We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest & Romance Package Treetops Spa Lodge”
Review of Allawah Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allawah Retreat
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rest & Romance Package Treetops Spa Lodge”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a fantastic stay over the weekend. Even enjoyed the possums company, little rascals that they are, they like red wine :-). Very well planned set up for lots of rest and relaxation with very good taste in decor. The heated spa is wonderful for a great relax. Five star luxury high up in the hills and the view at night of the near townships fairy lights were breath taking. BBQ and Breakfast hampers were magnificent and enjoyed looking at and smelling the roses every day. Loved the local goodies basket. Local newspapers delivered, what more could one ask for.
Helen & Ken Cairns

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen-Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Allawah retreat for two nights and would highly recommend this retreat to anybody looking to get a way from it all. The hillside bungalows are fantastic. The view from our balcony was spectacular, overlooking the tablelands. We were lucky enough to view hot air balloons early one morning! of a night we sat by the wood fire after relaxing on the balcony spa(didnt want to leave) The service was great, allthough we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves(we loved the privacy, its like having your own wilderness retreat.) Our hosts were very accomadating. We opted for a BBQ pack option, which we were very happy with.The perfect place for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nikky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are so glad you had such a relaxing time at Allawah, and look forward to your company during your next trip to the Atherton Tablelands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Extremely disappointed with the aggressive,intrusive,complaining owner/host Marjorie. Obviously as we were"locals" we were yokels like everyone else around the area.Would not recommend a romantic stay or any other unless you want to be bullied.Overpriced for the location and service poor.Unfortunately did not read the previous review about log fire.We too we disappointed in that having asked on booking were told by Majorie that they had log fires in every room--this was to be the treat being from Cairns--only to find they were gas.Perhaps she does not know what a log fire is! Found one further up the Tablelands that was 5 star after the bitter taste of Allawah Retreat

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

As the kids were with the grandparents we decided to go away for the long weekend to Allawah. We were lucky that the Hideaway Lodge was the last available as it is the best lodge there. It was quiet, relaxing and the views were excellent. The peace and serenity was at its best, it was dissappointing that we had to leave. Everything was there and we made good use of the spa and spent a lot of time out on the deck relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Under the new owner, Marjorie we had a thoroughly enjoyable 4 days. It was relaxing and well run with all you need to be self contained.
Would thoroughly recommend it and we will return

Room Tip: Top of the hill is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardimcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words - we very much look forwrd to your company again when next you visit the beautiful Atherton Tablelands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My fiance and I stayed for the first time at the Allawah Retreat over the Christmas period. Living hectic lifestyles in Sydney it was just what the doctor ordered to be surrounded by the serenity in your own private self contained cabin. In the middle of no where but certainly not lacking in luxury. What most left an impression on us was the way the owner, Marjorie went out of her way to welcome us and even on Christmas Day when when she was celebrating with her family we still had our dinner order delivered to us on time and piping hot!! Its the extra effort and touches that Marjorie provided will have us returning to Allawah - maybe next time in the winter to make use out of the cosy fireplace xx

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We appreciate your feedback, and are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Allawah. We look forward to seeing you again when you want to escape the fast lane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed at Allawah in August 2011 for three nights with my partner in the treetop lodge. Upon arrival we were greeted by Trish and shown through the lodge. While our first impression of the lodge was "wow" I felt Trish was a little bit frosty towards us. Perhaps because as we are only in our 20s we were younger than your average guests so she was a bit suspicious. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Allawah but there were good and bad points.

Good:
-the spa on our outdoor deck was MASSIVE! I have very fond memories of sipping moet in the spa and taking in the beatiful view.
-the view from the lodge was beatiful!
-Lovely breakfast provisions and the homemade bread was a nice touch.
-We purchased a BBQ pack which was tasty and good value.
-Overall the lodge had a lovely feel to it and it really did feel like a home away from home.
-Lodge was private and we didn't see another guest the whole time we were there.

Bad:
-We couldn't seem to get the spa as warm as we would have liked. As we stayed during winter this meant the spa was too cool to use at night.
-Pillows on the bed were uncomfortable and the bed cover was a little bit stained - needs replacing.
-The water pressure in the shower was dismal.
-The lasagne we purchased for our second night was bland.
-The fireplace was just gas - would have been lovely to have a log fire.

Despite a few minor complaints we would recommend Allawah to anyone looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway and we hope to return someday and stay in the Hideaway Lodge (unfortunaley it was already booked when we were staying).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ_Ando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are sorry your stay under the previous ownership was disappointing, but we are pleased to advise that when we purchased the retreat, we replaced the gas fire in Treetops with both an inside and outside (deck) open log fire. We have also replaced all the bedding and linen, so we can assure you of a warm and comfortable stay when next you travel to the Tablelands in winter! High pressure pumps have also been installed to ensure you have all the water you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
7.6 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
239 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
15.2 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
255 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barking Owl Retreat
Barking Owl Retreat
#4 of 12 in Atherton
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Retreat

Property: Allawah Retreat
Address: PO Box 716 | Tolga, Atherton, Queensland 4882, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4.5 star retreat nestles on 150 acres of Australian native bush high on a ridge overlooking Atherton Tablelands, in the Cairns Highlands only 1 hours scenic drive from Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef in Far North Queensland. The 4 private self contained hilltop spa lodges are complete with every luxury including heated deck spas, on deck BBQs and 1 with private plunge pool and cozy fireplaces. Enjoy the privacy peace and tranquillity with wildlife and mountain walking tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing