We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn(Shelter Cove)(Great Value!)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benbow Historic Inn(Garberville)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garberville Motel(Garberville)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
106
61
17
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
61
17
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee shoppizzahot tublost coastgas fireplacecrashing wavesfish tankbeautiful viewprivate balconyking bed was comfortablewhale watchingmorning espressoping pongspecial occasionchairs and tablesmajestic beautyroad trip
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Inn of the Lost Coast is an Fabulous Gem located in a somewhat remote area of California's northern coast. My husband didn't even want me to post a review because he doesn't want it to be discovered... I disagreed and think this place should get the business it deserves. This beachside hotel/motel is one of a kind. It is older, not fancy, but it is clean, has updated bathroom shower/sink fixtures and comfortable beds. It is beach property overlooking the rugged pacific ocean, where you can have unparalleled views sitting on your spacious private balcony. We slept to the sound of the crashing waves. The following day we hiked to the lighthouse where a sweet local told us about the community. The day was spent looking at seals, hunting through tide pools and just gasping at the majestic beauty that is seemingly undiscovered ~ not crowded at all. The Venezuelan restaurant directly across from The Inn served the BEST food we had for our entire trip to California ( 7 days total). Freshest fish possible and the most amazing empanadas. We went back for brunch the following morning. Delicious. The coffee shop in the hotel is excellent too. The man that runs it made a mean cappuccino and had yummy homemade pastries. Thanks to the inn keeper for her recommendations and kindness. So, if you're looking for views, kind people, good food this is your place. If you have to have room service as a standard, You will not enjoy it. The drive to this town only has one road in. It is a windy drive that if you're familiar with Northern California, you won't be surprised. If not, you need to know it is about an hour drive and is windy and has a few switch backs. That being said. I Hate those kind of drives. BUT, it is WORTH it.
This location is WORTH the drive. Next time we will stay longer than one night.

Room Tip: Top corner room.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlebit0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to this destination with expectation that given the price, the accommodation will be above average quality. Well. Not so. From a very luke warm reception to everything else in the room, which had a refrigerator, microwave, a coffee maker, and a porch. Overall, it was a very meh experience. The bed was a double and not queen, and the mattress had a “valley” right in the center of it. The bathroom was quite basic and minimal. So, it was the view from the room that was nice. Everything else was a motel style. It was not worth the good penny. The food looked not appetizing.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOfTheLostCoast, Manager at Inn of the Lost Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your accommodations. We would have gladly offered you another room. We have renovated our third floor last winter and will be renovating remaining rooms this winter. We would love to offer you a complimentary nights stay.

Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We enjoyed the people and the Shelter Cove community so very much! The hotel room, however, was old, dated, and smelly. While we wanted to sit on the deck and enjoy the view, the people downstairs smoking and talking broke the mood. I wanted to listen to the sounds of the shore, but not possible with the stank of smoke. The "fireplace" was a gas leaking furnace. The oversized "vegan leather" recliner in the center of the room took the ambiance to a new level! You're paying for the view of the ocean which is wonderful!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank 707Laura37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOfTheLostCoast, Manager at Inn of the Lost Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry you were not happy with your room. We would have offered you different room. Our third floor rooms were recently updated and will be updating remaining rooms this winter. We would like to offer you a complimentary night with us.

Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

This inn has ocean views from all its suites. Big rooms, balconies overlooking the ocean and coastal mountains. Gorgeous! Ping pong, ocean view jacuzzi, DVDs, full kitchens. Fantastic place to get away from it all. Great hiking in area.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Cheryl4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOfTheLostCoast, Manager at Inn of the Lost Coast, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The Staff from this hotel and community of Shelter Cove California made my stay the feel the most welcome I have ever felt away from home. I can't thank the wonderful people of this community enough. My brothers will forever be in my heart and these fine people made it happen. This hotel was nothing more than an exceptional place to stay for family while we come together in a time that was so crucial to all of our lives. Thank you to the Inn of the Lost Coast for showing all hotels what home feels like.

Room Tip: My corner room was nothing more than excellent. I can't imagine any better.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank crystal101wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews