We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“B&B "Blissful & Beautiful" Stay”
other traveler has booked this property
Lounge & View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge & View
Pademelon Room Heated Pool & Waterfall Feature
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Lounge & View
Pademelon Room
Heated Pool & Waterfall Feature
All Br's have Ensuites
The Summit B&B
Bandicoot Room
Dining Room
Wallaby House side with deck
Full Kitchen & Dining
Dining Room & Breakfast Bar
Ferns growing Wild
Native Fauna & flora
Valley in Mist
Lounge Lamp
Millaa Millaa Waterfall
Lounge & Timber Floors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Atherton, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
454hammer...
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A nice place with lots of space, suited two families, a total of eight all up. The pool was inviting and the deck had amazing views. It made a great base station to visit the surrounding areas and sights.

There are a lot of rules to follow, and when given the keys and told its a good idea to have your kids in bed by seven because its a residential area didnt sit well us from the start. The washing machine was broken when we arrived and also cost $5 per load, also the owners come daily to do thier laundry as well which really invades your privacy of your stay. In this day and age WiFi is generally free, but nope you also had to pay for this as well, not a really big deal, but most hotels and B&B's now provide this free of charge. Make sure the lights are off, don't climb on the rocks around the pool(impossible with kids 4 children under 10), rules, rules and more rules dont put stayers at ease when trying to relax on holiday.
Even a simple dvd player was missing to be able to watch movies. The reception was also a bit scetchy. The owners really need to catch up with what really should be offered at this price.
Would not go back and would not recomend to others as there are to many rules to follow.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2017
Very sorry to hear that you don't like rules and maybe your group needs to get together and provide a balanced overview of your stay as Donna & Julie said that they were happy at check out.

What we find most distressing is that a number of things are not mentioned in your review. A phone call after dark to tell us that you have locked your keys in the room which we happily attended to, when one of your little ones vomited & soiled our bed linen we happily replaced the linen and washed, at no cost to you, as well as all your towels, the bed spread as well as the sheets.

The washing machine had broken down and we were waiting for parts from the Gold Coast, the joy of living in a regional area, we did not or could not use it, once we had the part we then fixed the machine immediately when you were out. Donna who was in your group was very understanding and thanked us for our efforts & understood that it was not our fault. We said we would not come back to respect her privacy and she said that it was quite all right & absolutely not a problem.

Guests safety and insurance is a huge part of modern day society, we do our best but I'm sure you would want your kids to be covered if they do have an accident, we certainly need to be covered and be responsible landlords in our warnings. Our rules are there for a reason and they are not "over the top". We also "ask" for your help, nothing more than that, if you don't want to help us maintain the standard for all future guests, then just tell us.

Please don't tell us how to run our business, we attempt to please all our guests and when they are disappointed it affects us deeply, you only need to communicate with us and we will try to resolve any issues you have, which members of your group did do as mentioned above.

cheers john & helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maikl M
1 review
“B&B "Blissful & Beautiful" Stay”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Our stay at The Summit B&B stood for waking up to a Beautiful & Blissful morning view. The accomodation itself is spacious, and the environment of this location is very welcoming. A good get away. Don't hesitate about this stay.

THANKS HELEN FOR THE GREAT SERVICE AND LOVELY STAY!

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
Thank you, we'll continue to strive to do the best we can.
cheers john & helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieB20...
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Space and good base”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed for only one night, and had the whole place to ourselves, which may not always be the case. While bedrooms and ensuites are private, lounge and kitchen/dining areas are shared. Continental breakfast was provided with ample variety in cereals, however I would have preferred cereals to be served in sealed packets as opposed to containers of cereal that others had used I assumed before our visit. Milk had also been opened. Perhaps this is a B & B thing, that I am not used to. Bed was comfortable, as was lounge. A little chilly as all wooden floors with no rugs, but a heater was provided to warm us. Views were nice, although trees had grown since photos were taken for their advertising it appeared. If travelling with other couples or extended family this place would be a good pick, as you could book out the whole place for yourselves and it is spacious. Everything was in perfect condition and very clean as if it is was brand new, although it appears it has operated since 2008. It appeared to be a good base for exploring the Atherton Tablelands.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the building and the spaciousness
Liked least: Cereals and milk not sealed for our sole use.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2015
Thanks for your positive comments Debbie, we'll review all our procedures and assess if we need to change. This establishment is a self contained, non hosted B&B so there are advantages and disadvantages in such a set up. Great amounts of money and time has gone into the building to fit in with our climate, we appreciate your positive comments. cheers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrhojM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

It was the perfect weekend away for our bookclub and after a hard week at work, we immediately relaxed in the lush surrounds. What a terrific location perched on the side of a hill surrounded by native gardens and abundant bird life. Very private and peaceful.

The pole house easily catered for the ten of us- we made use of the gorgeous wrap around verandas in the late afternoons, enjoying wine and nibbles as the sun set.
The kitchen and dining area provided all the utensils necessary as we self-catered for our two night stay. Bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and tidy and of a high standard. Just love the polished floors throughout.
The spaciousness of the house allowed our bookclub ladies to have some time to themselves whether reading in the lounge, swimming in the pool, relaxing on the verandah or sleeping in their rooms.
The location is also perfect- Only 10 minutes drive to Yungaburra and its unique markets - they are a must as is the Afghanistan Avenue of Honour.
Yes the accommodation was beyond our expectations-we will certainly be recommending it to others.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2015
Thank you, our aim is to provide quality, we attempt to do our best, the positive feedback encourages us to keep doing what we're doing. cheers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya T
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is a gorgeous property. We were lucky enough to have the whole place to ourselves. There are four bedroom, would be great for a couples retreat or family get away. The views are absolutely fabulous, everything is supplied and the fit out is fantastic. Wraparound verandah gives spectacular views, pool for the hotter days - couldn't think of a thing that it doesn't have. The kitchen is huge, beautiful big table and plenty of seating outside. Would recommend you stock up and cook as we found it really hard to find any decent place to eat or get takeaway in Atherton. Recommend this property, definitely.

Date of stay: September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2014
Thank you Tanya for your positive feedback, we feel that this property is very special, purpose built and only 6 yrs old. Khans Curries is an excellent "take away" option in Atherton, use the cutlery from the fully decked out kitchen, the furniture on the deck outside your room, relax and take in the view and sunset.We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable, thanks for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTo...
Townsville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of the fire alarm system”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Being an ex Victorian Fire Fighter l was not happy to see that all the smoke alarms in the Summit Guest House had been disconnected. No excesses for this and it is against the law to rent rooms without a working smoke alarm.
On the other side we booked for two nights but had to move rooms after the first night which meant we had no access to the new room till after 2 pm on the whole not very good. Tv room was in use till gone 12.30 pm and the bedroom is next door to it so if someone is watching TV and talking you can hear every word. Wont go again and not reasonable priced for you get.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2014
Thank you Michael for your comments. We speak to our local fire guys when we have a problem with our alarms and it would have been nice if you had spoken to us about your concerns. Nuisance alarms are a problem for accommodation houses as guests don't like it when it happens and complain. The local fire personal are always happy to help with ideas and solutions, you happen to have stayed during one of these times, we'll continue to work on a solution.B&B's require all guests to treat each other with respect, especially in relation to noise. The guests who stayed the night you were at The Summit B&B had been asked not to work in the area that your talking about, they chose to do so (without our knowledge), which is disrespectful to you, but out of our control.We'll continue to do our best and provide the best experience that we can for those who stay with us. cheers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing