We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic getaway without breaking the budget”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daylesford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spa & Fire Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 23 Daylesford B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic getaway without breaking the budget”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

When we arrived for our first getaway as newlyweds we found the keys and welcoming letter in an envelope and entered this charming cottage.
Christine was very helpful over the phone and our room was all ready for us complete with chocolates and the pleasant aroma of candles
We took advantage of the relaxing spa on many occasions accompanied by the wood fire which provided a romantic setting for our honeymoon
Park your car and walk everywhere for coffee or a good feed or take a short drive to Hepburn Springs for some mineral water and a picnic
We will definately be back

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonandTanyaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

When asking around as to where in Victoria would be a good place to visit in order to relax, the general consensus was Daylesford. I looked on Trip Advisor for highly-rated accommodation, and I ended up staying at the Spa & Fire Guesthouse. I was not at all disappointed.

I had the largest of the rooms available toward the back. I stayed in late May and it was cold and rainy my entire stay. However, I didn't notice it much! My room was always warm and cozy. As I was traveling solo, I ended up staying in the room writing for most of my stay. There is something very comforting and inspiring about the Spa & Fire. And the spa in my room was heaven! (My only disappointment with this is that the spa takes quite a long time to fill up and doesn't get scalding hot like I prefer. This, however, didn't phase me much at all.)

Chris was an absolute delight to work with. While she usually has couples staying at the guesthouse, she was happy to fit me in solo and even let me have a very late check-out since my bus back to the cit wasn't leaving until 5PM. She was able to recommend a number of activities within walking distance, including (of course) an excellent day spa.

Needless to say, I loved my stay at the Spa & Fire. Next time I'm up in Daylesford, it will definitely be my accommodation of choice again!

Just one question: Can I move in?!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RantingJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Room type: Standard room, double spa in a dedicated bathroom down the hallway. TV, microwave, coffee and tea facilities, hairdryers. FIRE PLACE. Room heater with electric blankets. DVD player.

Location: Main road in Daylesford leading from the city. On the left just opposite the Coles Express service station. Five/ten minute walk to Vincent street (main street).

Short version: Nice, rustic and romantic. Each room has a fire place and if you've booked the deep spa, you won't be disappointed. The owner showed me the room. Close to the main strip and the Sunday market is about 10 minutes walk up the hill.

Long version: First of all, it's a "one man band" type scenario, so don't expect a concierge to come out and greet you. That said, the owner is charming and very helpful. Once you've picked up the keys, they'll pointed out all the good places to be.

The rooms are clean, neat and tidy before you get there. Essential oils already burning in the room. The spa bathroom is nice and clean.

Nicely priced, it's not bad for a couples getaway.

The only criticism that one of the remotes wasn't working, but for a romantic weekend away, that's a good thing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

A great little restored cottage, simple, very clean, plenty of ambience. Christine was so enthusiastic about Daylesford and the surrounding area, and that enthusiasm was catching. Loved the place for it's simplicity and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpanic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I stayed in the deluxe room and would reccomend this room to others. I loved the large spa with fireplace opposite. The air con kept the separate bedroom very warm and the room was tastefully decorated. With wooden furniture and some artwork it felt very warm. Christine was extremely pleasant & helpful when communicating on the phone & gave suggestions of what to do in walking distance, being aware that I was coming via public transport. Would come back. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluejasmine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I think the people running this place do a great job with the asset they have: a host received me in person, was attentive, answered my questions and gave me a map. The owners also did a great job in decorating the and furnishing the room. Plus it has a small garden.
However, I found the room a bit dark and since the only indoor common space we had access to (at least when I was there) was a small dinning room, I felt that there was not a place to just hang out and enjoy (unless I wanted to be in my room).
In addition, I felt that the price was high for what you get (it is a nice room but in a simple house, with no special views, parking or breakfast included). Maybe Daylesford is expensive, but as a tourist I found other B&B's in Australia that offered much more for similar prices.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller100Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Our stay at Spa Fire was very short however the small little things made the impression. The electric blanket was put on before our arrival, delicious treats placed on the bed, lit candles and the fire crackling in the background created the perfect romantic mood. The proprietor also made spa/massage bookings on our behalf with Endota Spa which was convenient - the spa/massage treatment was perfect and invigorating! All we had to do was turn up - it was all taken care of!
Location wise, it was right around the corner from the market, Mercato's, Cliffy's, and the township.
Overall a perfect weekend in Daylesford! Will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel12377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daylesford
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#4 of 5 in Daylesford
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#4 of 23 in Daylesford
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Daylesford Royal Hotel
Daylesford Royal Hotel
#2 of 23 in Daylesford
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa & Fire Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa & Fire Guesthouse

Property: Spa & Fire Guesthouse
Address: 60 Raglan St, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Daylesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Spa & Fire guesthouse located in central Daylesford; walk to Convent Gallery, Shops, Lake House, Cafes, Gardens, Day Spas etc. Every guest has use of a private spa and open fire. Perfect for romantic getaways, individuals, couples or groups. Deluxe: deep spa tub & large open fire in ensuite. Standard: regular spa bath in ensuite & open fire next to bed. Budget: corner spa bath in hall & open fire next to bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spa & Fire Guesthouse Daylesford, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing