We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Budget Getaway”
Review of Tangenong Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tangenong Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Aurora cottage while attending the Longest Lunch in the Hepburn Springs Reserve. For our needs it was close to ideal, inexpensive, quiet and secluded. Aurora is the smallest (and cheapest) of the 3 cottages on the block. They are located quite close together and while we were not disturbed on our visit, if you were unfortunate enough to encounter a raucous couple in one of the other cottages it could be an issue. There is a carport at the end of a reasonably narrow driveway so you need to take care reversing as there is a brick wall on one side.

I would describe Aurora as comfortable rather than luxurious, small kitchen with microwave, fridge, small table with 2 chairs sofa and tv. Bathroom and shower were adequate but could probably do with an update. We found the bed a bit on the hard side but we normally sleep on a water bed so rarely find holiday accommodation beds to our liking. There is a small outside deck with a table and 2 chairs which overlooks the bush and it is very pleasant to sit there in the sun and relax to the sounds of parrots squawking.

We booked Aurora as it is only 10 mins walk down to the Hepburn Springs Bathhouse and Hepburn Springs Reserve as we didn't want to be anywhere near a car after all the wine flowing at the lunch. No not luxury accommodation but considering the inexpensive costs we thought very good value. Will certainly stay again ...

Room Tip: Aurora is cheapest but the other 2 cottages are larger and have spa baths I believe.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank HawkerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Tangenong Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 33 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Tarilta Cottage. A very private location with beautiful bush views all around. Lovely king size bed. Great new bathroom with large corner spa and overhead shower very modern looking with an amazing view. Warm log heater with plenty of wood available. Functional kitchen with dining table for 4. Only 2 mins from the Bathhouse and Spa. Very clean.
Would recommend to couples wanting a quiet relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Tarilta cottage.
We enjoyed ourselves, liked how it was secluded and a private outlook over the bush.
We found the bed to not be very comfortable at all.
Didn't like that the wire door had a provision cut out of it to enable easy opening/closing but also meant all sorts of flying insects could get inside.
The sugar provided was all in hard clumps, obviously quite old - bring your own.
Shower head over the large spa was too low.
A suggestion would be to have better seating out on the deck as the seats provided meant you couldn't really sit out there, relax and read a book.
Also, be careful of all the caterpillars, they bite!
Other than these things, we did have an enjoyable and relaxing break away. The area is lovely and peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Locarno cottage, It was comfortable, clean and private. A small log fire in the lounge area with wood supplied and also a heater on the wall. HUGE bathroom with spa and seperate shower, Dining table for 2, small balcony and all tastefully decorated. Would recommend to anyone to stay as it is a lovely little cottage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank nosleep_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Aurora cottage over the Labour Day weekend, which worked out well for our needs.

Although the smallest of the three options at the property, it was big enough for us, and the heating and cooling options were well thought out. That said, better insulation would probably minimise the need for using either – we needed the heater in early March.

The shower was quite compact, but an unfortunate slope on the floor meant a puddle of chilly water when first entering the cabinet! Thankfully the water flow was good and warm, so this was soon forgotten.

The kitchen was well planned – particularly the neat dining table and chairs, although it was a shame that the oven wasn’t working, as we had croissants to warm one morning.

It struck me that this wasn’t a short-term breakdown, rather an acceptance that it didn’t work and didn’t warrant replacing. I realise that not every short-stay visitor needs to prepare a roast dinner, but it’s not a good look to have non-functioning appliances in a property.

The property location is good, just a 5-10 minute walk into Hepburn Springs via the Bathhouse. However, note that this path is extremely dark at night, so you’ll need good vision to walk home this way!

We enjoyed our stay in Hepburn Springs and would consider Tangenong Cottages for a future stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My partner and i stayed in the smallest cottage, the Aurora, it was perfect for us. Although it was small we did not need any bigger. It was clean, was very nice inside and out and created that country feel. Would definatly recommend and will be stayin there again :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed in Tarilita Cottage and felt it was very overpriced for what was provided. There were many downsides, including very sticky floors (hence the low mark for cleanliness); absolute minimum supplies provided, especially given the high price; and poor service - no personal touch or welcome note, just many signs telling you to clean up after yourselves, or else! Pluses were the lovely outlook over the timbered surrounds and the corner spa. The bed was large and looked nice but wasn't very comfortable, and overall the cottage provided accommodation only a cut above a cabin in a caravan park, at about 3 times the price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdeleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hepburn Springs
0.3 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
270 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#4 of 5 in Daylesford
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dudley
The Dudley
#1 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangenong Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangenong Cottages

Address: 9 Forest Ave, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Price Range: $98 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangenong Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tangenong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing