We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“great stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great, relaxing stay. Loved everything about the retreat- great room, comfy bed, great food in the
Argus, terrific service at check-in( thanks John), Well done Peppers! The area around Hepburn is very interesting to explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Greg W,
Thank you very much for your review. John especially was delighted with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    115
    69
    41
    39
See reviews for
39
274
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat this weekend as a last minute trip to the country. My partner was excited to stay there as he had filmed something there a few years ago.

I liked the decor of the hotel. The dark colours in the corridors add drama to your visit before you enter your room.

Our "Spa room" had a large spa on an elevated platform in front of a wall of gold mosaic tiles, behind which were the toilet and the shower. The doors of both were glass, so this room is strictly for lovers.

This was more evident in the Argus Dining room where we had dinner as everyone looked like they had been shagged or were going to be.

The service at the Argus was very good. My partner and I were hung over and flakey in our decision making but I didn't get a whiff of attitude from anyone who served us for the entire meal.

I wouldn't say our mains were amazing but the food was fun and a good quality. There was a sense of theatricality in the presentation of the food that we enjoyed. For example my dessert was a large coconut covered chocolate egg that was cracked open to reveal pineapple and what I think was passionfruit ice-cream. Some kind of sauce was poured onto that. It wasn't the greatest dessert I've eaten (I didn't finish it as it was too sweet and there was too much of it) but I appreciated the creativity.

I think the thing we liked the most was the complimentary tofu and fish egg custard that we got upon arrival. That was such a pleasant surprise.

I really liked the fit out of the Argus. It must have been hard to create intimate spaces in such a big room, but whoever designed it achieved that.

The big downside of our visit to Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat that we were woken up around midnight by drunken revellers on the patio below our room. I couldn't believe how loud they were. We closed the window which provided some sound insulation but not much. This made our room stuffy. I figured it was a Saturday night so I got over it and decided to stay up and wait for the noise to die down which it did about 2 hours later. If you book a room at Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat don't get room 211 as the sound insulation is awful. We were pretty bummed out that we were given that room.

I didn't complain as we checked out as it looked like the manager was getting tortured by some yuppies arguing over every single item on their very complicated bill. The manager remained calm throughout which as if he had dealt with people like that many times before. It took ages to check out, so I think additional staff were needed. Everyone wanted to leave at the same time so there was tension in the room as to who would get to be served next.

Room Tip: -Don't get a room over looking the patio - it was noisy -Don't stay in room 211 -The spa r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher-Hus... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Christopher-Hussein,
Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful that you appreciated the striking yet intimate atmosphere that has been created with our recent refurbishment, as well as the attentive yet unobtrusive style of service we strive to achieve.
I am sorry that you were disturbed during the night by noisy guests. We do have a wide range of room styles to choose from which you may prefer on your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. The first night was a delight. Great sleep, beautiful room with an amazing spa bath. Breakfast was great with service with a smile. The spa treatment was fun and so relaxing. Dinner was sublime. BUT then the very drunk very foul mouthed conference group gathered on the next door balcony at 3 am. No apology from the staff when it was raised with them next morning. To top that off, breakfast was no where near the standard of the day before despite ordering the same meal which was presented in a different, less appealing way. I was even told to help myself to 'free' tea from the self serve station rather than having a pot of tea as I did on the previous day. Bit of a letdown at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mitchamfamily,
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room, The Argus Dining Room and the spa for the majority of your stay. I am sorry that you were disturbed by some inconsiderate neighbours on your second night and that you feel that your situation was not responded to satisfactorily in the morning.
We appreciate your constructive comments about your breakfast experience as it is not indicative of our usual feedback, and have taken appropriate steps towards achieving continuity in service and presentation.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Maddalena
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Me and my husband recently stay at Peppers Minerals and spent two days in this fabulous hotel.
We choose "Springs tranquillity package" and everything was perfect!
Our room was beautifull, the food amazing and all the sfaff very friendly and helpful.
We loved our time at Peppers!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedutasulmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Sedutasulmondo,
Thank you so much for your feedback! It is wonderful to hear that our team is meeting and exceeding expectations. The Tranquility package certainly is one of our most popular and luxurious packages where we take care of almost everything, letting you just relax. We hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat as a conference (3 day residential) venue and for this purpose it stacks up fairly well. Just far enough away from Melbourne for our delegates to switch off from their day jobs but not too far away from Tullamarine Airport for the interstaters.

Accommodation ranges from tastefully restored and updated historic, like the 1864 heritage listed Villa Parma where I bunked down for 3 nights, to newer single terrace rooms – all very nicely presented.

Unfortunately it was the food that me down. The standard I was expecting was not achieved across the 3 days and I left a little disappointed.

Don’t leave Hepburn Springs without tasting the amazing water from the natural springs across the road.

Room Tip: I recommend the Villa Parma. This would be great for a bunch of friends or up to 4 couples. Gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBoyNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear BeachBoyNsw,
Thank you for your review, we are always delighted to hear that our conference delegates enjoy their stay. As we are located only a short walk to the famous Hepburn Springs Reserve where there are a number of natural springs, we accommodate for both conference and leisure guests alike! Kim our Sales and Events Manager has been working hard with event organisers to ensure all our conferences run smoothly. Villa Parma really is something special and we agree it is the perfect place to visit with friends to get away from the daily grind of the city.
Although this is unlike the feedback we normally receive, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the menu selected by your group. Conference menu’s are extensive and vary according to the requirements of the business attending the conference. Kim works closely with our Executive Chef and together they tailor menus to suit a wide variety of tastes and dietary requirements. Perhaps on your next visit as a leisure guest you will be able to experience the intricate and awarded food served in The Argus Dining Room, rather than the simpler “working lunch” styles. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hepburn Springs is a great place to visit and if you feel like spoiling yourself this is the place to do it. The gardens and surrounds are a pleasure to stroll through and there are so many different spaces to enjoy in the main building. The food was exceptional and if the chocolate coconut is on the menu do not hesitate to order one, it is the best desert I have ever had.

Room Tip: They are all good. Go for a spa room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJDevolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear CJDevolo,
Thank you for taking the time to review Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the property. Our gardener in particular, who takes great pride in keeping the grounds in top shape, was very pleased. And I have to agree, it is very hard to go past the chocolate coconut!
We hope you will be able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our stay at Peppers. From the very start, you knew it would be fantastic.

We stayed in a contemporary superior room - which was modern, clean and decorated very tastefully. There are two doors to each villa - the outer door that leads to the short hallway (maybe 2 meters long) with doors to the two different rooms. The outer door is sealed so well that no bugs were in the hallway - quite a feat when you look at how many bugs were outside!

The sheets and pillows were good quality and I actually feel asleep in them almost instantly - which could also be attributed to the completely soundproof walls. My husband was knocking on this outer door and I didn't even hear him knock!

We loved the spa bath in the room - a little luxury we don't often get. It was so relaxing. Although I thought the way they included it in the main room looked a little odd - I thought it should either go closer to the bathroom or maybe make the alcove a little bigger.

Even with the bed, the spa bath, a table and chairs, the room was still roomy enough for us to fit a large portable cot in!

The best part of our trip was when we used the spa. Both my husband and I opted for a massage and time in the Retreat. This surpassed our expectations. The spa was decorated really well and included a lot of windows overlooking the trees and gardens outside and the masseuse was a really good one. The Retreat was really cool though. I loved the sauna and steam room although I wasn't so keen on trying the Infrared Detox Box. While they said it was safe, I don't like exposing my body to things like that if I can help it. The mineral baths were also great. It was an extremely hot day and they were the perfect temperature for relaxing without getting too hot or too cold.

The only real negative for me was the buffet breakfast. I thought it was completely lackluster and something you'd find at a standard hotel chain's buffet breakfast. The breakfast attendants kept refilling the warmers with eggs and things like that - but they never took away the remains that had been sitting in the warmer for quite a while. They just kept topping them up. The fruit platters were nice, but small and they kept disappearing immediately. I guess I was just expecting the buffet I'd had at other Pepper's - like the one on the Mornington Peninsula - and was disappointed.

In total, I'd highly recommend this hotel and the spa. I just wouldn't wake up early to make the buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sraep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sraep25,
Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed the peace and seclusion of your room, as well as your time at The Mineral Spa.
I am sorry that your breakfast experience was not up to the standard you were expecting. It may interest you to know that since your stay we have adopted a fresher approach to breakfast, with a continental buffet including individual frittatas, poached fruits from our farm Birch Estate and a ‘make-your-own’ muesli bar, topped off by an a la carte selection including ‘as you please’ eggs & bacon and French toast.
We would be delighted to welcome you back and get your thoughts on this new format!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hepburn Springs
2.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
402 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#4 of 5 in Daylesford
130 reviews
16.4 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dudley
The Dudley
#1 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel

Property: Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Address: 124 Main Rd, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Victoria's picturesque Daylesford and Macedon Ranges, this grand 1930's guest house has been transformed into one of regional Victoria's finest heritage country hotels; with stylish lounges, cocktail bar, leafy gardens and stunning courtyards. Situated in Hepburn Springs, just three minutes from Daylesford, 60 minutes from Melbourne airport and 75 minutes from Melbourne CBD, Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel wraps you in comfortable elegance with 40 stylish rooms to choose from; including a self contained 1864 Villa Parma with four exquisite bedrooms, roomy self-contained villas, heritage hotel rooms and cosy garden rooms, with interiors created by designer Stuart Rattle. All rooms have an ensuite bathroom, individual climate control, tea/coffee making facilities, minibar, refrigerators, TV, DVD, iron and ironing board, hairdryer & direct dial STD/ISD telephones. After a long day of exploring, sink into the deep club chairs and sofas around a roaring fire at The Argus Bar & Lounge, one-part private club, and two-part return of old world glamour. The soul of this relaxed haven lies in tradition and warmth, with surroundings that reflect this quiet, intimate and inviting atmosphere. One of the great pleasures of staying here is the multi award-winning Mineral Spa, tucked in the grounds of the hotel. Mineral Spa is one of the largest and most acclaimed rural day spas in Australia; winners of Australasian Spa Association Best Hotel and Best Day Spa, as well as the Victorian Tourism Award winners for Health and Wellness (Hall of Fame) and the Spa Life magazine reader's choice for Best Destination Spa. Specifically designed as a sanctuary of healing and relaxation, therapists each have their own area of expertise. They are selected for their healing hands and calming spirits, ensuring that every guest experiences a beautiful and personal spa experience; with individual consultations and exclusive specialist treatments. As part of its philosophy for integrating healing through earth's natural elements, Mineral Spa has harnessed the power of mineral water, unlike any other spa in Australia. The spa's key feature of healing through water is The Retreat; a mineral water therapy zone following in the healing traditions of the famous mineral spas throughout Europe. Tucked in a private and peaceful indoor/outdoor corner of the spa, The Retreat comprises two 100% mineral water spas, a cold plunge pool, steam room, infra-red detox box and the only basalt stone sauna in the Southern Hemisphere. During the winter months, The Retreat turns into a steamy twilight haven with Night Bathing every Friday evening. Water continues as a healing theme that runs throughout the entire spa, with highlights such as the 180 power jet massaging Hydro baths and Australasia's only Soft Pack Floatation Beds. Signature treatments are by the prestigious spa specialist, Pevonia Botanica. The Spa Menu is extensive and includes specialist healing treatments such as pregnancy and oncology massages. In keeping with the sense of tranquility, Mineral Spa is architecturally designed to reflect the environment and landscape, creating an ambience of healing; suffused with natural light shimmering across white stone walls, enhanced by the soothing sound of flowing water, and breathtaking views into the countryside. Maintenance Notice: The Argus Dining Room will be closed for renovations from Monday 13th April until Thursday 30th April 2015. The Argus Bar & Lounge will be open during this time for lunch & dinner. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat Hotel Hepburn Springs
Peppers Springs Retreat Hotel
Peppers Springs Retreat Hepburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing