We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved every minute of our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked the mezanine apartment (for four people) at One Four Nelson recently and were absolutely amazed at the quality accommodation as well as the entire experience! The booking process was very smooth and professional; the Manager Gail was very flexible with our requests and we found all the staff extremely friendly. The accommodation itself was superb - very modern, large, airy, heaps of towels and the pool and spa were the icing on the cake! We recommend One Four Nelson to anyone looking for a spacious, modern, extremely clean apartment just opposite the beach and walking distance to just about everything! We will certainly return (very soon)!

Room Tip: The mezanine level was absolutely superb if you have four guests. Lovely balcony overlooking the poo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Good morning Renus,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on Trip Advisor, and yes, the balcony overlooking the pool is a great spot for having a relaxing afternoon. It was a pleasure having your group stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 164 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

The room was large, clean and comfortable and we didn't notice the noise that some others mention. The light from the hallway however was very bright at night, even with the door shade down. The main highlight of the hotel was the rooms all face onto the pool, with plenty of trees, creating a lovely little oasis. The pool itself is large and warm and inviting and made all the difference to our stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Good Morning Melbourne Tedd,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We do apologise for the bright light and hope it disdn't disturb you too much during the night. We appreciate your comments greatly and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is, on the whole, a pleasant place to stay on the Mornington Peninsula at Rye. We were there for three nights. It's close to the beach, has large stylish rooms, comfy beds, smart bathrooms. However, it does seem to have noise problems. Perhaps it's because this small complex is built in the round, with all rooms built around a central swimming pool. Perhaps conversation bounces around the complex. Or maybe it's just that the walls are thin. Whatever, the upshot is that there are signs on the gates that say no visitors are allowed. I took that to mean no hawkers, or unauthorised visitors. But no: it means no visitors, no way, full stop. Which was a problem when we invited local friends to our room for a quiet drink at 6pm on a Sunday when the hotel was virtually empty, other guests having mostly scarpered back to Melbourne. When our friends arrived at reception they were told they were not allowed in. When the front-desk person phoned me to give me the same glad tidings, she said firmly that surely I'd seen the signs saying no visitors were permitted. She said we were welcome to take them into the adjoining hotel. No thanks. A place with pokie machines along the walls and straight chairs around tables was not the ambience we were looking for, and so we gathered up our wine and nibbles are went to our friends' home instead. The reason for our trip was to visit someone who is recovering from major surgery and so we'd looked forward to being able to enjoy a quiet visit in our $200-and-something-per-night hotel. If we'd known ahead of time that grownup socialising was forbidden, we would not have booked there. Because this is a beach area an hour out of Melbourne, I guess the Best Western has to be wary of noisy weekend revelers or hen-night participants making late-night noise. But, c'mon! It was 6pm, there was hardly anyone in the place, we were four 'oldies' wanting to chat for an hour or two, not a youthful tribe loaded with beer and shooters. A little flexibility would have been appreciated.
BTW This is one of those places that makes you wonder at the thinking processes of hotel designers. Instead of having convenient bedside lights with individual controls, the king-size bedhead is lit with twin bright, ceiling-mounted halogen downlighters, both controlled from one switch on only side of the bed. Which means if the switchless partner wants to read at night while the other tries to sleep (under the glare), the reading one has to trek right around the bed to switch off the light. So, if you're a romantic twosome wanting peace and quiet this place is quite pleasant. Just don't expect to socialise with anyone else. And either leave your book at home, or take a sleep mask.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Good morning Lindsey,
Thank you for your response on Trip advisor. We apologise for any embarrasement or inconvenience caused to you and your guests in relation to them not being allowed entry to the accommodation complex. However, over the years we have had to bring in this rule for the ambience of other guests and also because of complaints regarding overcrowding and misuse of the facility. As mentioned by our Receptionist at the time, the Rye Hotel is available for all socialising and the area at the front of the Hotel offers a very comfortable and relaxing spot to meet with your guests . We were fully booked on the weekend you visited us and all other guests respected the conditions of accommodation. We are an industry rated four star facility and this requires certain building specifications which includes adequate sound proofing of all rooms. On arrival, you had also signed the registration form stating conditions of stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our two nights spent at Best Western One Four Nelson were very relaxing and enjoyable. Brenda on reception was friendly professional and helpful. Our room was very spacious and beautifully clean. We had no complaints at all. One tiny observation ....we had a connecting door to our next door neighbours room, and we found it wasn't much of a sound barrier. We could clearly hear them talking and their music....not that it was loud, just normal volume - so they could obviously hear us. Thankfully we all retired to bed at about the same time so it wasn't an issue. I can see that it could be a problem with noisier people. All in all we were very happy with our stay and would recommend this motel to friends travelling on the Mornington Peninsualr

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clearclearclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback as this helps us identify areas that can be improved upon. We hop you will visit us again soon, and once again thank you.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A very nice Best Western Hotel, we really liked. Bed very comfy, room spacious and a nice view to the pool. Good Location, we recommend and would book it again. Would have wished to stay longer there:-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrigitteSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hello Brigitte,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all comments made through these sources, as they help us maintain the standard that guests expect when visiting us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room was clean, spacious and very quite. The bed was really comfortable, spa bath great, the lady at check-in was very friendly, efficient and organized. Plenty of free parking, some under cover. Nice balconies overlooking the pool. I would stay again and fully recommend it to other travelers. If you are going to the Hot springs, they are only 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hello Lisa,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all responses whether good or bad, as it helps us maintain the standards that guests expect. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Room was excellent, clean and spacious and secure. Great location. Had a problem with TV remote which wouldn't work so TV turns itself off with some powersaving device. Rang reception but she was busy so sorted it out ourselves. Remote probably needed batteries. (overall a minor problem which didn't impact on our stay)
Would recommend to anyone and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello Michael T,
We very appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Best Western One Four Nelson. It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback and also feedback on an issue of concern. We have since checked the remote thanks to your feedback. Thankyou for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
GAil McMillan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
0.0 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
7.2 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
493 reviews
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Flinders Hotel
Flinders Hotel
#1 of 2 in Flinders
216 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
307 reviews
3.0 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson

Address: 14 Nelson Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: $113 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Hotel Accommodation offers two styles of accommodation. Choose from 13 brand new Beachfront suites over looking the bay or 30 stylish Poolside suites overlooking the heated swimming pool and spa. Play golf, sail the bay, bathe at Peninsula Hot Springs, visit wineries and dine at great restaurants. For relaxation and indulgence on the Mornington Peninsula. We will ensure your stay is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western 1 4 Nelson
Best Western One Four Nelson Hotel Rye
Best Western Rye
Rye Best Western
Best Western Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing