We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best bruschetta”
Review of Rubens at Hepburn

Rubens at Hepburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best bruschetta”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The best bruschetta I have ever had is at Rubens - quality local ingredients made with simple flair, nothing too fancy, letting the freshness speak for itself. Plenty of restaurants which consider themselves more distinguished have charged more for more mediocre fare.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cv b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    160
    43
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bannockburn, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to Reubens this evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Salmon steak was brilliant as was the sticky date pudding. The friendly staff topped off the evening. Could not speak highly enough of Reubens @ Hepburn.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonC765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Owners are very tight! Australian customer service, they want your business on their terms!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sat down for coffee and cake, however none of the cakes appealed to us. When we only ordered coffee, we we're told "we're not really allowed to do that, it's meals only" with several tables being empty. The greed and arrogance displayed in this policy is appalling, we'll never go back and we're locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent! The food was great and not overpriced. We went on a Sat night without a reservation so had to wait for a table. We went to the pub across the road for a drink and they phoned us when our table was ready - excellent customer service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hepburn Springs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Favourite”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We live locally and just love Rubens. We have their take-away pizza quite regularily and love to go there for dinner. Last week we took friends and all had beuatiful meals as usual (love the Dijon Chicken and Berry Pav!!) Well done Greg!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubens at Hepburn also viewed

 

Been to Rubens at Hepburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing