We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing, Breathtaking, rainforest luxury.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

our honeymoon was perfect thanks to david and his wonderful love of nature and the fabulous care he takes with his rainforest retreat. Simply stunning from the house to the turtles to the birds on ths balcony and the personal touch of supplying turtle food and bird seed and bananas for the possums loved it did not want to come home..10 stars all the way

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simonsgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 129 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our family spent 3 nights at the Canopy Treehouses and loved every minute of it. We received a very friendly and informative welcome on arrival. The treehouses are beautiful and fully stocked with everything you need - even food to feed all the different animals that come to visit. Enjoyed the spa bath and sitting by the fire in the evenings! Our 2 year old loved the birds, wallabies, possums and turtles - this is unique spot. Thanks David & Sharon for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a wonderful and unique experience. Recommend for anyone wanting to get off the beaten path, see some rainforest, and animals, and have excellent accommodations. The drive is a little outside Cairns but we'll worth it. Staying a few nights give the opportunity to see a variety of animals while also taking advantage of some of the tours in the area, such as Alan's Wildlife tours and Tableland Adventure Guides tours.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Danelle_Brice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are a nature lover then Canopy Rainforest Treehouses is your dream destination. David is extremely helpful and full of useful advice on wildlife spotting on the property. We were delighted to see a platypus in the wild just 5 minutes walk away from the accommodation. We stayed in the apartment adjoined to the main house but the treehouses looked lovely and worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jigglewopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We wanted to stay in the jungle, and it doesn't come much closer than to massive trees brushing against these treehouses. They aren't built in the trees as such - they are elevated on huge poles. The houses feature strong use of timber and one wall is totally glass, looking out to the rainforest over the balcony. Total peace and solitude - we would definitely come back again and stay 3 or 4 nights. Everything worked just fine. Plenty of wood for the fire. Ample birdseed, turtle feed and fruit to feed the animals. What did we see? Rifle birds, catbirds, honeyeaters, king parrots, possums, white-tailed Australian rats, brush turkeys, pademelons (with joeys in pouch), platypus, turtles, frogs and microbats. The cassowary wasn't around - he had gone to visit his lady friend. Couldn't spot any tree kangaroos.
Rooms are self-catering - so bring your own food/drinks/reading matter. The water in the tap is filtered creek/rain water, so bring your own drinking water.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drdrdr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just returned from our 11th trip to the Tree houses and it still provides the same unbelievably relaxed environment for us adults and all the excitement that the kids have come to love. We have stayed at other "rainforest" and wilderness accommodation on the Tablelands before but nothing compares to The Canopy. I even chose the Bower House for my 40th birthday 3 years ago. David and Sharon are so welcoming and provide excellent information about the rainforest and its inhabitants. Everything on their website is exactly what you see and the sounds and smell of the rainforest are instantaneously relaxing. No phones (mobile), no people, no stress. Do yourself a favour... JUST GO THERE:)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kickstartTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great treehouse, perfectly clean, all amenities provided within the house except for WiFi (no network service beside Telstra which is really poor anyway).. Not much to do but very enjoyable for a short getaway in a rainforest retreat and you can always drive a short distance for a swim at the waterfalls.. Peaceful beside possums and wild turkeys coming every evening onto your balcony.. Beautiful parrots in the morning, you can feed them all, that's why they're coming around for.. And probably the most interesting detail of all is that there is no mosquitoes at all.. for real!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebasqueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
13.3 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
9.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
8.6 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
10.5 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
160 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary

Address: Hogan Road, Tarzali, Atherton, Queensland 4885, Australia (Formerly Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Tree Houses)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: $245 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of numerous awards and offering the ultimate in eco-responsible boutique luxury, "The Canopy" is one of Australia's most unique accommodation and wildlife experiences. Located on the banks of the Ithaca River and surrounded by pristine, private rainforest, it is home to a stunning array of rare and exotic wildlife, including the iconic Southern Cassowary and the unique Lumholtz's Tree Kangaroo. Note: formerly called Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Treehouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses And Wildlife Sanctuary Hotel Atherton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing