We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A Lovely Oasis Nestled in the Tea Tree - Great Value'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Rye
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed for a few nights at Bay Play Tennis Rye, Cottage 1, the week before easter. The staff were very helpful in booking and giving us information. The rooms were spacious and clean and there appeared to be new sofas, carpet, blinds and television.

Although the cottages are close together they have privacy and you are unaware of other guests. The large balcony has a fabulous outdoor table, perfect for indulging in feasts from the big gas BBQ. The kitchen is well equipped with nice crockery, cutlery and glasses.

It was very child friendly for my three year old, he loved his 'new home'.

It was one of three places we stayed on a week long road trip taking in Torquay, Rye and Phillip Island and by far the best value for money. It is on the back beach side of Rye away from the main tourist drag. Easy to find if you have google maps. We will book again.

My only complaint was there is no wifi available, which wasn't such a big deal once we found the Kuonya General Store on the Old Melbourne road towards Sorrento, which has free wifi if you buy a coffee, and good fair trade coffee as well.

We also went to Aqualina for dinner in Sorrento, amazing pasta a definite 'must eat there' in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieHaverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayplay, Manager at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

It's wonderful to hear you had such a great stay with us on the Mornington Peninsula. We really appreciate you making the effort and taking time to post a review. It makes it all worthwhile. So once again - Thank you from the team at Bayplay!

Kind Regards
Amanda Crestani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

Avoid this place at all costs. It is filthy, the bedding's dirty, it's impossible to find, it's outdated and unsecure, and the washing machine destroys your clothes!

We stayed here as part of a road trip along the Great Ocean Road and up the Mornington Peninsula. Over our trip we stayed in 12 different accommodations across Australia. This was by far the absolute worst.

It was very difficult to find and not signposted. When we arrived we could see that the 'tennis courts', outside hot-tub and surrounding area were overgrown, unkempt and in urgent need of attention. We don't mind the most basic of places as long as it's clean so we witheld our judgement until inside.

Upon entering Cottage 2, we found that the carpets had stains EVERYWHERE, the upholstery on the sofa and chairs was so filthy we didn't want to sit on them, the bedding was used and even on trying to pilfer some bedding from the second bedroom found that that was also covered in hairs and very clearlly very used! The shower was the most dated set-up I've ever seen and in general the whole cottage is in desperate need of modernisation.

To me the place didn't feel secure - there are lots of windows and big patio doors and the locks felt very flimsy to me.

As we'd been on the road for two weeks we thought that one redeeming feature may be the washing machine, so that we could catch up on laundry. It ruined a load of washing by putting holes in all the clothes. That rounded off an awful experience nicely!

We spent the evening in nearby Sorrento in the cinema, to try to avoid spending any time there. We left very early in the morning, very tired, just to get away, but that place still haunts me! When we were planning our trip Bay Play in Rye wasn't on Tripadvisor so we hadn't been able to read a review, and booked on the offchance it was ok. We know differently now, so felt duty bound to put a review on here to stop others making the same mistake we did! This place really is horrible, please avoid it!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayplay, Manager at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

We're terribly sorry to hear your stay with us at Bayplay wasn't up to your standards that you had expected. We understand where you're coming from and we'd like to advise but in no way use this as an excuse, we had just obtained these cottages and we did realise the property needed a lot of work. We took on your advice and have endeavored to fix the problems you have pointed out. I think you can see from our updated pictures we have upgraded the cottages to the highest of standards and hope that you would like to return to see the differences.

We once again apologise for your experience with us at Bayplay, however, we would love for you to return one day.

Kind Regards
Amanda Crestani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
1.5 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
1.4 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
4 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Moody's Motel
Moody's Motel
#1 of 1 in Blairgowrie
49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boathouse Resort Studios and Suites
1.3 mi away
Kanasta Caravan Park Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

Address: 15 - 19 Eugenia St, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Rye
Price Range: $93 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayplay Beach Cottages are nestled in a native bush setting and within walking distance to the Mornington Peninsula National Park and spectacular ocean beaches. With 3 spacious cottages on the one property, you can choose to book all 3 for a group getaway or extended family holiday. This secluded property gets you away from it all, but still a few minutes drive to stunning beaches, townships of Rye & Sorrento and Peninsula Hot Springs. Facilities include:- Bedroom 1 - Queen size bed- Bedroom 2 - two singe bunks (sleeps 4 people)- Sleeps 6 people, Linen & Bedding is available.- Large deck with outdoor setting & pet friendly- Fenced yard with parking- Family friendly!- Modern entertainers kitchen- Stove, oven & dishwasher- Laundry with Washing machine and dryer- TV, VCR, DVD- Mod grass tennis court- Solitude and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing