We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and beautiful pastry”

Pastry King Bakery and Cafe
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Friendly service and beautiful pastry”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had shepherd pie and mushroom pies. They were very yummy. There are so many mouth watering desserts on the window display. The lady behind counter offered us a free pie as we were given a wrong flavor pie:) it made my day so special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The best pastry!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We both had bacon, egg and cheese pies - I never did find the egg or bacon but it was delicious and probably the best crispy pastry I've ever had on a pie. I'm going back later for the Austrian apple custard slice it looked delicious. An older lady served us and was really charming but the lady owner definitely wasn't coping with the rush and had attitude - perhaps she should leave her staff to serve.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belgian_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Bakery”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you're looking for an old-fashioned sandwich or a good old meat pie, then this is the bakery for you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballan
2 reviews
“wont be back”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

went in on a weekend the food and service was really good, but i noticed one or two of the girls were upset which i belive whih may of been the manager was yelling at the staff and carrying on like a 2 year old kid throwing some stuff into the sink and the way she was speaking to the staff which wasnt really nice and seeing the result of that i wont be back as a paying customer, and hearing other people saying things about that person.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annabelleBallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Delightful and tasty treats. We did take away and went back for more the following day where we tried the coffee.Good coffee is an art and they have it right! The french vanilla creams were a favourite!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JG3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastry King Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 
Daylesford, Victoria
Daylesford, Victoria
 

Been to Pastry King Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing