We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reviews made me wary but glad we went.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Reviewed November 23, 2010

My husband is a birdwatcher so he booked this accommodation for 3 nights. I then looked it up on tripadviser and started to panic as some reviews not so good. The owner was away when we arrived but we were booked in and given advice and information in a very pleasant and helpful manner. Our lodge was more than adequate, very clean and functional. The balcony was superb and we had a bird feeder so were able to put out fruit for the birds (Victoria's Rifle bird and Spotted cat bird to name 2). This accommodation is good standard with everything you need provided. It is lovely to see the pademelons (excuse spelling if wrong) and sugar gliders which come to this site. We did have a couple of insect/beetles in the property which is what I would expect in the middle of the rainforest!
All in all I wouldn't hesitate to go back again or to recommend it to anyone else.
Out of interest a film crew from Japan left the day before we got there and we were told all the major film companies go there because of the wildlife on the site and in surrounding area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

We weren't expecting 5 star luxury and we didn't get it.
The accommodation is very basic and as someone else said smelled musty, but this is a rainforest and keeping things dry must be difficult. However I thought for the price we paid that the accommodation could be improved; tiled floors rather than carpets, better cooking facilities and the bathroom was little more than functional. However it was clean.
The wildlife you see is amazing and you would be lucky to see it anywhere else. So if seeing the wildlife is more important than luxurious accommodation this is the place for you.
If you want 5 star luxuries go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My experience was totally different to that of the previous two reviewers and I'd advise anyone who is more interested in wildlife and a rainforest experience to ignore their comments. If you are more interested in the standard of accommodation, there are many luxury lodges and B&Bs in the area, with spa baths and themed rooms, but they are also expensive. Chambers is not new, but our cabin was very clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. A cabin in the rainforest in one of the wettest places in the world is not going to stay pristine, but I think they have maintained it well. It's well worth taking your own food and eating on the verandah, listening to the birds and looking at the forest.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colombo4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The proprietor, John Chambers, is a great guy, excellent host and well established as a local supporter of wildlife, but his cabins are old, dreary, dilapidated relics from a bush-camp era that need a thorough top to bottom cleaning. We couldn't believe someone would actually have carpeting in the kitchen/cooking area - must be a nightmare to keep clean.

Wildlife viewing in the area is excellent, however John's semi-domesticated pandemelons and sugar gliders, though interesting, were our idea of WILDlife.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herpetology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I booked for 2 nights but after 1 night left. The property is amazing and in the rainforest with alot of birds and animals to view but the room was terrible. I stay in over 100 hotels a year for work and this was the worst condition I have ever seen a room in. The carpets all had mold in them and smelled really bad. Also the kitchen had mold in the walls exposed to the naked eye. This would be a great property to visit and hike around during the day but for $135.00/nite I would have rather camped than sleep in a dump of a place as the Chambers wildlife lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattlesounders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We are birders and in Nov 2008 stayed at the lodge for our first week in country. It was great to ease into Australian life (including driving) in such a great spot. Our room was great. We happened to be there when the rainy season was delayed and weather and bugs were no major problem. There is so much to see nearby and plenty of small towns as well. Hasties Swamp proved to be a fantastic birding spot with great blinds. We cooked most of our dinners in the cabin and would advise guests to bring food staples and paper type kitchen needs. Pots and dishes no problem; no salt or pepper, but not inconvenient to purchase.
We would love to return there now that we are somwhat familiar with birds in Oz

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancyandjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Chambers has been around for many years. It is justifiably famous for what it offers - a real rainforest experience with birds and animals on your doorstep, literally. John Chambers is a really committed guy who knows the forest and loves what he does. The units are well located for wildlife viewing, are well screened and lit and comfortable. Three of us stayed in one unit and it would have been a little more convenient if the bathroom had been separate from the bedroom but that's a minor detail. It takes a lot of work to keep this kind of property is good order and Chambers does a good job. It's pointless staying in this kind of accommodation if you want 5 star comforts - if its possums, pademelons, birdsd and trees then Chambers is for you. John told us about an excellent guide (Alans Wildlife Tours) who took us spot-lighting one evening. Highly recommended. The walks through the forest at Chambers are lovely and Lake Eacham is right next door.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
11.0 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
3.8 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
154 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
3.6 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
9.6 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges

Address: Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Atherton, Queensland 4884, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: $99 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges is hidden in 1200 acres of Lake Eacham's lush, tropical highland rainforest in the beautiful Waterfalls and Crater Lakes district of the Atherton Tablelands. As pioneers in eco tourism our lodges specifically cater for birdwatchers, wildlife enthusiasts, naturalists, photographers, film crews and all those who want to have a true rainforest experience. Accommodation includes 10 fully self-contained 52sqm one bedroom lodges and a 108sqm five bedroom lodge. RESORT FACILITIES INCLUDE: Under-cover swimming pool / 100sqm guest lounge with BBQ, pool table, wildlife library, high speed broadband internet - Free in room WIFI. The resort includes a 1.3km rainforest walking path to Platypus ponds, Brush Turkey mounds, and Tooth billed Bowerbird stages. A Wildlife Viewing Platform is illuminated until 11pm for guests to view Sugar Gliders, Striped Possums, Uromys, Bandicoots, Melomys, Antechinus. There are excellent restaurants, hotels, takeaways and supermarkets within a 10 minute drive of the Chambers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing