We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“leisurely fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Babinda Kayak Hire

Babinda Kayak Hire
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“leisurely fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

As we were staying in Etty Bay and we decided to so something. we chose Babinda Kayaking hire. A bit daunted that we had now guide but once we got going it was fun. A nice leisurely row down the creek. Had a few laughs on the way as the creek was low at places and we got stuck. we had an overcast day and a few light showers which was refreshing. if it was hot there is lots of banks that you can pull up too and have a swim or stop and have a drink and snack. was very relaxing and not hard work to paddle down stream. l would do it again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great day in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My family of 4 (children 10 and 8) did a 1/2 day trip with Babinda Kayak Hire back in January 2012 and loved it. When it is hot and humid up in FNQ (Far North Queensland) this is a great way to cool off and sit back, relax and enjoy the pristine scenery of Babinda creek. Lots of spots to stop and have a swim. It is a really easy and relaxing kayak trip any level of fitness welcome. Make sure you bring your camera. I highly recommend this tour for anyone coming to tour FNQ.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MateCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Tropical Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

On a weekend getaway,we discovered this absolutely incredible experience. Tucked away in the pristine surrounds of Babinda, away from the rat race, we had an excellent time just relaxing and letting the cool, clear waters of the creek take us on a slow, meandering journey downstream, for a thrilling half day. This left us time to enjoy the other gems in the nearby countryside. We will definiely do this trip again, and would recomend it to anybody of any fitness level, if they are looking for something just a little out of the usual tours. Thanks Gary, we had a great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I took my 5 kids kayaking with Babinda Kayak Hire for a half day and we all loved it so much we went back three days later and did a full day. Kids aged 5-12 all had a great time. Full day allowed much more time for swimming, floating down stream, exploring and a great picnic stop. The area is SO beautiful, the water really is crystal clear and fantastic for swimming and floating in. Can't recommend highly enough for families. Kayaks, both single and double, were easy for kids to manage, but would recommend doubles because it allowed some of the kids to jump in to float and swim downstream which was a highlight for them. Also recommend hiring a dry bag because it allowed us to take towels and camera without getting wet! Owner Garry super helpful and business well organised. Really hope we get to do it again one day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A FABULOUS DAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My two visitors from down south and I went kyaking last week and had the BEST time.! Cannot recommend this experience highly enough if you like to get away from the maddening crowds and love the beauty of nature. I have been wanting to do this trip for a couple of years now and was soooo happy with the experience and my friends say the day was the highlight of their holiday. The sun was shining ,the river was gentle and the water perfect for a swim. We took a bit longer than the norm to reach the pick up point as we enjoyed the journey so much...so sorry Gary for making u late getting home! Next time we are going to go for the whole day thats for sure ! Book this trip and enjoy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babinda Kayak Hire also viewed

Babinda, Queensland
Queensland, Australia
 
Innisfail, Queensland
Mena Creek, Queensland
 

Been to Babinda Kayak Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing