We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merci Beaucoup”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bundanoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morvern Valley Guesthouses
Ranked #2 of 4 Bundanoon B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thank you to Jason and Julie for providing a lovely experience. We recently returned to Morvern Valley with our kids for four nights. We have holidayed here before and chose the Original Homestead cottage with its sense of history. With a new addition to our family we were very pleased to find port-a-cots and high chairs!!! Our eldest, now six, collected eggs and he talks non-stop about the farm.
The cottage has everything our family could ever need, even picnic baskets and washing machine. We had forgotten linen for the cot, but nothing was trouble for Jason who brought us a set immediately with a smile. Friday night we cooked up a wonderful dinner – the original kitchen has everything you need and more!!! After chopping wood the fire roared to life, we played board games and listened to some CDS from the huge selection.
I recommend to all to visit the Bundanoon Pub for dinner with its great Scottish feel about the place, great carvery, and it is family welcoming, even with pram!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed last week in the historic farmstead with my boys. It was pleasant to walk into a house which smelt fresh and clean, not musty as some older accommodations tend to get after being closed up for a while. The fire was just magical. We all enjoyed making a teepee shape with faggots and seeing it roar to life. We made smalls, chocolate biscuits with melted marshmallow in between, something I hadn't done since my childhood in Wolverhampton. There was a chestnut tree to make conkers.

My family and I enjoyed our stay. I'am a very cautious buyer and after doing my extensive research I was very happy with the service and hospitality we received the host were very welcoming and accommodating. I'll be sure to share the word around to all my extended family and business networks. I have decided to book next year for another EOFY sabbatical. Jason made sure we were happy when there was a short blackout bringing us lanterns and was friendly and caring. Recommended for all who want an adventure holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in the Original Homestead for 4 nights and loved every minute of it! Our 4 year old daughter cried for 20 minutes on the way home because she didn't want to leave 'our farm' and our 2 year old daughter is still recounting our holiday to anyone that will listen!! To spend time on a small farm and have the freedom to wander amongst and feed the animals as you please, suited us perfectly!!
The Original Homestead is beautifully presented keeping its history! We loved all the special touches like photographs and history books! Although we must admit, our favourite feature was definitely the open log fire which kept the place toasty enough to not realise it was only 1 degree outside some mornings!
We think Julie and Jason have done an excellent job in helping you have a hassle free stay by leaving a number of hints and tips around the place to ensure you have a comfortable stay!!
We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorvernValley, Owner at Morvern Valley Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

It was fantastic to read your comment I'm glad you enjoyed your stay on a particularly cold week - winter certainly started with a blast of cold air from the Snow!!!
Little Toffee is in foal again so please keep all fingers and toes crossed the little one is a sister for tiny Caramel. Please let your girls know we will look after 'their' mini horses till their return! We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I wanted a farm stay that would accommodate our Labrador so it really would be a family weekend. I couldn't have chosen better. Morvern was charming, delightful, quiet, peaceful and fun! My two girls aged 11 and 8 absolutely loved the farm animals, but especially the miniature ponies. They wanted to take Fudge and Toffee home! We had no eggs though being winter, but still had fun looking and trying to talk the hens into laying! Our 6 year old Labrador was as excited as I have ever seen him! He loved the animals and the walks as well as curling up in front of the fire each evening. Braedon Cottage was clean, comfortable, well appointed and warm. Kids loved the tyre swings and racing around in the paddocks as well as the antique kids books and the enormous selection of games. Will definitely return for another stay. Electric blankets on the beds and roaring fire were wonderful.

Room Tip: Bring soap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelly197340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorvernValley, Owner at Morvern Valley Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to review Morvern. It was a pleasure having you - please don't forget in February we do 4 nights midweek for just $300. We would genuinely love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Travelling from Singapore with my family. We landed in Sydney rented a Hertz car and found our way to our farm stay cottage. The owner gave good direction and advice to me all through my plan working out.
The music was on and lights too all soothing to walk into. I felt very warm welcome, and the decoration was good all about the Old Aussie Settler day. Clean. Warm fireplace with much wood for us to use.
The ponies, chickens and llamas were popular and kindly. All wished we could spend a longer time as 3 night was not enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yflcsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorvernValley, Owner at Morvern Valley Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Hello, Thank you for taking time out of your busy life to leave such a wonderful comment. It makes our day to read such a comment.

We are passionate about our small family run business, and over the years have acted on many suggestions, and also try to think from a visitor point of view of what we would like to have provided.

Thanks again and indeed would love to have you both return - just a pleasure.
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We recently needed a break from our hectic life and found Morvern Valley - what a wonderful escape! It felt just like staying at Grandma's country house, cosy, relaxing and warm (we loved the fire!!). Private, quiet, loved the animals and Bundanoon was a cute little country town (the pizzas are devine!). The spa bath was a welcome spot on a cold winters night.
Julie was extremely friendly, helpful and courteous.
Recommended for those wanting a hideaway from busy city life, would also be perfect for families as the cottage was well set up with kids games. Two or more nights is perfect....one night just wouldn't be long enough.
Thanks Julie, if we are ever back down that way we will certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perfect-squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A nice little cottage in the NSW Southern Highlands, close to Bundanoon and central to Morton National Park and the golf courses we frequented on our week stay. There was a welcoming basket of goodies on our arrival and the place was clean and comfortable. The beds were heated for those cold nights and a plentiful supply of firewood meant that we could sit comfortably in the small lounge room on those cold nights one gets in the highlands. There was a supply of games, DVDs and CDs if you wished to add to the night-time atmosphere. The showers were nice and hot and the information booklets were useful. Take towels with you to supplement those provided. The cottage is full of old bits & pieces and although this adds an historical atmosphere it also meant there was a lot of 'clutter' around leaving less space to distribute your own possessions. All though we were well prepared for a winter visit we found the kitchen cold in the mornings and evenings when we were preparing meals and sitting down to eat them. There are two fireplaces in the cottage, however if you are going out for the day it wasn't always convenient to light the one in the 'dining room' for breakfast. So a fan heater would make the kitchen/eating area more hospitable. Overall we had a relaxing week and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Note:We had no mobile coverage at the cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundanoon
0.5 mi away
Bundanoon Hotel
Bundanoon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bundanoon
102 reviews
6.8 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
841 reviews
11.0 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bundanoon Lodge
Bundanoon Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bundanoon
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bundanoon Country Inn Motel
1.2 mi away
Yallambee
Yallambee
#3 of 4 in Bundanoon
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morvern Valley Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morvern Valley Guesthouses

Address: 22 Grey Gum Lane, Bundanoon, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bundanoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bundanoon
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing