We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever you do, don't stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whatever you do, don't stay here.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I cannot emphasise how bad our experience was. We arrived at 5pm having booked for four nights and paid in advance for two nights. We were informed that our room had been double booked and we would be put up in a different room for the night. We entered that room, tired and weary, and it was filthy, the beds unmade, the bind overflowing and a powerful stench of rotten food. It was fiendishly hot and the air conditioning wasn't on. Even when turned on it didnt' work. We were told by a confused staff member to 'go for a walk' with our two young tired children and return in half an hour and it would be sorted. 2.5 hours later, close to 8pm the room was ready, albeit no proper air conditioning. The next morning we left our luggage by the door so the staff would, as promised, move it into the room we had in fact booked and paid for. We returned at 3pm to discover our room was unserviced, the luggage still by the door and no staff anywhere. We rang the number over and over and spoke to a confused girl who promised to call us back. When 'Michelle' called she said our room had been double booked again,she didn't know why the other room wasn't serviced but not to worry - we could have a dip in a spa if we wanted. My irate husband advised we wished to leave and it was agreed that they would refund us the second night as well as cover the fact we had a lesser room than the one we paid for. Three weeks later and no refund, no apology, no reply to any message. I should add, we drove to the Langham Hotel in Melbourne and at short notice, they gave us a wonderful family room with river views, a bottle of champagne on arrival, exceptional service at the same price as we were charged at this accomodation. We travelled from Perth right around Australia and this was the worst experience out of every place we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lberylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    15
    8
    22
See reviews for
13
72
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We only stayed overnight at The Albert, but it was a terrible experience. There was no one at reception at any point - a quick phone call to the owners and we were told no one could come to check us in as they were "building beds". I requested an iron and ironing board - was told they deliver one - still waiting... And check out was to drop your key on the reception desk - hardly security conscious when they have your credit card details for damage/theft.
The room was also over-priced - $170 per night - the door scraped the bed as you walk in and the "wardrobe" was a gentle breeze away from falling apart.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daylesford hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Very cosy, quiet and clean. Service was great. Rooms were nice, character of the building was awesome. Good location, very private and friendly. Rates were very good. Great amenities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at there on Saturday night as we had a wedding in Daylesford. There was 6 of us (inlcuding 2 couples) and we asked a number of times when we booked that there was at least 2 separate rooms, and two queen beds. We expected something decent for $600 a night.

We get there and all 7 beds (they put in an extra one for some reason) were in the one room (only a 1 room apartment)! We are all work colleagues and it was completely inappropriate for us all to be staying in the one room. One of the couples organised to stay someone else but still paid $200 for nothing, and for $100 each a night ($600 for one night with only one room!!!!) we were extremely let down.

Also, there was absolutely no one around when we arrived and had to call a number of times to organise to get the key.

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy255346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at the Albert a few weeks ago in an attempt to just get away from the busy Melbourne lifestyle. Probably should have checked the reviews on trip advisor first because I was sorely disappointed. I probably wouldn't have been so upset if the room rate was half the price that it was, but for 110$ per night, I would expect a higher level of service and quality of facilities.

My first impression of the Albert was poor. No one was at reception at check in, and since my phone had no reception I had no hope of contacting the numbers listed on the sign. I understand that for a small facility constant attendance at reception is difficult, but at any one time when I was there I never saw anyone at the desk. Luckily someone showed up within about ten minutes to take my credit card and drivers license and handed me a room key.

The rooms are downstairs, down a dark corridor. In all honesty, for a solo traveller it was rather creepy, and felt kind of dungeon-like. My room was one with an adjacent bathroom, which was fine, except that at night walking in and out of doors down the dark corridor was creepy as. Also, the walls were paper-thin. The only other travellers I saw there stayed next door to me and I could literally hear every word they said, and I'm sure they could hear everything I did as well. Other than that, I saw no one else in any other area of the hotel, which only added to its creepy nature.

The room itself was tiny, it only just fit the bed and had a small, wardrobe in the corner. The TV was good, although I didn't really use it, and the bed was at least comfortable. However the light fittings were coming out of the roof with wires everywhere, and the window panes were cracked. There was also insufficient fly-wire on the window, so I couldn't open the window without flies coming in. This wouldn't have been a problem if I didn't have to open the window, except at night the heaters seem to automatically get about 10 degrees hotter, with no control to turn them down. It was literally sweltering in there, and it wasn't even a hot night. I just don't understand how an establishment could set the thermostat up that high and not give the guests a control or at least some ability to turn it down! There also was no air-conditioning.

I booked through wotif, and on the website it stated the hotel had wi-fi access (of which there was none, unless my iPhone was lying to me - which it has never done before), and sauna/spa facilities as well as a day spa. There was definitely a day spa but not a sauna or spa in sight, perhaps they were next door at the more modern suites, but I think it's a little misleading to advertise these as part of the whole hotel when only part of it can utilise it. The lack of wi-fi was especially disappointing.

Overall, I was so disappointed with the place that I checked out two days early. In my opinion, this establishment is ridiculously overpriced for what it is. Upon check out I called the two numbers for assistance on my friends phone only to have both go unanswered.

Additionally, the breakfast facilities cannot be called continental, all that was offered was half a loaf of bread for all guests, tea/coffee sachets and one cereal option (all bran). It really was an unwelcoming place and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Seriously, pay an extra few dollars and find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdavey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Was an all round relaxing and enjoyful stay, Thanks to Rebecca and her friendly staff were on hand to greet our group of 10 friends all mothers from the parents and friends committee of our childrens primary school. As we entered the Heritage listed hotel, I was made to feel a comfort of old history with the luxury of new lasting memories, the staff on hand were quick to resolve any questions or queries the many of us had all in a row. Was great to be treated with that extra personal service often not found in commercialised hotel establishments. The only downfall of this property are the negative reviews that may or may not have happened, I found trip advisor and found THE ALBERT nothing like the negative reviews, i read before I made our booking. Thanks to the friendly staff at the front desk we were able to add an extra 4 day spa treatments to coincide with the 5 treatments already reserved upon making reservations for us ladies, at no extra cost for last minute treatments we were made to feel relaxed and comfortable and not made to feel awkward nor made to feel that we were a burden by asking for extra day spa treatments on the spot. Definately will revisit Daylesford just to stay at The Albert, might even take the hubby next time. Thank you once again Rebecca and the staff, also the many therapists that were on call and were part of what made mine and my friends an experience to remember.

Room Tip: Great choice for a large group booking as we were able to have the rooms adjoining to one another, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved it from start to finish we were welcomed by not only Rebecca though others, so I can't see what others say as it was really good.
We had a really nice room at the albert very cosy with such a good real, from the little extra bits and pieces are nice not to have to pay. The spa is wonderful I had such a wonderful massage and wife had supberb facial she says, not too hot or cold not over done with frills though nicely presented, and the whole time we were their all we sore was Rebecca running around working, which pays as I read the guests comments on site and their was nothing but very nice things to say, with nearly all saying to return, when we saw some of the things being said we thought to also share our experience as I know myself when i'm happy I feel content and don't feel the need to have to share, though upset, well tell the world!
Well for the price, location, service it was plenty more than expected and usually get so we definently reccommend it and would go back any time.
A hiden treasure.

Room Tip: Must also Do the DAY SPA!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tremendousplastering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daylesford
0.1 mi away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#4 of 5 in Daylesford
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daylesford Royal Hotel
Daylesford Royal Hotel
#2 of 23 in Daylesford
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites

Property: Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites
Address: 12 Camp St, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Daylesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albert Guest House and Mills Spa Suites are centrally located in the heart of Daylesford. The Albert Guest House offers heritage style rooms, a comfortable period style lounge area to relax in and a dining room with continental breakfast provisions. Many of the rooms have en-suites and a couple of the rooms have a private victorian style bathroom with claw foot bath. The Mills Spa Suites/Apartments offer modern warehouse style self - contained accommodation with lounge/kitchenette and dining area, and many featuring a gas log fire, king bed and jetted spa bath. Some of the apartments have two bedrooms or an open plan area that sleeps up to six/ and two of the apartments can be adjoining to suit groups or families. All the apartments are stylishly furnished with air conditioning and ceiling fans. The boutique Albert Day Spa is located within the Albert Guest House and our professional therapists offer a range of personalised beauty/massage treatments to ensure you leave feeling relaxed and revived. We are walking distance to great cafes, shopping, restaurants and wine bars, the convent gallery, Daylesford lake and wombat botanical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites Daylesford, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing