We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful base to explore the Mornington Peninsula area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A wonderful base to explore the Mornington Peninsula area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The motel is not only located in a central area in Rye, just across the road from the beach and also a beautiful jetty to walk out on and watch the sunset. The motel is also very modern and comfortable. We stayed in a King Suite with a spa and were very pleasantly surprised with the modern and clean layout of the room; a king size bed with the one of the most comfortable mattresses. A satellite TV and a semi-equipped kitchen. As well as the clean and large bathroom. There is also a beautiful looking pool which would be great in summer. There are nice cafes and take-away shops along the main street of Rye - which is only a 1 minute walk away from the motel.

Room Tip: Go for the Spa Suite - is it nice a big with plenty of room to relax with a glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Good morning Samicus,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have posted on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all feedback as this helps us identify areas for improvement. Your glowing report has given us all a rewarding boost. Once again, many thanks.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Best Western One Four Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
86
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

the king suite with spa bath was excellent. The Bed was so comfortable and the room had everything we needed! I was expecting more of a hotel but this best western just had a reception office in a different building and all rooms were accessed from outside so it felt like more of an apartment room.. not that it really mattered

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good morning Jamie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback and hope that we see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

A great place to stay that is local to all the surrounding actractions. Pub next door offers a comprehensive menu, good food and atmosphere. Gold packages are very well organised and reasonably priced. In summer the beach is at your door step or the pool offers an escape from the crowds. Highly reccommend a stay. Rooms clean, modern and comfortable. Service friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback as this helps us maintain a level of service that keeps our guests returning. It also helps us identify areas that we can improve upon, which is vitally important to us. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here recently as attending a wedding and were traveling for over an hour. Decided to get changed after we checked in. Our daughters were also traveling to the wedding but not staying over. One needed to change for the wedding and the others just wanted to refresh make up. We were firmly told that there are no visitors allowed into the rooms. I was made to feel very uncomfortable when i mentioned that my daughter and her partner needed to change. We were granted 30 minutes to change, "but only this time" Don't worry there won't be a next time. Sadly as this is a very clean and comfortable hotel. Bed was great slept very well good hot shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank heywood-garfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Jeanette,

Further to the email sent via the Medallia website n relation to your comments on that site, and after our apologies regarding the 'no visitors' policy within our accommodation area, we have requested a change to the Best Western site to include the clause as mentioned. Sadly this is a policy that we have been forced to adopt because of previous abuse of the accommodation facility. This policy is well documented on all other sites.

We appreciate your feedback though and hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Best Western One Four Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Another property that I've always found a little better than average.
(Again, where's than other half star when you need it!?)
The brilliant thing about One Four Nelson is that it's located virtually opposite the beach.
It's also incredibly quiet, rooms are spacious (stayed in a King Spa room) and there's a gorgeous pool in the middle of the complex (although it was closed during my overnight stay).
A bistro, bottle shop and pokies venue are also within the premises and it's a couple of minutes walk down the driveway to the shops and cafes along the promenade.
Service was great (thanks Gail), spa was lovely and relaxing and sleep was easy 'cause it was so quiet.
It may be part of the Best Western chain and yes, it's a lot pricier than you'd ordinarily pay for a hotel/motel in the outer burbs/country, but One Four Nelson is certainly a better than average accommodation offering.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to Best Western One Four Nelson.

Kind Regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice location with a nice pool. I did find customer service to be arrogant and non negotiable. I am at a loss to explain as to how this business is run with staff who dont clean rooms properly and accuse customers of "leaving things behind" deeming the room unhygienic and keeping credit card room fee of $50 by making up ridiculous stories and keeping our money with no valid reason.Had to fight tooth and nail however management dismissed everything i said. Front of house staff being rude to customers at times. Its a shame its a nice place but i will never stay here again. False accusations. I think you need to go back to the school of management to practise customer service skills. You will never see a cent from me ever again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kosta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Good afternoon Kosta,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. However, I am unable to locate your reservation on our system without a surname and ask that you supply the date of your stay to enable me to respond to your comments fully. I await your response.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and 2 children on the 28/12/2013
I had fond memories of this place from previous stays.
But I was terribly disappointed this time round.
The rooms weren’t as clean; the pool area was absolutely shocking, not just full of debris but spider webs all over the posts and bird droppings all over the furniture.
I had my 2year old opening both front and back doors, when I asked reception for a key to lock the back door? I was told that they don’t have one?
I thought this was unacceptable. When I asked how was I supposed to secure the room to contain my 2 year old, they told me to learn how to control my child!
I stayed there for 2 hours and thought this is just too big a risk to take with my child being able to escape the room. So we left after stressing our concerns.
The service we received was disgusting, rather than trying to understand the situation they were more concerned with telling us you will not receive a refund!
We didn’t even ask for one? We were more concerned with our children’s safety!
Not worth the money!
Parents Beware!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Tony,
As your review has been previously responded to on the Best Western Medallia site early January we are amazed that you continue to post another review.
As mentioned previously, our facilities meet all safety requirements and we have in place all necessary levels of privacy. As you were aware when booking, your room is designed to accommodate 2 adults, and on request we can provide a sofa bed for one or two children under the age of 10, which was provided. Due to fire regulations within the industry, dead locks are not permitted on doors, and the responsibility for children's safety lies with the parents at all times. Your comments regarding the pool are quite unfair given that it is an outdoor pool and a severe wind storm came through the area at around 3pm, which lasted well into the night. Naturally, leaves and debris will travel under these circumstances. Our records show your time of arrival was 3.22pm and your check out time was 8.19pm which was of course during that time frame. We hope that this matter will now be put to rest.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
0.0 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
7.2 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
16.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
4.7 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson

Property: Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Address: 14 Nelson Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 stylish suites overlook a heated pool and spa and are located opposite the Rye beach. Play golf, sail the bay, bathe in the hot springs, visit wineries and dine at great restaurants. For relaxation and indulgence on the Mornington Peninsula. We will ensure your stay is one to remember.One Four Nelson winner 2012 Best 4 Star property through Best Western,Awards for Excellence 2013,2014,2015 - Star Ratings Australia Gold Star list 2016 - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western One Four Nelson Hotel Rye
Best Western 1 4 Nelson
Best Western Rye
Rye Best Western
Best Western Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing