We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in the Southern Highlands”
Review of Yallambee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yallambee
Ranked #4 of 4 Bundanoon B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Where to start praising this wonderful B&B. The rooms are beautiful and clean, the bed is delightfully comfortable, the generosity of the hosts is superb, and the quality of service, food and attention to detail is great.
You must stay for dinner, we had dinner at Yallambee one night and dinner at a restaurant in Berrima the other, and the Yallambee dinner was the best. Bronwyn and David go out of their way to provide their guests with every luxury they can. We have stayed in a number of B&B's and Yallambee is the best. It will be our choice from now when staying in the Southern Highlands.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

It is just so great that you can stay at a B&B and know that when you go back the experience will be just as wonderful as before. Bronwyn and David are perfect hosts. We stayed in the south facing room the same as last year. We stay here as it is on our way down to the Snowy mountains for our skiing holiday and we like to have a couple of days to look around the Southern Higlands.
The meals as usual were spot on. Brownwyn provides tea and cake on arrival and as we book the evening meal there is a cheese platter in the louge prior to dinner. Bronwyn cooked the Friday night and David the Saturday. Breakfasts are a pleasure and David cooked smoked cod in a white sauce with chives for me on our last morning - delicious. Look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank possum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

.
We’ve visited quite a number of B & B’s over the last 3 years of our travels. Sometimes the property is amazing but the owners not so accommodating. Other times great hosts but the accommodation disappoints. What we found at Yallambee B & B was the best of both worlds! Owners that were destined to run a B & B. There happiness and enthusiasm is contagious and you can’t help but feel relaxed and carefree after a couple of hours in their property under their care. Bronwyn greeted us upon our arrival and showed us to our very own free standing accommodation. Bronwyn laughs easily and often and nothing would be too much trouble for her. Her partner David completes this perfect combination. He is an excellent chef (note I don’t say cook as his meals are so much better than that!). They both made our 2 night stay simply perfect. They are on hand if you should need them but also very respectful of your privacy. Unusual for a B & B – but really appreciated, they never asked us to nominate a time for breakfast. They were simply there on hand ready to produce some delightful treats when we showed up to the dining room.
I would highly recommend staying in and enjoying a meal cooked by David. We did this on our first night and it was a great idea. We’d bought with some fine wine and this was served to us chilled in the lounge room with a cheese platter and some backed cheese sticks for us to enjoy before dinner. You do need to pre-order your 2 course meal but all the choices were good. I opted for a main course of Salmon Risotto – delicious, followed by burnt orange panacotta for dessert. There are about 4 choices and you can have entree and main if you’d prefer. Everyone has the same meal but that was not a problem at all. We were very pleased to have David and Bronwyn ask if they’d like to eat with them (they tactfully checked we didn’t want an intimate candlelit dinner by ourselves first though). We had a very festive meal together with plenty of laughter. We had similar interests and all 4 of us enjoyed travel so had plenty to talk about. And at the end of dinner we only had 5 metres to walk to our bed!
The following day we were fed a great breakfast – not just bacon and eggs here – instead interesting and tempting offerings of frittata on the first morning and baked eggs the second. This was in addition to cereals, home made breads, fresh juice, fruit and yoghurt. This prepared us well for a big day walking the trails around the township. We did try to hire push bikes but the local hire shop closed early on that particular day. This looked great fun and lots of trails were bike friendly. We also visited Bowral one morning and enjoyed several drives around the countryside.
In summary I would highly recommend a mini break at this B & B. Guarantee you will return home, relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

With friends who accompanied us, we stayed 3 nights at Yallambee B&B in Bundanoon in the beautiful Southern Highlands, NSW. We were welcomed late in the afternoon with a cup of tea/coffee and cake in the guest lounge with a roaring fire and different cakes the following two afternoons! We were offered sherry or port before and after we went to a local restaurant which our host booked for us each night. On our return, our host Bronwyn, made coffee/tea/hot chocolate - and we finished off the cake! Bronwyn suggested places of interest, best routes to take, gave us several maps and brochures. Our rooms were very large with large ensuites - especially the Queen room which had a large bath and twin shower. We were given fresh towels each day. Breakfasts were wonderful, with fruit, squeezed orange juice, several cereals, tea/coffee and cooked breakfast - different each morning. Bronwyn's husband David made the most wonderful tomato, basil and egg tart and the following morning he made Canadian pancakes with genuine Canadian maple syrup. We tended to have afternoon tea late after being out each day but the cuppa was always brought to us regardless of the time and likewise the supper at 10pm or after. The house is in a quiet street, with a gloworm glen nearby and each night we saw rabbits, a kangaroo, wombat and barn owl on our way down the street to the house. We have stayed in a number of B&B's both in Australia and overseas but nothing comes close to the wonderful hospitality we were shown at Yallambee. Both Bronwyn and David are wonderful hosts which we highly recommend. We will return.

Room Tip: We had the two upstairs rooms, but due to the location of Yallambee, being so quiet, both rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What an amazing place to stay. I'll admit at first I was aprehensive as I had never stayed in a B&B before but I had a wonderful time. Bronwyn and David are very friendly and professional and did everything possible to ensure I had a comfortable stay.

On arrival I was served coffee and home made bannana bread, I also had a dinner and two breakfasts. The food was all perfect.

The room was breathtaking, with large windows and wonderful views of the trees and landscaping outside. I had a large bathroom with double shower and seperate bath. Towels and bathrobes were fluffy and everything was of the highest quality. The bed was so comfortable.

I travel a lot for work and would usually stay in large 4-5 star hotels but this was by far one of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny787878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here only for 1 night for a Southern Highlands wedding. The owners, Bronwyn and David, were very welcoming with Bronwyn even going with us to catch the wedding bus and drive the car back to the B&B - a really nice touch and very genuine.
The room was comfortable and the breakfast delicious with fresh squeezed OJ, homemade bread baked eggs, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We only stayed one night here, in between other pre booked places. The room we had was out the back of the property and quite large and very private. Our hosts were extremely hospitable yet very professional. Being a B & B Yallambee had the most delicious and generous breakfast. Our host even went to the trouble of packing us some afternoon tea cake (homemade) for our journey to our next destination. A large, cosy and comfortable lounge room was also available for us to use as our own and it included little extras like whiskey, chocolates, cake and games. It was a very enjoyable place to stay. If you like bike riding, the host even goes so far as to take you on a ride. We enjoyed this place immensely, many others in the service industry could learn form this couple. Highly recommended. Oh and the bed was very very comfortable, an excellent mattress!

Room Tip: The room out the back garden was a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gozziestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bundanoon hotels
1.2 mi away
Bundanoon Lodge
Bundanoon Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bundanoon
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bundanoon Country Inn Motel
0.7 mi away
The Bundanoon Guest House
The Bundanoon Guest House
#3 of 4 in Bundanoon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bundanoon Hotel
Bundanoon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bundanoon
105 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Yallambee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yallambee

Address: 43 Garland Rd, Bundanoon, New South Wales 2578, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bundanoon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bundanoon
Price Range: $122 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yallambee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning contemporary bed and breakfast - quiet location, situated next to the Morton National Park. Three large en suited rooms suitable for up to 6 adults. Well appointed guest lounge with log fire, DVD selection, books, magazines, boardgames, free wireless access, off street parking, games lawn and an acre of terraced lawns and gardens. Access to walking trails to lookouts, waterfall and the Glow Worm Glen from the doorstep - short or longer day walks available. Mountain and road cycling routes also in abundance in the area. Short drive to the attractions, wineries, farmgates and retail centres of the HighlandsAfternoon tea with home made goodies and full cooked breakfast included in the tariff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Yallambee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing