We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our go to peninsular restaurant...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steam Restaurant

Steam Restaurant
Reserve with
Steam Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $46
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“our go to peninsular restaurant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via Local Picks

Our family just love this place...can not pick anything that was special as the whole menu is delicious...believe me we have tried it all and it never fails...salivating just thinking about my next visit...better make a booking...NOW!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gillie G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    84
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not fault a single thing we were served!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lucy and I walked in without a booking on a Sunday night during school holidays and were lucky enough to get the last table available. A range of families, groups and couples made the atmosphere social and lively, with tables spaced quite close.

The cuisine is a fusion of Japanese and some other Asian influences (Chinese and Vietnamese I think) with a great menu. The range of wine, sake, shochu and tea is quite comprehensive, and we started the night by sampling a delicious shochu each.

Live oysters were kept in a tank by the bar, and we had the choice of three different origins. For our entrees we had bloody-sake-Mary oyster shots and a selection of oysters served in 4 other Japanese styles, all of which were fantastic.

We enjoyed a nice New Zealand sauvignon blanc, one of the cheaper options and great value. We followed the oysters with the sashimi tasting board, which was small but again delicious.

For mains we had the soft-shell crab, and I forget the other as it was a few weeks back now, but both were very tasty.

Overall this was a great surprise (considering the fish and chip shops and fried chicken joints we walked past on the way) and the best meal we have had in Australia for a fair while. We spent $140 in total and I think that the incredible tastes and interesting menu options make it very good value for this style of restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuTo_Engaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sooo good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

my partner and i had dinner here on fathers day, thank-you for making it so special, food was amazing, we had the thai banquet. service was great, will defiantly be back..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Loverforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Comapared to most of the same old same old served on the mornington peninsula, this is a breath of fresh air. Exciting dishes, decent prices with pretty affordable prices. Dined there on a fairly quiet night in late august, so got the most attentive service available. Waitress said she was fairly new but was very helpful none the less. Karrage chicken, massaman beef curry and coriander fritters absolute top notch! Could not rave enough about them.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mornpencritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This would have to be one of the best restaurants on the peninsula...they have 2 sittings...we always chose the later one so you can while away the evening without being rushed out.. The service is pretty good most of the time but it depends on the night. If you get Tabatha as your waitress you can be pretty sure things will go your way...she is very good....
Ever been to Nobu....it is very similar.....all the serves are sharing plates, not always huge servings but nevertheless delicious. Gyoza, .corn fritters, chicken Kara age (YUMMMM order 2 serves) or anything else your order will be Devine. The oysters are so fresh I could have eaten 3 dozen!!! Wines are reasonably priced..this is not a cheap night out but the quality of the food is worth the price. This is our go to restaurant on the peninsula....make a booking as most weekends it is booked out.....you won't be disappointed if this is the kind of food you like....I call it Asian tapas....YUM!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steam Restaurant also viewed

Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
 
Rye, Mornington Peninsula
Rye, Mornington Peninsula
 
Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Steam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing