We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very deceiving motel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moonlight Bay Apartments
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very deceiving motel!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Doesn't look like much from the outside but we trusted the TA reviews we had read and we're blown away. We booked a king spa room and it was definitely worth the money!

Rooms were more modern and well equipped than some of the 4 and 5 star hotels we have experienced. Very modern furniture, comfortable king bed and the kitchenette was very well equipped.

Owners were lovely and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Close to the waterfront and the Hot Springs.

Will definitely stay here again and would HIGHLY recommend to our family and friends.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, AU
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This spot was great for our family. It was immaculately clean and had everything that was needed for fun. The spa and pool were warm enough to enjoy every day. It was really close to all of the Rye restaurants and bars. It was close to the beach, great breakfast places, & farmers markets. The owner gave us great ideas for places to take our kids. We will definitely come here again.
Thanks so much :)

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartment ws great with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccimaymonge07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Bay NSW
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Highly Recommended.

Management and staff were Cheerful and Very Helpful.

The room was in good decorative order and clean. Well supplied with all you need for a comfortable stay.

The rooms are not serviced daily but the staff visit to replenish consumables as required.

Thank you Lynn and Dennis we enjoyed our stay. (despite the weather.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We recently spent a few days at Moonlight Bay Resort. Convenient location right in the middle of Rye with off street parking ( free). The apartment was very clean and bright with
comfy furniture and a good bed. Thanks Lynn. Rye is a great little spot with a variety of good restaurants and coffee shops and within comfortable driving distance of all the good golf courses - my favourite being Flinders Golf Club which overlooks the ocean so when the golf deteriorates the views are spectacular! All in all a good place to spend a holiday week or fortnight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savblanc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Everything about this place suited us down to the ground. From the first phone call to book, through emails, changing our mind about room type, nothing was too much trouble for our host. When we got there, the room was everything we expected. We stayed 2 nights in a King Spa Room which was spacious and well appointed with kitchenette, great king size bed, lounge, flatscreen TV, DVD. The bathroom was enormous and we made good use of the two person spa. The decore pleased my wife & she’s fussy about this. Must be modern & trendy. Parking was under cover too. Our host was friendly and helpful with advise about our room and what to see & do but was not imposing at all. There is really nothing to complain about this motel. Another reviewer mentions the vertical drapes lacking privacy. This I would agree with but we didn’t feel uncomfortable about it as the pool and courtyard are covered by security CCTV and the owners are on site to deal with it if there was a perv lurking about. Not only would we be happy to stay there again, we fully intend to. There is more to see there than we had time for so we want to go back

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eljay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

WE LOVED EVERYTHING IT HAD TO OFFER!! great location right at the beachfront and shopping strip. had a luvly king spa room very modern look, spacious, clean dvd/video player, aircon and heating and huge spa in bathroom... beautiful hot water swimming pool and spa in the centre of the courtyard even to enjoy when weather bit cold!! And for the internet junkies also FREE WIFI ! Were also able to use laundry at our own convenience. Reception staff was very helpful and friendly and caring! We had no issues with it been noisy. i really cant find something negative to say about this motel... i highly recommend it for everyone who want to enjoy rye and its surroundings and stay at a great place for a great price!!!!!!!

Room Tip: loved the king spa room... king bed and huge spa in bathroom.... very modern look! had no unit noice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

exterior, wasn't a great impression. standard, nothing flashy.
interior, kind size bed, bathroom, spa, fresh towels.
service, was terrible, i asked about what to do around here, reception didn't say anything just pointed at brochure stand. thanks great help! couldn't miss it! thanks for the service!

the bad! - lumpy bed, very uncomfortable, dirty floors, stains on wall & floor, not exactly what you get for what you pay.

definitely would NOT go again! nor recommended.

Room Tip: dont go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
0.0 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
7.2 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Apartments

Property: Moonlight Bay Apartments
Address: 4 Napier St, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonlight Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Rye beach and pier, restaurants, shops, hotel & RSL. Spacious and one & two bedroom fully self-contained apartments, most with large spa baths, and modern spa studios surround a sparkling heated outdoor pool & spa (heated Sept. - April). Complimentary barbecue area, off-street parking, laundry facilities and WiFi. Only minutes to Peninsula Hot Springs, Golf courses, wineries and Mornington Peninsula's finest tourist attractions. Friendly hospitality in your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Moonlight Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing