We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great old place to eat and stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Daylesford Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Daylesford B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a great old place to eat and stay!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Omg!! How nice is this old pub! In and out very clean, the staff soooooo nice! I didn't won't to leave! I had a nice clean room and ate the Chicken parmigiana that was sooo good! (what the hell is the other comment about!) you can see the marster chef at work and looks like a new renovated kitchen too.... I will rebook there for our next long weekend getaway!
Oh by the way you must know that this is a local and very old pub so your not staying at the Ritz!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goaroundcomearound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    52
    15
    14
    6
See reviews for
15
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Reviews need to be in perspective. This is a good quality australian pub that offers well presented and renovated rooms. We stayed in room 9 which was not a problem, however there were some patrons sitting outside on the tables having some drinks up to about 9pm, no problem. The accommodation is up stairs and there is no lift, this is a heritage building in a country town that needs to be remembered.

The room is very large, large enough to open your bags completely and lie on the couch. I particularly enjoyed sitting on the massive deck and watching the cars and people moving by below.

The Hotel has limited private parking, however there is plenty of parking at teh Coles supermarket for free across the road if needed. Very central to all shops. Daylesford is a small town and in my opinion food is expensive where ever you go and is nothing to rave about. In saying this we didn't eat at this hotel. however the manager is very obliging and friendly, able to provide lots of suggestions on local attractions.

Remember to be very careful if you do go swimming in the lake. There have been a lot of deaths as it is very deep and occasional sends out very cold currents. Dip your feet where the locals do by the old boathouse (which recently burnt down) unfortunately.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with steps this is not a hotel for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The fittings generally in the rooms are art deco inspired and quite nice, however we stayed in two different rooms and both had either broken fittings or fittings under repair. Bed quality great if you love hard beds, which we do. RIght on the major roundabout however not noisy at all. Didn't eat here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExoticLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked lunch for new years day and went with family.
kids lunches come out which was ok and had to wait 2 hours for 3 x steaks and fish and chips to
come out and guess what they were cold!! What a disgrace the way that kitchen is run.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Chicken parmigiana , dry over cooked sauce tasteless. Pizza base just crap, toppings oily
Could not recommend to anyone, overpriced or some if the worst service I have ever had .... Staff not interested in the customer. The beaks took 40+ minutes to cone out, with only a handful of dinning customers I find this to be unacceptable. We will not be eating here again, waste of time and money !!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bigmickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Paid 35 bucks for a 400g perterhouse.(MEDIUM RARE!) Arrived beyond well done. Needed an axe to cut it. Was returned. Not helpful only got out money back upon demand. Shiphouse

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the Royal as part of a scoopon deal. The room was large and nicely furbished. The carpet however was very badly stained which was not so obvious in the evening when we arrived. The next morning the full damage could be seen and we really did not feel like walking on it! We would have asked for another room if it had been more obvious initially. Traffic noise started up early in the morning and the so called 'scrumptious' breakfast of our scoopon deal was very basic. The whole experience was disappointing. Next time I will do more research first before using a scoopon.

Room Tip: You can ask to be away from the main road but this really wasn't much help as the traffic was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daylesford
0.2 mi away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#4 of 5 in Daylesford
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daylesford Central Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daylesford Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daylesford Royal Hotel

Property: Daylesford Royal Hotel
Address: 27 Vincent St, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Daylesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Daylesford Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daylesford Royal Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing