We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Birding & Nocturnal Animals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Chambers Rainforest Lodges in September 2008.
Our unit was large, very clean, comfortable, modern and well equipped.
The resort is deep in the rainforest and ideal for birding.
On our 3 day stay I added 163 new species to my list.
Maria spent some time each night photographing nocturnal animals at the sugar glider viewing platform.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank LondonBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 111 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2008

I loved the animals, great place.
Excellent relaxation sitting back on the comfy reclining lounge chairs and watching animals on your veranda:]
Bit out of the way, but I think that adds to the places atmosphere, short walk or drive to this large fresh water lake surrounded by rainforest, we went on a weekday and got the lake all to ourselves, skinny dipping anyone;}
Will be going back later this year, need some more time to explore the rest of the tablelands… was a bit lazy last time…

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrRelaxDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

I stayed in one of the lodges already some years ago, but I still remember it as the worst place I have ever stayed in: the lodge was full of spiders and other bugs, it was dark and filthy, it stank (it was very humid), and the place was very run-down. Unless there has been a renovation recently (which I do not think is the case, by looking at the pictures in their website), I would not recommend this place to anyone.
Do not get lured by the wildlife viewing: Yes, you do get to see some rainforest kangaroos and possums... but, beware: they are not genuinely wild anymore. They are regurarly fed, so that they keep on coming for the tourists!.
I would never in my life stay there again: If you cannot sleep and feel so unconfortable, is no fun anymore.

Stayed: June 2004
2  Thank tinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brelic, owner at Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2008

Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges is a small family business in World Heritage highlands rainforest. For 25 years we have pioneered eco-tourism in our area and take great pride in what we have achieved. We have weathered 3 cyclones, torrential rainy seasons, a pilot strike and 27% interest rates.
We began with 1 lodge and now have 11 with plans for more in the near future. Most of our business comes, not from advertising, but from word of mouth. Guests return year after year and recommend us to their family and friends.
All of our lodges are insect screened, are well lit and are professionally cleaned.
We are always striving to improve and have spent AU$250,000 on renovations in recent years alone.
Every guest is personally greeted and shown to their lodge. Nothing is too much trouble for us and as we are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week we try our best to solve any problem guests have immediately or at the first available opportunity.
It deeply saddens us to think any guest had such dire concerns as those expressed above and did not feel comfortable enough to tell us of those concerns so we could immediately do something to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2006

Deep in the forst, these large cabins get you close to possums, sugar gliders etc....but also enable you to view spiders, large beetles etc scurrying across your bedroom floor! John who runs the place is a genuine guy, and very knowledgable on the rainforsts. Fairly basic food available round and about, there is a good hotel (Nick's place, something like that) in a nearby town that does raise the level!

1  Thank mashzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank mknecht151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cara3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
11.0 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
3.8 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
34 reviews
3.6 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
132 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges

Address: Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Atherton, Queensland 4884, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: $95 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges is hidden in 1200 acres of Lake Eacham's lush, tropical highland rainforest in the beautiful Waterfalls and Crater Lakes district of the Atherton Tablelands. As pioneers in eco tourism our lodges specifically cater for birdwatchers, wildlife enthusiasts, naturalists, photographers, film crews and all those who want to have a true rainforest experience. Accommodation includes 10 fully self-contained 52sqm one bedroom lodges and a 108sqm five bedroom lodge. RESORT FACILITIES INCLUDE: Under-cover swimming pool / 100sqm guest lounge with BBQ, pool table, wildlife library, high speed broadband internet - Free in room WIFI. The resort includes a 1.3km rainforest walking path to Platypus ponds, Brush Turkey mounds, and Tooth billed Bowerbird stages. A Wildlife Viewing Platform is illuminated until 11pm for guests to view Sugar Gliders, Striped Possums, Uromys, Bandicoots, Melomys, Antechinus. There are excellent restaurants, hotels, takeaways and supermarkets within a 10 minute drive of the Chambers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing