We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful, home away from home”
Review of Allawah Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allawah Retreat
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Even though my partner and I were only 15 minutes away from home it was the perfect getaway for a few days. Everything was at your fingertips and our hosts Trish and Peter thought of everything. Hideaway lodge was wonderfully set out with nice furnishings and all the mod cons. The lodges were set far enough apart that you didn't know anyone else was around. We organised a BBQ pack and an antipasto platter, both were amazing and well worth the money. Trish also supplied little treats like home-made chocolates, cookies and jams plus fresh bread every morning. Thanks for everything and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2009

The one bedroom cottage we rented was fully equipped for self-catering with supplies to prepare a full English breakfast including hot bread. From our deck and hot tub we could contemplate the beautiful views and watch the wildlife. Our hosts, Trish & Pete were extremely helpful and accommodating. This is a great spot for touring the Atherton Tablelands or just having a relaxing getaway.

Ross & Joyce Klinck
USA

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrampsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We have just spent 4 nights in the Hideaway lodge at Allawah Retreat to rest, relax and explore the Atherton Tablelands/Cairns Highlands area. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. The service, cleanliness and attention to detail were all top notch!

As other reviews have noted, the lodge itself is well presented and is kept immaculately clean. The food provided to us for breakfast and the dinner BBQ package were plentiful, fresh and just wonderful to dine on. Every need was catered for whilst still keeping privacy in mind, the bread quietly delivered outside the door each morning was definitely a highlight (still warm when we retrieved it!). We loved the wooden floors, the double shower, the views from the deck, the hammock, the spa on the deck and the provision of all the things you would want at home. We also took advantage of Allawah's offer to book massages, and each had one at our lodge for the first afternoon of our stay which was a fantastic way to start our holiday.

Trish and Peter must work hard to keep things running so smoothly and keep the lodges so amazingly clean and comfortable - thanks to both of them for a perfect place to stay to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from the most perfect birthday getaway at Allawah.
We were lucky enough to stay in the best room, Hideaway.
The room was perfect, beautiful layout, furniture, views etc. The attention to detail did not go unnoticed, its nice to know there are still places like Allawah Retreat that actually exist.
I would recommend this place to anyone, its places like this you dont mind paying that bit extra for a perfect holiday.
And a big thankyou to Peter & Trish for creating Allawah and running it so well.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Apple14_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

'Absolutely Outstanding' does not go near how fantastic this place is. Settle in for a lengthy read and I shall tell you why...

We are a couple (33 & 40 yrs old) with 2 young children and once a year we take a short break to have time together, away from work, from focusing on being 'Mummy and Daddy' and to have fun, to relax and to keep things in perspective.

We are both well travelled and we have been fortunate to have experienced some wonderful 5* establishments across the globe. Since settling in Far North Queensland 5 yrs ago, we have been slowly working our way through such places. Our brief is always certain: we don't mind paying top dollar but we want privacy, seclusion, luxury fittings, amazing service, delicious food, beautiful scenery and staff/owners who are discreet enough to appreciate a couples 'weekend away' and not disturb our yearly reunion!

Finally we have found such a place and it has not been without trying a few 'frogs' before we found our 'Prince'.

Allawah Retreat is wonderful. We stayed at the Hideaway Spa Lodge for 2 nights and I began to wish I had booked for longer. In fact, I have rebooked for 4 nights this year!

Nothing is forgotten, no detail too small. From the hot bread delivered each morning, resplendant with an 'A' drawn into the bread, pre-baking, and delivered discreetly within fresh, clean cotton napkins, nestled within a wicker basket ,to the lovely and hearty breakfast foods placed in the refrigerator, to cook at ones own leisure. The handmade preserves were beautiful and complmented the hot bread to a 'T'.

The 'To order' food was equally as good - I ordered a 'Chicken and Beef' BBQ pack and there was enough food to feed a small army. The following evening, the Lasagne and salad which was delivered to our lodge was delicious.

Aside from this, add handmade chocolates and cookies (one of which was so perfect we suspected it was a shop bought ANZAC bikkie, so good it tasted), plus the cheese and cracker/biscuit plate I had requested at extra charge (and I was not disappointed - a fresh selection of 3 cheeses, plus crackers and dried fruits and salad leaves) and we were in gourmet heaven!

The lodge itself was IMMACULATE. The wooden floors shone, the furniture fresh and clean, the bed linen crisp. The amenities within the lodge were supurb - a fully stocked and immaculately clean kitchen, the bathroom just beautiful with a king size double shower large enough for 2 to have a disco in it with wondrous views into the Aussie bush outdoors, the solid wood dining table carved from a huge slice of a tree trunk, plasma t.v, dvd player, reading books, binoculars to view the wildlife....possums and wallabies on tap!

I won't even get started on the multi-coloured jet spa! Which again was CLEAN as a whistle!

We cannot recommend this place enough - Trish and Peter are lovely people - we never met Peter but he made a courtesy call to us to announce that our dinner delivery might be slightly late as Trish was out sourcing salad ingredients...it was late by a whole 1/2 hour! No bother at all!

For anyone looking for a wonderful break away, we hope you read this and save yourselves the many $$$ we have spent in the past looking for a Far North Queensland Utopia. Fear not, you will have found it at Allawah!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TropicalLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed 4 wonderful nights at Allawah in the Hideaway Lodge for half of our honeymoon. It was the best place we have ever stayed. We had absolutely everything you could want or need and much more.

The spa on our deck was amazing, had a beautiful view at night and the different coloured lights in it just made it extra special. Trish looked after us very well with her personal service and all the little extras (homemade chocolates, biscuits, port, roses and bubbly the list goes on).

The breakfast was great every morning with our hot bread on the deck watching the hot air balloons. The BBQ and Pasta packs were well prepared with way too much food but who's complaining. We sat by the inside fire at night and enjoyed watching movies on the big plasma screen TV.

We couldn't have stayed at a better place for the price. The prices are very reasonable for all the extras and personal service you receive.

The location was great aswell Atherton is only 10 minutes down the road which was very handy for any meals if you want to eat out.

As you can tell we are very impressed with this place and I think anyone who stays here would definetly agree.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYBAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Total peace when in the lodge with great outlook that goes for miles. Comfortable & lots of room inside. After a day touring the tablelands it was great to relax in the spa and just chill. No pressure, no fuss and hosts on hand - if you need them?Otherwise just open the door in the morning and the fairys had delivered a magic breakfast just for you.
You can even make friends, at a distance with kangaroos, possums, gecko, tree frogs etc

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_is_your_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atherton hotels
1.0 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
69 reviews
1.8 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
2.1 mi away
Atherton Holiday Park
Atherton Holiday Park
#6 of 6 in Atherton
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
1.2 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
35 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Retreat

Address: PO Box 716 | Tolga, Atherton, Queensland 4882, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: $190 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4.5 star retreat nestles on 150 acres of Australian native bush high on a ridge overlooking Atherton Tablelands, in the Cairns Highlands only 1 hours scenic drive from Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef in Far North Queensland. The 4 private self contained hilltop spa lodges are complete with every luxury including heated deck spas, on deck BBQs and 1 with private plunge pool and cozy fireplaces. Enjoy the privacy peace and tranquillity with wildlife and mountain walking tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing