We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Florida
2 reviews
“Great value and great wildlife”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We picked this place because of its mention in a guidebook and a recommendation from someone in a local nature reserve. It is a fantastic place right in the rain forest with lots of opportunities to see the wildlife of the wet tropics. The owner, John, was very helpful and is obviously doing this because he loves being there rather than to make lots of money. The rooms are spacious and it is easy to live in them and prepare your own food for several days, which is what we wanted to do. The price is quite reasonable compared to other similar establishments in the area. It is an older establishment but everything we wanted to use was clean and in good repair. It is also inside the rain forest so humidity and insects are going to be part of the package. No mosquitoes though.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoleFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
queensbury, new york
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

From the moment my wife and I stepped onto the secluded property, we fell in love with the charming, rustic setting, and the sounds of exotic wildlife coming from the lush rainforest surroundings of Chambers Rainforest Lodge. I chose Chambers solely for its superb, easily accessible location and, especially, for its abundant wildlife, ranging from birds to mammals. As a professional, world-traveled photographer and serious amateur naturalist, I found my choice to be an excellent one! See a sampling of some photos I took in just one day! Chambers Rainforest Lodge is not only a must for those who thrill to wildlife encounters and look for adventure; it is also a haven for those who might prefer to just sit back and relax in solitude, knowing that the accommodations are beautifully appointed inside and that the staff is extremely nice and helpful. I found the lodge's web site to be one of the most all-inclusive sites I've ever come across, which helped me greatly in deciding that Chambers was THE place to stay at. The lodge is enroute to and from other exciting Atherton Tablelands destinations, such as beautiful Millaa Millaa Falls, Lake Eacham National Park and Mamu rainforest walk, all nearby. Food shopping is easily done in Yungaburra, also a short drive from the lodge. Chambers Lodge's web site describes a great deal more than many sites do. Go check it out and make your reservations. You'll be very glad you did!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank australia08_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2009

"The Chambers" is located in the heart of the Atherton Tablelands - which is one of God's most beautiful places in creation. It is located about 70 km from Cairns in northern Queensland, Australia.
Our stay there was most enjoyable and refreshing. The cabins were comfortable and nestled right up in the rainforest trees. We woke to birdsong and the sweet sounds of the rainforest.
The management was most helpful and considerate of our needs. We saw close to hand the pretty little paddymelons and the rare honey gliders. There was ample tourist information, history of the wildlife and other local attractions, the internet, telephone and other amenities available for our convenience.
All in all, it was a great place to visit and we would certainly go again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller5809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I recently stayed at Chambers with my wife and 14 month old Daughter, and had a fantastic stay. We were travelling around on the tablelands and surrounding area and originally only booked in for one night, and ended up staying three nights.

For a soldier preparing for (yet another) long stint overseas, the week of leave prior to deployment is extremely precious family time, and John and his family did not dissapoint.

The place is in the best location imaginable for relaxing and wildlife watching. You can touch the rainforest from your room and birds will land right on your balcony with some encouragement (breadcrumbs etc.) Being surrounded by rainforest you can't hear or see any traffic and you will slow down and relax instantly. Lake Eacham, the most beautiful lake I have ever seen is within walking distance.

It is true that the accomodation is not brand new anymore but in our two stays we have found that everything works, is clean and well maintained. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and very comfortable.

We cannot fault the service. The owner, John, will do anything if he thinks it will improve your stay and he is a wealth of information on local pubs and restaurants and of course the plants and animals of the rainforest.

My wife and I stayed there a few years ago before we became parents and we will stay there again.

I would like to thank John and his family for making the effort during our stay to ensure that my last few days with my family were relaxing and trouble free.

I highly recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway or wildlife watching.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMackerelWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We only knew this place from the Web. We booked it and stayed there for 2 nights and payed A$ 280 (2 adults, 1 child). A lot of things that have been discribed on the web, were not available. The heated pool was not heated and far too cold to go into, the soccer table was broken, the sauna out of order, the "library" was nothing apart from a few novels or rubbish paper, the property's own boardwalk stopped after 10 m. because of fallen trees, the BBQ was too filthy and dirty to use and the accommodation itself dark and nothing special, def. far too much money charged. The least I expected though would have been little coffee sachets and sugar, instead there was an old container with old hard instantcoffee and a pot of sugar, that was so hard you could not take a spoon out of. Overall I would say the whole place is very run down and not looked after. The wildlife though was very good, but the I would not stay there again. We stayed once before at next doors cottages (Crater Lake Cottages) and payed $ 250 for only 1 night, but I did not mind paying that, because it was just perfect (5 star) and even there were more animals and birds all day long right in front of your cottage on the veranda. I will go back to Crater Lakes again, because that was just a perfect relaxing stay and very great birdwatchingexperience for all of us, even though it was a lot of money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Chambers Rainforest Lodges in September 2008.
Our unit was large, very clean, comfortable, modern and well equipped.
The resort is deep in the rainforest and ideal for birding.
On our 3 day stay I added 163 new species to my list.
Maria spent some time each night photographing nocturnal animals at the sugar glider viewing platform.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank LondonBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2008

I loved the animals, great place.
Excellent relaxation sitting back on the comfy reclining lounge chairs and watching animals on your veranda:]
Bit out of the way, but I think that adds to the places atmosphere, short walk or drive to this large fresh water lake surrounded by rainforest, we went on a weekday and got the lake all to ourselves, skinny dipping anyone;}
Will be going back later this year, need some more time to explore the rest of the tablelands… was a bit lazy last time…

  • Liked — The Rainforest
  • Disliked — Not enough Beautiful women
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrRelaxDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
3.8 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
137 reviews
11.0 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
238 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
3.6 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
126 reviews
9.6 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges

Property: Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Address: Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Atherton, Queensland 4884, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges is hidden in 1200 acres of Lake Eacham's lush, tropical highland rainforest in the beautiful Waterfalls and Crater Lakes district of the Atherton Tablelands. As pioneers in eco tourism our lodges specifically cater for birdwatchers, wildlife enthusiasts, naturalists, photographers, film crews and all those who want to have a true rainforest experience. Accommodation includes 10 fully self-contained 52sqm one bedroom lodges and a 108sqm five bedroom lodge. RESORT FACILITIES INCLUDE: Under-cover swimming pool / 100sqm guest lounge with BBQ, pool table, wildlife library, high speed broadband internet - Free in room WIFI. The resort includes a 1.3km rainforest walking path to Platypus ponds, Brush Turkey mounds, and Tooth billed Bowerbird stages. A Wildlife Viewing Platform is illuminated until 11pm for guests to view Sugar Gliders, Striped Possums, Uromys, Bandicoots, Melomys, Antechinus. There are excellent restaurants, hotels, takeaways and supermarkets within a 10 minute drive of the Chambers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing