We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allawah Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allawah Retreat
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Picture perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our second visit to Allawah was as good if not better than our first. We love everthing about the chalet and the views are spectacular. Trish really looked after us and the food was excellent!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Beautiful views and beautiful weather. Our first time at Allawah Retreat but we’’ll definitely go back as there’s so much to do and see on the Tablelands. Perfect lodge to come back to and relax after an adventure filled day. Loved the bed, loved the fire, loved the spa, loved the bread. Loved the swivel TV- we could sit out on the balcony with our nibbles and wine while I watched the birds and butterflies and my partner could watch the footy!! Loved the massage!. An absolutely perfect place to celebrate my 24 birthday. Thanks so much for the beautiful memories.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Allawah was recommended to us by a friend who said they loved it and so did we. We booked a 3 night stay and could have stayed for a week. The first thing we noticed when we got out of the car was how quiet it was and you could smell that fresh country air. We followed Trish on her nifty quad bike to our cabin. It had the wow factor as soon as we walked in and when we walked out on the deck the view was amazing – we looked over the farms and you could see forever. We loved the space and the double shower was very luxurious and it was great having the fire to keep us warm as the nights were a bit chilly. We had ordered a BBQ pack and it was so nice cooking and eating on the deck and we also had a visit from a cute possum. Then the best part was having the hot spa to sink into and unwind - I almost feel asleep it was so relaxing. We loved the way the hot bread magically appeared in the morning and it was a real treat along with the chocolates, port and yummy biscuits. We hope to return soon and hopefully next time we can stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suec1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very enjoyable stay and friendly hosts. There are four cabins around 100 meters apart and besides from the owners property, there is just wide sweeping views of native bushland and nobody else to bother you! Its very secluded and you cannot really see the other cabins because of the bushland in between them so you feel really on your own. Each cabin is a little different but all have a balcony with bbq and spa. There`s a king size bed plus kitchen, lounge and tv/dvd, enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld, Oz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have just returned from 2 nights at Allawah Retreat (a birthday gift for my partner), and loved every minute of our time there, our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer.

On arrival we were met by Trish ( we didn't get a chance to meet Peter) who gave us a very warm welcome before escorting us to the Moonlight Lodge and showing us where everything was, and how the fire, spa etc., worked (she also helped with our luggage which was great, as I slightly over packed!)

The lodge is bigger than I was expecting and was just lovely. The kitchenette has everything you need for cooking - microwave, hot plates, electric frypan, wok, skillet, saucepans and there's a gas Webber BBQ on the deck. It's also very well equipped with crockery, cutlery, salad bowls, oil, condiments etc.

The lounge area was very cosy, especially with the fire roaring, and offered a range of dvd's, books and games if you weren't in the mood for TV. The bathroom was huge as was the double shower, and the bed was very comfy with fluffy robes and booties provided.

We spent alot of time on the deck as the views and the spa are sensational! It was great watching all the different wildlife including birds, wallabies and a couple of cute frogs that lived under the spa cover, but our favourite animal encounter was with a cheeky possum who we caught trying to pick up scraps off the BBQ before we had a chance to clean it after dinner!

Speaking of food, there was a very generous breakfast hamper in the fridge when we arrived (sausages, eggs, hash browns, bacon, milk) along with homemade cookies, fresh Mareeba coffee, handmade chocolates and port. Each morning a delicious warm loaf of homemade bread was left by the door along with the newspaper, and homemade jam was also supplied.

All in all our stay was wonderful and the hospitality shown by Trish was spot on. A flick through the Guest Book in our lodge leaves no doubt that this is the norm, and we will definitely be returning to Allawah, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl44_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband and I were traveling through far north Qld during a rather rainy and cold time, and it was important to us to have a wood-burning fire in any lodge we stayed. We asked on the phone and Allawah told us that all of the cabins had a wood fire, following which we traveled to the rather rural location one evening. Before we saw the room, we were asked to pay in advance and were disappointed to find afterwards that our room had a gas fire with fake logs. We understood that this could have been a misunderstanding, but were very surprised to find the woman host very aggressive with us when we told her we were disappointed and didn't want to stay the second night. She immediately required we pay extra money to stay (without any indication that the misunderstanding could have been on both sides). We were also made to feel that (a) it was our fault for asking her too many questions on the phone before arriving (basic things like "can we stay two nights?"), (b) we had intentionally "tricked" her into getting a lower rate by saying we wanted to stay two nights, and (c) anyone else would have been fine with the fire as is. It simply ruined the stay for us despite the lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before being made to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 55krw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Hideaway Lodge for 4 very relaxing nights. The accommodation was superb with every possible attention to detail met with comfort and style. Fresh hot bread delivered each morning was a beautiful touch. Unfortunately our trip was soured by our host Trish, who was less than welcoming from the moment we arrived. A chastising for using too much firewood was the icing on the cake to ensure that regretfully, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k_seale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are sorry that your experience under the previous ownership was disappointing. We replaced the gas fire in Treetops with an inside log fire, and also an outside deck open log fire - and we supply unlimited firewood! We would love to see you again to experience the improved amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
8.8 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 8 in Yungaburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
15.2 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Barking Owl Retreat
Barking Owl Retreat
#4 of 12 in Atherton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.6 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
1.0 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Retreat

Property: Allawah Retreat
Address: PO Box 716 | Tolga, Atherton, Queensland 4882, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4.5 star retreat nestles on 150 acres of Australian native bush high on a ridge overlooking Atherton Tablelands, in the Cairns Highlands only 1 hours scenic drive from Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef in Far North Queensland. The 4 private self contained hilltop spa lodges are complete with every luxury including heated deck spas, on deck BBQs and 1 with private plunge pool and cozy fireplaces. Enjoy the privacy peace and tranquillity with wildlife and mountain walking tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing