We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confrotable stay while diving Yongala” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayr Traveller's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ayr Traveller's Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ayr
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Confrotable stay while diving Yongala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while diving with Yongala (5 star PADI). Room is modern and clean. Restaurant was closed during the holidays so we had to seek other places to eat. It’s conveniently located, short driving distance to the dive shop and walking distance to some OK restaurant but avoid the Chinese restaurant at all cost! If you plan to stay in Ayr, bring your own drinks and dry food to snack because you are limited. Overall, I’d recommend this place and heard the restaurant located in this place is good. Too bad we didn’t get to try.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palau05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
13
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The restaurant is bad microwaved food that should not be passed off as 5 star food. We watched the " chefs" reheat over and over for each order. Tapas were a shame to the tapas name. Avoid at all costs. Inedible and a waste of money.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at this motel for 3 nights while in Ayr on business. I chose this hotel as it seemed to be the newest short stay accomodation in town. Its clean, modern, air conditioned, modern furniture, spacious room with couch and spacious modern bathroom. Room has an LCD TV, bar fridge, tea and coffee. Plenty of car parking at the rear. The only downside was that the freezer in the bar fridge didnt freeze any of the ice. I would stay there again and would recommend this motel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The first time I stayed at the Ayr Travellers I though it a bit strange to say the least, but not terrible, so I stayed again. The first time I stayed there the man at the front desk was a bit strange - slow to check us in and out. But not too bad. My room was fine, clean, nothing to write home about. The bathroom was large and spacious, the room was small. My colleage had no hot water in her room, however. Dinner in the restaurant was fine, nothing special. Very oily. Breakfast was terrible. Go somewhere else.

The second time I stayed there. Well. We went to check in to find out we had actually been booked in for the wrong date, despite confirmations being sent to us from them of the correct date. And, the hotel was booked out so we didn't have a room for our second night of stay. They did call around and find us alternative accomodation though, and luckily they had a spare room for one of the nights. We stayed there one night, had breakfast (despite touting a 'full breakfast including cereal and yoghurt etc' there was no cereal or yoghurt etc) and then on checking out no apologies were made (it was completely their error), we still had to pay full price for our accomodation and for (the awful) breakfast. I'm not necessarily a picky traveller - if it's decent, then I say it. However, I would definitely think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzyJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The Motel was clean, didn't mind the layout, but the shower water spilled onto the floor, people were nice, walls were a little thin as I could easily here people in the next rooms, the rooms had no microwave which I found very strange.mi would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Motel is very modern and clean. My room was spacious and had a good bathroom. Walls are paper thin so could hear the alarm in the room above me going off in the morning. Dinner at the motels restaurant was pretty good but breakfast was fairly average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Danni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went there recently to dive the Yongala. Owner was super nice and let us stayed pass our check out time, as we had a young baby. The rooms were spacious and clean, nothing fancy. In general Ayr is a sleepy town, would never go back again. But if we had to return i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantfindaname10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
6.2 mi away
Burdekin Motor Inn
Burdekin Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Home Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#1 of 4 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ayr Max Motel
Ayr Max Motel
#4 of 4 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Ayr Motel
Country Ayr Motel
#3 of 4 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plantation Park Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
The Burdekin Hotel
The Burdekin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayr Traveller's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayr Traveller's Motel

Property: Ayr Traveller's Motel
Address: 233 Queen St, Ayr, Queensland 4807, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ayr
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayr Traveller's Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ayr Traveller's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing