We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was grat”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Daylesford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and dinner at the Lakehouse. The setting is gorgeous. The accommodation is luxurious enough without being daunting and the service is friendly and professional.

We had a dinner with family members and again, it was friendly, professional and most importantly, delicious.

Would recommend highly to anyone looking for a special place to stay in the country

    • Value
    • Service
Thank patriciaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHManager, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to post such an enthusiastic review. We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back in the future. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 424 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

What is it about beds at expensive hotels on Lakes. Hotel des iles Borromees, Lake Palace Udaipur, and now Lake Hotel Daylesford .... all very very expensive beds and none of them particularly comfortable. Thanks to Elsa at Daylesford, the mattress was turned and that made for a much kinder night 2. Overall though the accommodation is little better than a pleasant hotel room. Far too much aged wear and tear on timber furniture .... harsh tissues (honestly) ... inaccessible bathroom products if you are in the bath .... glass bottled mineral water (in this environmentally friendly world?) .... a tele that was hit and miss .... For the price it is reasonable to expect ipod docking stations for music, second teles in bathrooms, lit up makeup lights .... and it might be a small matter but with an artist in resident, perhaps include more art on the walls. We stayed in a suite with a lovely outlook but the term suite is an interesting piece of hyperbole. Gardens attractive but again for value, am really surprised that it can exist without swimming facilities. (It was lovely and hot during our stay and we would have loved a banana lounge doze)

Restaurant evening meals wonderful ... professional and charming. Food wonderful. Deserving of its star status.

Staff professional and for the most part warm and engaged. Experience both in the working world and as a traveller (I spent 52 nights in different beds in 2013!) makes me wonder if our adoption of the terms efficiency and productivity put at risk amiability, kindness and warmth. Elsa thankyou for your many kindnesses ...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallypsolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank-you for posting your review.
To begin with we're delighted to hear you enjoyed our restaurant.
In regards to the accommodation thank-you for your feedback . If you would like to discuss any of these suggestions further we would be delighted to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just had the one night to stay at Lake House, and wish we'd had longer. The room was well appointed, with its own outside space with chairs and table. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom excellent. Unfortunately no mobile phone signal (Vodafone) here though. there was also a residents' lounge with other facilities.
Breakfast was relaxed and tasty, with views from the restaurant over the lake.
A walk around the lake after breakfast was lovely and relaxing.
There is a spa as part of the hotel but we didn't sample that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to post a review. We're delighted you enjoyed your night away. It's a picturesque part of the world and a lovely lake walk is a popular way to spend the morning. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you back at Lake House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place is marketed as a luxury spa retreat and I guess that if you're wanting to centre your entire stay around the spa 'bit' then a satisfied guest you are sure to be. Anything beyond that is likely to disappoint. The rooms are very well appointed but have a typically corporate 'feel'. Regrettably the small terrace outside the room was encased by trees/shrubbery and therefore felt quite claustrophobic - certainly no great view ! The lake itself is pleasant but very much part of the local town - not exclusive. Oddly, there was nowhere really to 'hang out' outside. Service generally was OK ; a pleasant and efficient welcome from reception ; hit and miss in the dining room - some staff were personable and friendly, others functional and somewhat robotic. The dining room environment again was pleasant but lacked any real character. The food was good. Overall an expensive 'hotel' which doesn't quite know what it's core identity really is...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank-you for your feedback. It's all valuable for us to read.
You are right - we are located on Lake Daylesford which is an accessible leisure area. There are a myriad of walking trails around the lake that then extend into the Wombat State Forest beyond. It is not a private lake. We do however take the opportunities provided by our location and offer three levels of terraces which extend down to the lake shore from the restaurant. It's a lovely spot to enjoy a book or relax on the daybeds in the sunshine. If you return to Daylesford in the future please let us know. We'd love the opportunity to give you a bit more information on the property and we'll certainly aim to ensure all our guests are more aware of the history and facilities. We wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked 2 nights but ended up staying an extra to relax a little more......got 2 nights/brekky/gourmet dinner on a special deal.....the Saturday night 3 course meal was nothng less than spectacular....am still talking about it to friends.....
Breakfasts were the usual selection on offer - I had a lovely bircher muesli, some fresh fruit then tried 2 different hot selections.....eggs/bacon/tuki sausages which I wasn't a fan of.....fresh OJ hit the spot....the winner for the hot dish was the white beans, chorizo, onion/tomato with added avocado....absolutely divine.....and the barrista knew how to make a good long black coffee.

The room, whilst comfy was a little disappointing (over the back) and being woken by the rubbish trucks on a Monday morning from all the bangs/clangs was pretty annoying since a nights stay isn't cheap....just another negative was the sliding louvre door continuing to either jam or come off the tracks....the king bed (2 single kings together) - well one was pretty soft and the other very firm, but then it would be difficult to get 'that perfect mattress' to suit all....

Room Tip: ask for a room as far away as possible from the garbage pick up point if you stay on a Sunday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to post a review. We're delighted you enjoyed the restaurant experience and chose to extend your weekend away. Thank-you for your constrictive feedback - it's essential as we continue to seek opportunities to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a little room which was very cosy. Short stroll to the lovely lake. Tasty fresh breakfast (the jams are just superb) and service with a polite smile. The massage and facial was alright. I'd return for a cabin by the lake and breakfast by the window!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mizztravellettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank-you for your review. We're delighted to see that you got to experience not only the hotel and restaurant but also the spa. The property is always evolving - next time you might like to try our newly renovated Waterfront Rooms or even the Retreat for something truly special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We often spend time in four and five star hotels and resorts in beautiful places in Victoria. We have also been members of a prestigious food and wine society for many years so appreciate destinations that offer good food and wine. Lake House is a standout. On our recent visit I remarked to my husband: This place has personality. The dining room is a delight: armfuls of country flowers are in large vases; joyous paintings and sculptures are everywhere; windows and an entire wall of glass overlook Daylesford Lake and the surrounding trees; the dining room personnel are cosmopolitan and highly professional and promote a relaxed ambiance. The two hat award menu is definitely worth travelling for. We are one adventurous diner and one more conservative diner and both of us were delighted with our meals - on two consecutive evenings. The wine list is outstanding. Excellent wines are available by the glass. We chose an accomodation package that was middle of the range offered. Lake House has evolved over decades and again our accommodation had personality: a weatherboard exterior for a waterfront room overlooking the lake. Modern and comfortable inside. Cool and tranquil in the middle of a heatwave, the room provided an oasis. I sat on its balcony watching the geese, the swans and the water birds and relaxing into an Italian novel. Inside the room had its own coffee machine, free bottles of the famous local natural spring water, delicious home-made biscuits, a large comfortable bed, a sofa and armchair, a table and TV. There was a modern ensuite with walk-in shower. Lake House is not really set up for disabled guests as accommodation was built over the years on slopes, often with stairs. However, staff do all they can to help, including porterage and a golf buggy to easily accessible rooms. The wonderful reservation staff can talk you through what is available.

Room Tip: Choose accomodation that overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank-you for your detailed and wonderful review. We do love what we do and we're delighted your Lake House experience was so enjoyable. We are certainly blessed in Victoria and also Australia for wonderful restaurants and hotels and after 30 years in the business we're privileged to welcome enthusiastic travelers like yourselves. We hope to see you back at Lake House soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daylesford
0.4 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
497 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Dudley
The Dudley
#1 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
312 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#5 of 5 in Daylesford
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Address: 4 King St, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Daylesford
Price Range: $454 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake House sits on the shores of Lake Daylesford 80 minutes from Melbourne. 35 Rooms and Suites are either in a courtyard setting or overlooking the lake shore. The 2 Chef Hat restaurant offers modern Australian cuisine paying homage to the region's excellent seasonal produce and is matched with an award winning 10,000 bottle cellar. Guests may like to have a hit of tennis followed by tea and refreshments in the tennis pavilion, a glass of wine by the open fire in the Argyle Library Bar. Given the opportunity to explore the gardens guests will come upon the Kitchen Garden, a myriad of sculptures and artwork from many of the region's top artists, extensive outdoor terraces overlooking the lake shore and established country gardens with everything from koala loved stringy barks to lilac, Daphne, quince, plum and apple trees. The Salus Day Spa is an oasis of tranquility and offers guests an indulgent way to "take to the waters" with all manner of hydrotherapy on offer. Two tree house cabins overlook Lake Daylesford and house hot mineral water tubs - bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Daylesford
Lake Hotel Daylesford
Daylesford Lakehouse
Lake House Daylesford, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing