion (commercial travellers all over Qld.,all thru the year for decades), this stay was indeed memorable with exceptional food for dinner & breakfast, spacious, clean and comfortable accommodation with all mod-cons at-hand, and friendly, professional service.
Thanks Joe for the recommendation. Thanks Carolyn, Dave, Barb & Renae for your welcome.
Regards, Steve Curtis - Curtis Agencies.

Room Tip: Book Early - We stayed in Room 14 - I think !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Great rooms excellent service and meals friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny210859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was quite surprised with what I found when arriving at the Barcaldine Country Motor Inn after reading the reviews of other guests.
I was firstly impressed by the genuine warmth and friendliness of the staff instantly putting my mind at ease. The room was clean, roomy, comfortable and well equipped , our room had a new flat screen TV and new air con .We also had a foxtel package in the room.
We ate our meals in the dining room for both nights of our stay. The meals are HUGE and very nice. All the meal prices are very affordable and well worth the price. The owners and staff make you feel like you are a part of the family, making you feel very comfortable after a long day of travel.
We would stay here again without thinking twice

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcaldine Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcaldine Country Motor Inn

Property: Barcaldine Country Motor Inn
Address: Cnr Landsborough & Capricorn Hwys, Barcaldine, Queensland 4725, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcaldine Country Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcaldine Country Motor Inn Is A Quality Aaa 3 1/2 Star Air-conditioned Motel Situated On The Corner Of The Capricorn And Landsborough Highways. The Motor Inn Has The Best Position In Town Being In The Centre Of The Local Tourist Attractions And The Main Shopping Centre And Eateries. It Has 20 Clean And Comfortable Rooms, Including 1 Disabled And 2 X 2 Bedroom Units That Sleeps Up To 6 People. It Has A Licensed Dining Room And Shady Verandah Where You Can Enjoy Large Home Cooked Meals And Relax Amongst The Country Gardens 7 Days A Week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Barcaldine Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing