We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambience”
Review of Lake House

Lake House
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Daylesford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $81
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the kitchens, a talented young team under the guidance of Owner and Executive Chef Alla Wolf- Tasker works from the ground up producing cutting edge, modern Australian cuisine with an emphasis on seasonal and regional ingredients. The kitchen creates most items on the daily menu from the ground up – ranging from bread, charcuterie, preserves, smoked goods, chocolates and more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two things fail to impress me in life. The cult of the celebrity chef and those, in any industry, who get gongs for doing their day job. So the Lake House and its proprietor (had I heard of her, no disrespect intended) had no particular head start in my eyes.

I am pleased to report however that lunch today at the Lake House restaurant was indeed very good. The food was outstanding (we had the 4 course lunch with a lovely Margaret River Rose). It was not cheap (even with a domestic wine) but in relative terms good value given the setting (we did a lap of the lake after lunch) and the ambience of the restaurant itself.

My four star rating is only because the service was good but great. Our principle waiter was unduly distracted by some “foodies” in the corner table who clearly were part of the celebrity cult and wanted the waiter and the rest of the diners to be in no doubt. So much so the they they forgot to serve our petit fours until well after our tea and coffee and attempted to “bus” my wine glass before our bottle was empty. Not hanging offences but not what you expect for $400+.

Also a little disquieting that we were only one of four couples dining which leaves you wondering why?

Having said that, great food and that’s why you go to a restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank RicJClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There is not a better place to feel special, enjoy fabulous food, be immersed in a stunning environment, feel relaxed and all in all, have a wonderful stay than Lake House. We felt blessed to be there and can't wait for our next visit. Every moment of our stay was perfect and we can't recommend the experience enough. Thank you Lake House staff for all that you did to make it perfect.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oz2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Had a fabulous meal here - food was outstanding and a great selection of wines too. Stunning view of the lake below too with amazing flocks of cockatoos flying past all evening. Highly recommneded!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

The setting was gorgeous with the lake and birdsong, perfect to have a drink on the deck. A few hiccups, the Chardonnay we ordered wasn’t cold and wait staff didn’t manage this well - took some time to get a drink. Food was delicious and service good. Not really worth the expense.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank salcumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2019 via mobile

A trip to Daylesford and the Hepburn Springs would not be the same without a visit to The Lake House restaurant. Alla Wolf-Tasker is simply a culinary genius and our dining experience would be considered in my top 5 of exceptional dining experiences in the world.
The team are warm, friendly, engaging, professional and passionate about The Lake House brand and food philosophy.
The cuisine is truly spectacular, well considered and presented from the heart.
I cannot wait to return, stay at The Lake House hotel, dine here again and partake in a cooking class.
Thank you The Lake House team for your wonderful hospitality and an exceptional service experience I’ll be talking about.... forever!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Christiaan-Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake House also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Hepburn Springs, Victoria
 

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing