We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lovely Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2006

The treehouse was built smack in the middle of the rainforest, equipped with every imaginable item you need in a home. The next nearest treehouse was a short distance away but not within sight - so there's lots of privacy. The beautiful wooded house had a lovely attic that brought much joy to my kid.
Day visitors to the house included many different furry feathered birds who were so keen to eat out of your hands if you're holding bird-seeds or a banana. We were lucky to spot a tree-kangaroo scaling up and down a tall tree right in front of the house one afternoon. The brush-turkeys, like security guards, trotted around the place and were never too far away. Saw and fed some wallabies at the main house lawn. My 9-year-old child and spouse even spotted a wallaby while taking a walk in the forest. Tried to catch a glimpse of the elusive platypus but luck ran out. Only once, saw one swimming in a small lake during a complimentary platypus spotting trip conducted by the host. Night visitors dropped by as early as 6pm in the evening - there were no less than 4-5 possums each night. One of them even had a baby possum clinging on her back! The adorable creatures were so tame that we could give them a pet while they ate off the fruits from our hands. There's never a dull moment while you're residing there because the animals, birds and even insects (lots and varied), would constantly keep you entertained, captivated and even busy.
The place was close to nature and yet central to the many attractions in the Tableland. The many waterfalls, lakes, grocery and bakery were just short drives away. We enjoyed BBQ at the verandah, cooking in the well-equipped kitchen, watching TV and DVDs in the living room, soaking in the jacuzzi and watching the animals hopping and pleading for food outside your doors.
As this was a self-catering lodge, there was no maid to clean the place and change your towels. You would need to launder your own towels and clothes with the washing machine and dryer provided. Despite the few mundane domestic chores, this was definitely a stay WITH a difference! Highly recommended for nature lovers who want to get away and relax without unwanted intrusions and disturbances. The place was so quiet and tranquil that the only sounds you'd hear were the chirping or mating calls of the birds, the rustling of winds against the leaves, the animals marking their territories by growling at each other when they feed and the little pitter patter of birds and animals moving on your roofs.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GohLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 129 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2006

I spent a long weekend earlier in July at Fur 'n' Feathers and highly recommend it to those looking for a unique retreat. I stayed in one of the 5 treehouses, built overlooking a river and well spaced from the other houses to provide privacy. The accommodation was spacious and finished to a luxurious level with floor to ceiling windows, wooden beams, its own spa (looking out to the rainforest), wood fire stove and well equipped kitchen. Fur 'n' Feathers is set in dense, virgin rainforest with the Ithaca river running through it and it was a pleasure to explore - unexpected delights include coming across a rare cassowary bird and its chicks (who seem to have made their home in this forest), feeding turtles in the river and the friendly population of parrots which fed from our balcony. The retreat was also ideal as a base from which to make day visits to the surrounding area, something we took advantage of by driving around ourselves however the staff at the retreat can also arrange tours & pickups etc. The rainforest is a star attraction of northern Queensland and I found that a stay at Fur 'n' Feathers was a memorable way to experience it in its pristine state.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VivEichengreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We spent two memorable nights at Fur-n-Feathers and recommend it highly. The five units have complete privacy, and the accommodations are huge. The rooms all overlook the rainforest through large glass windows. There is a complete kitchen, and a barbie of course for grilling the superb local meat.

One couldn't be in closer touch to the wildlife: the possums will visit and demand food, very cute but they require boundaries! Parrots and all assorted birdlife will come too, the staff will give you food for the critters. Short hikes will take you to the river where you can feed the resident turtles, and we had fun with the wallabies at night. We saw two juveniles Cassowaries and an older one while there, Fur-n-Feathers is certainly doing its share to help repopulate this endangered majestic bird. We also spotted (from afar) the elusive Platypus.

The richness of the wildlife is all the more remarkable because this is one of the last shards of rainforest in the Atherton Tablelands, a semi-tropical plateau that neighbors Cairns. The Tablelands are a beautiful corner of Australia, only settled 100 years ago, unknown it seems to many Australians. Visit there, it is full of surprises and a gem of a region, and Fur-n-Feathers is the perfect spot for the ultimate wildlife experience.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cagab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

My husband and two teenagers had a terrific stay at Fur' n' Feathers in Tarzali. The owner of the accomodation met our flight in Cairns and transferred us to the Atherton Tablelands, where we spent two memorable nights in a rainforest. We saw a number of birds, possoms and other wildlife literally on our porch and took a wonderful, personalized tour arranged by the owners the next day. The treehouses have full kitchens and we stopped at a grocery store on our way up. The place is magical, and I highly recommend it for something totally different and relaxing.None of us wanted to leave.

3  Thank Roycroftmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Internetzugang nur in der unmittelbaren Nähe der Rezeption ( gratis), Telefon: kein Netz vorhanden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daisyblueZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank poiuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nenawiesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
8.0 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
242 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
8.5 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
9.8 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary

Address: Hogan Road, Tarzali, Atherton, Queensland 4885, Australia (Formerly Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Tree Houses)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: $257 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of numerous awards and offering the ultimate in eco-responsible boutique luxury, "The Canopy" is one of Australia's most unique accommodation and wildlife experiences. Located on the banks of the Ithaca River and surrounded by pristine, private rainforest, it is home to a stunning array of rare and exotic wildlife, including the iconic Southern Cassowary and the unique Lumholtz's Tree Kangaroo. Note: formerly called Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Treehouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses And Wildlife Sanctuary Hotel Atherton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing