We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Daylesford

“Family meal”

Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford
Ranked #8 of 61 Restaurants in Daylesford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Australian, Guatemalan, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Affordable luxe Art Suites and delicious dinning in our gastro-pub restaurant. Currently serving our Autumn menu showcasing local produce by our Head Chef, Chris Timmins and his team. Huge wine list - 16 Beers and Ciders on tap. Experience our Shiraz-Refosco wine using grapes from our very own Daylesford Vineyard. Bar & Beer Garden open all day from 12noon to late 7 days a week. Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford, offers a perfect blend of country charm combined with a sophisticated menu and professional service. Our clientele is a great mix of locals and visitors alike. While it is a more relaxed style of service with people coming to the bar to order food & drinks, the menu itself is not your typical pub menu. The pub also has the tradition of a Friday night meat raffle where we raise money for local charities. Our kitchen is open 7 days a week for lunch from 12-3pm and dinner from 5:30-9pm. Vegan, Gluten Free & Vegetarian meal options available.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Our kids loved sitting in the corner booth on piles of pillows. Everyone enjoyed the sweet potato fries.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 749mkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch_and_Steve, Owner at Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

Dear 749mkm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed one of our 'cosy corners' at the Farmers, and enjoyed your fries (we love them too!).

We can't wait to welcome you back next time, and hope to earn a 5-star review.

Kind regards,

Mitch & The Farmers Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

We had to wait a few minutes for a table (not an issue, this place is very popular!). When shown to our table it was explained the menus are on the wall and just order at the bar (not only do you not pay you don't need to tell them where you're sitting - good trust system!).

Ordered the pan roasted barramundi and goats cheese stuffed chicken - both absolutely amazing (hats off to the chef). We ordered a glass of wine when we ordered the food, but quickly ran out and ordered a bottle for the table. Both wines were local and delicious.

There wasn't room for dessert, but we did really enjoy what we had. Would recommend this place, not only for the food, but the service too.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank JanWard85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch_and_Steve, Owner at Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

Dear JanWard85,

Thank you so much for this great review!
All our FOH staff read these and will be absolutely chuffed to hear of how happy you were with your experience.

We will definitely pass you comments on to our head chef and his team, who will be so pleased to hear you enjoyed your dishes. They have recently launched the new Summer Menu, meaning that next time you visit us you will have plenty of fresh, new dishes to try.

Again, thank you for the review
We hope to see you back soon (maybe to try some of our house-made delicious desserts!)

Take Care,

Mitch & The Farmers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019 via mobile

Solid country gastropub with great ales. The menu is extensive with some great choices, recommend the pie of the day and the porterhouses steak. Portions are very generous. Their own ale on tap is excellent especially the dark ale but there is a wide selection of other beers on tap. Good friendly service and reasonable prices.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank AnthonyPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch_and_Steve, Owner at Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

Dear AnthonyPJ,

Thank you so much for leaving this great review.
It seems like you had a fantastic experience at the Farmers and enjoyed your meals & beverages- that's the kind of feedback we love to hear!

You may be interested to know that we now offer luxe motel-style accomodation right across the road from our gastro-pub. After you've enjoyed a meal from our local produce driven, seasonally changing menu; you can pop across to the road to your suite and not have to worry about who the designated driver will be!

Thank you again, and see you next time!

Mitch & The Farmers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019 via mobile

Recommend to get there early or make a booking it did get busy but the food was great staff were helpful good selection of food catering for all tastes can dine in or
In the beer garden

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank petercJ1819EX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch_and_Steve, Owner at Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

Dear petercJ1819EX,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this 5-star review!
We are so glad to hear you had a great experience at the Farmers and enjoyed dining in our beer garden.

Thank you again and take care,

Mitch & The Farmers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2019 via mobile

Nice atmosphere in the dining area. Pleasant, helpful staff and an extensive menu. We chose the pork belly and the salmon dishes. Both were absolutely full of flavour and delicious. The accompanying veg and sides were different for each dish - rather than taking the easy option of one type of seasonal veg for all. Great place to eat.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Jackman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch_and_Steve, Owner at Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

Dear Jackman78,

Thank you so much for this great review- we will definitely make sure we pass your kind words on to our head chef and his team! We are so glad you got a chance to experience the Farmers, and loved the atmosphere.

We hope you had a great stay in Daylesford overall, and can't wait to welcome you back next time.

Kind regards,

Mitch & The Farmers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Daylesford, Victoria
Daylesford, Victoria
 

Been to Farmers Arms Hotel Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing