We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solar Springs Health Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bundanoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solar Springs Health Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I went to Solar Springs with 6 girlfriends for a 3 day break. I have been several years ago and found it really enjoyable. Not this time however, If you have ever been there you will know that the accommodation is average but very clean, the surroundings are lovely and the treatments in the spa are usually good. For the money you pay you put up with an average room because the food in the past has been so lovely, but this time it was terrible. When I say terrible I mean terrible. I'm sure that they ordered it in and was reheated several times!! One of my friends even had a small caterpillar on her plate. On the first night I told them I didn't eat fish and I was presented with dried up round pieces of pork on top of tasteless vegetables. I wouldn't have served it to my dog! Things just got worse, there was no apology for the caterpillar and we were told that the chef had left and gone to the club to work. I don't usually complain but this was really annoying for $680 dollars for an average room and terrible food!!

Room Tip: Rooms with ensuite are good, but no electric blankets and it can be quite cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank theresa2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    27
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
10
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

If you imagine the word Retreat means quiet, peaceful or contemplative, then beware: Solar Springs might be a disappointment. Even the "quiet room" is a thoroughfare and a place for chatting (also a TV can be heard blaring through the walls) and the dining room is unbelievably noisy with no possibility of a quiet, solitary meal. On the other hand, the treatments are excellent, especially the Lithos and the Cocoon Wraps, and some of the exercise classes are really good. And having the national park a 15 minute stroll away is glorious - though getting back up that hill is a bit of a challenge :).
To be honest, the most disappointing part of my New Year's Eve week long indulgence was that there wasn't actually enough food to go round on the "big" night and most days I felt faint from the lack of protein. The quality varied tremendously too - some days quite nice, others horribly bland and reminiscent of the1960's. Very surprised at the absence of nuts, brown rice and similar healthy goodies too. As for the coffee - at breakfast it tastes burnt and the rest of the day its (yuk) instant... but there are a couple of lovely cafes in the little town for a good latte fix.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tassieroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I am a Solar Springs return guest of many, many years. Sue, Eddie, the new chef and all the staff, provided a terrific New Year dinner featuring fresh seafood and a range of fantastic dishes, topped off with champagne! Guests were free to enjoy the evening, surrounded by the natural beauty of the Morton National Park. The US guests were treated to a display by kangaroos bounding on the green grass overlooking the dining room. It was hard to decide whether to indulge in the sparkling pool and spa (with the best view anywhere in the world), sip champagne on the deck, have one of the many beauty treatments on offer or do the evening walk. The great thing about Solar Springs is you can do as little or as much as you want- there are activities for everyone. Solar Springs is my companion in keeping fit and well enough to enjoy life- with the help of SS I have lost and kept of more than 10kgs. A great way to see in NY, but then again any time of year is fabulous- do the best thing for yourself in 2012- Book now!

Room Tip: I love the cottage or rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StudioQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Solar Springs is fantastic. I went for a long weekend break alone and had a great time. The location is very quiet and peaceful and it is perfect for a relaxing retreat.
Many activities available and you can do as much as you like or nothing at all. A variety of rooms to chill out and relax...tv room, quiet room or a big lounge area. Huge variety of teas to drink, open fire.
The beds and rooms are comfy and the food is spectactular- a huge variety, really well cooked, healthy and delicious. The staff are lovely and the facilities are great.
I went on the glow worm walk which was fun and the treatments are great, I highly recommend getting a massage or facial done!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tiree1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

I went with my Ma for the first time in years and loved every second. Yes it can be a little like boarding school with the schedule and eating what you're given but I still love it. Did walks, yoga, fitball, meditation and hadlots of treatements all of which were lovely. And Grant (who does the fitness classes) is fairly sexy to boot!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merrin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

Have just come back from a short stay at Solar Springs.
The rooms are very basic( I had a twin share room with ensuite) but I knew that before I left.
The daily program is very good with a selection of activities available throughout the day.
The lunches were very good, the dinners OK. I had told them I was vegetarian when I booked and they said it would not be a problem and they would tell the chef. Wednesday night the chef wasn't aware but whipped up a lovely tofu meal and was very nice about it. Thursday night the chef was different and quite frankly rude when I asked about the vegetarian option he said he didn't know about it and wasn't I happy with the turkey! Finally he begrudgingly went into the kitchen and gave me a large plate of zucchini with potatoes, pretty disappointing but this was really the only bad experience I had.
I had a facial and aromatherapy massage and both were excellent.
Its a great place to get away for a couple of days or a week but if you are looking for a luxurious spa type resort you are heading to the wrong place, its a health retreat surrounded by beautiful trees and gardens with a lovely outlook to Morton National Park.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovelordhoweisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

I have stayed at Solar Springs on 4 occasions, starting in 1999. I now go back every December for a mini-break. Needless to say, I love the place, and I am not alone, judging from the number of repeat visitors. While there are guys and couples, it has been predominately a women's hangout. It is billed as a health resort, and most people do take advantage of the range of beauty treatments available at extra cost. However, there are plenty of activities included in the basic cost (rooms are cheaper if you don't insist on a private bathroom), including the gym, pool and spa, walks in the beautiful Morton National Park, tennis, archery, and informational talks in the evening. Three special features are the house itself, the magnificant grounds, and the outstanding meals. The dining room and the pool have breathtaking views over the national park. Tea and coffee are available in the lounge all day. It's the sort of place where you can do nothing or everything. You can easily spend a few days and never leave the grounds, or walk down the road and explore Bundanoon. I usually stay for 3 nights and never want to leave.

  • Liked — Lovely historic building and beatiful grounds, Bundanoon village, fabulous food, options for relaxation or activities.
  • Disliked — Extra health and beauty treatments are expensive and not as up to date as they might be.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dacquiri24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundanoon
6.4 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
14.6 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
13.0 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bundanoon Hotel
Bundanoon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bundanoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
14.3 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
13.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Springs Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Springs Health Retreat

Property: Solar Springs Health Retreat
Address: 96 Osborn Ave | PO Box 149, Bundanoon, New South Wales 2578, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bundanoon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Morton National Park in the tranquil township of Bundanoon you will find the perfect retreat from the rigours of modern life. Be pampered by our caring bodycare therapists, be motivated by our energetic fitness consultants, be advised by our excellent naturopaths and nutritionists. The choice is yours. Do as much or as little as you like… and the food is sensational. Solar Springs Health Retreat - seriously healthy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solar Springs Health Retreat Hotel Bundanoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing