We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BIG4 Atherton Woodlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with a family of four and wished we had booked it for at least one more night. The park is very nice, with a pool and playground right in front of the cabin we stayed in. We found it's a very nice place for kids to meet others. The hotel is also a good basis to explore the region, which is great if you like bush-walking through the stunning Tablelands. A very nice bonus is the nearby Platypus pond, where you can closely observe that interesting animal in real life.

Room Tip: You may want to stay somewhat deeper in the park, away from the noisy main road at the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchFamily28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    47
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
76
91
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Friendly welcome and plenty of tourist information in reception. We were escorted to the site and very professionally directed in. Sites generally level, some with concrete slabs most with grass. Immaculately maintained gardens, perfect edges and lovely flower beds, grass mowed every time a van leaves. Water and electricity points close by, no sullage, rubbish bin per site, which were emptied each morning. $ 35 2A, powered less Big 4 discount $31.50. Suitable for a long stay.
Facilities : Only one amenities block with 4 showers and 6 toilets, probably not enough for 100 sites. Amenities were spotlessly clean. Large laundry with washing machines and dryers, also an ironing board and iron and a computer with internet access. Large outdoor camp kitchen and bbq area in a Balinese hut, bbq’s very clean. Free Wi-Fi available. Water pressure is good and there is a dump point. Salt water pool and playground.
Likes : Park maintained in excellent condition.
Dislikes : Sites are tightly packed together.
Added Touches : Discount vouchers for local businesses.

Room Tip: Caravan sites 39 - 42 are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SioDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

When we (4 adults and 2 kids) opened the door to the Superior Ensuite Family Cottage we were very surprised with the presentation of the cottage. Clean, spacious and very comfortable. The gardens, playground, pool and BBQ areas are immaculate. The carport is great for when it is raining and after a long day out exploring the porch is a comfortable place to relax.
The staff greet you with a smile, are friendly and very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. Woodlands has many little extras that make the park very comfortable, enjoyable and unforgettable. Thanks Woodlands!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed overnight in a fully self-contained cabin at the Big4 Woodlands Tourist Park in Atherton as we had a 9am engagement the next day - what a surprise! While not overwhelming when we drove in, the check-in was quick, easy and courteous. The park seems quite large with a range of comfortable outdoor facilities including a large pool with lots of landscaping. The cabin was very clean, spacious and comfortable with plenty of room for us and a fully equipped kitchen. There was even free wifi access. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about cabins by the road - it's actually very quiet inside the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBTLC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Due to family commitments we have stayed here many times over the past three years. The gardens are immaculate and accommodation is always clean. The only minor problem is the cramped room in the villa cabins - I always end up bruising my legs! The free Internet is one of the reasons we stay and I'm disappointed they were booked out this year.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed in an ensuite cottage which had a carport. The cottage was well appointed and was set in nice grounds. There was free wireless Internet which was really good. The only downside was the toilet which was very cramped. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is a good park and it looks and feels it from the moment you drive into it. Rarely do you witness the attention to detail and the care shown to a property of this type. You can tell that he owners love this place. They are innovative as can be seen from their website www.woodlandscp.com.au
There is a terrific range of accommodation that would suit anyone visiting Atherton and the garden and lush green surrounds are positively up-lifting.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
1.6 mi away
Atherton Halloran's Lesiure Park
2.2 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atherton Holiday Park
Atherton Holiday Park
#5 of 6 in Atherton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
9.2 mi away
Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Atherton Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Atherton Woodlands

Property: BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
Address: 141 Herberton Road, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Atherton Woodlands 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully located in the heart of the stunning Atherton Tablelands BIG4 Woodlands Atherton Tourist Park have a variety of accommodation options to suit all tastes and budgets. Winner of the 2008 Tourism Tropical Nth QLD Best Tourist Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Atherton Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing