We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff- superior facilities- highly recommend - had New Zealand family stay- very impressed cabins xxx thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Staff are very friendly and helpful _ we stayed one night in 3 bedroom cabin with our New Zealand family guests- very impressed with facility- I worked many years in resorts- this was impressive caravan park!! Local Cairns resident and highly recommend a visit _ gardens and pool lagoon with fantastic facilities - Thank you for wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelbugs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, in our Lodge and that your friends from NZ also enjoyed their time with us. We appreciate your comments and feedback very much and look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards Patrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 270 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Brilliant site , One of the nicest Big 4 s we have stayed at. beautifully maintained grounds and lovely pool. A real gem!!
From here a must to see location is Eacham Lake , a fantastic place to swim in a crater, see turtles and picnics in fantastic surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and your time on the beautiful Atherton Tablelands. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my first trip to the Tablelands region. Stayed in the Eco Cabin which was fantastic. Tr staff were more then helpful. The facilities were clean and tidy. Would certainly stay here again and use it as a base to explore the Atherton Tablelands.

P.S. If you love mountain bike riding, you are approximately 5kms from the mountain bike tracks.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank KurtB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and in particular, your stay in one of our eco cabins - they are proving very popular. We are very close to the Atherton Mountain Bike Park and we are building a service/wash down bay for our mountain bike guests. We hope to have it finished in the coming weeks. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was the first campsite we stayed in after picking up our motorhome from cairns, if only all the sites we have stayed in since could have been this good! Kate, on the reception desk was friendly and knowledgable. The site is beautifully maintained and very well equipped. We met people here who gave us great tips and advice for our onward journey, thanks Sheila and Norm and Lorne and Jess. We are in NSW now and have stayed at sites down the Queensland coast.

Room Tip: The whole site is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jgray2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We shall make certain the staff (in particular Kate), read your comments. It is so nice for them to see their efforts acknowledged by our guests. Enjoy the rest of your holiday in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We (2A and 1C) travelled to the Tablelands from Townsville for a short getaway. The Woodlands park was most beautiful, stunning grounds. The pool excellent and there is a beautiful outdoor barbeque entertainment area where you dine al fresco and get to meet other residents of the park. It is a great place to base yourself as most places to visit are a short 10-15 minute drive from here. We stayed in both the Eco-Lodge and an Eco Cottage. The lodge definitely gets 5 stars as it has 3 bedrooms, self contained and has a separate lounge with FOXTEL. There is also a small balcony with table and chairs where you can dine if you choose. We did also stay in the eco cottage. A bit small and not recommended if you have a teenage child with you. They like their privacy and this cottage is open plan with small kitchen and beds all in one area. It was cosy though.
Park staff were simply the best. They were always friendly, would have a chat and they had excellent knowledge of the area and tourist attractions. Definitely worth a visit and gets 5 STARS from me.

Room Tip: Eco Lodge - definitely the best. Roomy, quiet and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparklesjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Lodge and all the facilities the Park has to offer. We are very proud of our Lodge. All the planning that went into its exterior and interior design is made all the more worthwhile when we receive feedback such as yours. We shall be sure to share it with the team. Thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom superior family cottage for 4 nights. It actually has room for 6 people to sleep, so the two of us had plenty of room. As the website stated, the cottage was lovingly restored. You could see it was an older cabin, but they put in a nice new bathroom (with a big shower) and aircon in the main living area. The two bedrooms both have fans, which means that to get a nice sleeping temperature in both rooms you have to put the aircon on full blast and use the fans to cool down the bedrooms. When we were in Atherton the temperatures were very high, 37-40 degrees, but late at night and early morning it cooled down nicely. The beds are very good, good sheets and mattresses. The verandah of our cottage (#6) was very big and shady. There is no dishwasher but that is not a big issue. The grounds of the park are very well maintained and beautifully landscaped. There is a nice swimmingpool and a well equipped camp kitchen. It is an excellent location to visit the beautiful tablelands, we went to Lake Eacham, Mount Hypipamee, and we did the Peterson Creek walk in nearby Yungaburra, where we saw two platypus! So, a good place to stay when visiting the beautiful Tablelands, and I would definitely stay at this Big4 again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniekEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Cottage. We are so close to many of the attractions here on the Tablelands and many of our guests do make this their base whilst touring. It was very unusual for Atherton to have such high temperatures, 37 degrees and some days even higher. Thankfully it has cooled down again and we are back to the temperatures and weather we are used to. Thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff at the reception. The cabins are very good equipped and very clean. I spend one night on it and I would come back.Its very quiet and wonderful located. You sit very relaxed and of course peaceful on the patio. It's just around 3Km from "Downtown" away and easy to find from the circle or "round about" at the Post Office. The price is very moderate in comparison to the Outback (135 AUD).....they even have wine glassesin the kitchen and for those are interested a 32inch flat screen :-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for this fantastic review following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our "eco cabins" and found everything to be clean, quiet and relaxing. We work very hard to create and maintain this environment for our guests and it is made all the more worthwhile when we receive feedback such as this to share with our team. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
7.5 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
157 reviews
11 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
2.9 mi away
Atherton Holiday Park
Atherton Holiday Park
#6 of 6 in Atherton
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Atherton Halloran's Leisure Park
1.7 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
35 reviews
7.5 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park

Address: 141 Herberton Rd, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: $97 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco certified for nature based tourism and backing onto state forest our Park is set amongst 6 acres of award winning gardens, also boasting a large variety of birdlife, our Park is a birdwatchers haven. There is a bushwalk from the back of the Park so you can enjoy amazing views of the Tablelands and we are located within a very short riding distance of the Atherton Forest Mountain Bike Park. We are just 1.5km from the Atherton township and located very close to all the major Tableland tourist attractions so that you can easily make our Park your home while you explore all that this wonderful region has to offer. All guests receive discount vouchers for local shops and attractions and free wifi is available throughout the Park. Don't forget to ask us for our 7 day itinerary on check-in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing