We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to get there, but worth it when you do!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of the Lost Coast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn of the Lost Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hard to get there, but worth it when you do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We absolutely cherished our stay at this fine Inn overlooking the Pacific ocean. The views were breathtaking. The room was impeccably clean and we slept incredibly well as we listened to the crashing waves of the coast through the screen door. The fireplace was just the perfect way to take the chill out of our room after we'd come in from the patio area. We enjoyed the breakfast shop each morning -- the muffins and the ham/cheese croissants were outstanding. All in all, it's a great place to kick back and just spend a couple days doing absolutely nothing.

The road to get to the area is very windy and I wouldn't recommend staying here if your plan is to drive in and out of Shelter Cove each night. That winding road is treacherous. The first time we drove it we found it beautiful and interesting, but by the sixth and seventh time we were dreading it because of all the winding switchbacks.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mosskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    56
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
107
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks, CA., U.S.A.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this property in mid-Sept., 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Paul and Mary Jane welcomed us on arrival and made us feel at home. They were very informative about local points of interest, dining and other community resources. They couldn't have been more hospitable. The property is well-located in Shelter Cove ; it's well maintained exterior grounds and interior room accommodations left nothing to be desired. Our room was clean, charming, comfortable, and quiet. There is a sense of privacy and natural beauty to the overall community and to the Inn at Shelter Cove. If you stay anywhere else at Shelter Cove, you'll kick yourself for having missed the opportunity to stay with Paul and Mary Jane at the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafiSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the second time that we have visited - it was even better than last time, three years previously.
Rooms were clean, comfortable, spacious and pretty well equipped.
Paul and Mary Jane are great hosts, and deserve great success.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKH_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's an adventure just getting here over a narrow mountain road. But once you arrive you are greeted at sign-in, then a guided tour of the property and finally led to your room. We had a corner room on the top floor. It was spacious and clean and comfortable with a private balcony overlooking some of the best sunsets we have seen. The service was friendly with helpful things to do during your stay. Add to that an on-site pizza shop that served a delishish pie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammond
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The most beautiful ocean view u can imagine. They even light it up for u at night so u can enjoy it even longer. Beautiful room with fireplace and patio. Great service and even a good pizza place on site. Made me wish I was on my honeymoon again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mardigrasbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My new husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a stunning view of the rocky coast. The room was larger than we expected, with a very comfortable bed, and a private balcony overlooking the water. Our room was pet-friendly and we brought our dogs. I saw many other guests with dogs, and there's a large grassy lot next door for them to run around off-leash in. The hotel has a jacuzzi outside, but we did not partake. At night the cliffs are lit up with spotlights for added effect. The weather was wonderful and we were able to sleep with the patio door wide open every night, falling asleep to the sound of the crashing waves. The hotel has a good coffee shop and pizza shop on site, with decent prices. The pizza, in particular, was delicious! Our maid was very pleasant, and so were most of the staff -- with the exception of one woman who seemed annoyed when I went into the office to get a brochure and ask a question. Shelter Cove is pretty remote. The road in is super windy and nauseating, but once in its totally worth it! The beaches are nice, and we saw sea lions, sea otters, starfish, and other marine life. A great trip, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn of the Lost Coast!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellsBastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The drive to Shelter Cove, especially in thick fog, is fun the way roller coasters are fun: you're pretty sure you're going to survive, but...

There's not a lot to do in Shelter Cove except look at the waves crashing into the rocks. Don't let this deter you. After many long days of travel, watching waves slowly crush rocks into sand was just the thing.

The owners are genial and accommodating. When you get your key, they give you a quick, private tour of the small property, pointing out the pleasant open-air library, the hot tub (cleaned by hand, no harsh chemicals added, no pool), and the way to your room.

All rooms face the ocean. At night, the owners turn on some lights for a couple of hours after sunset so you can watch the waves before turning in.

The Inn has a pizza joint attached on one end that will walk a pizza to your room door (I don't care for pizza, generally, so did not sample it) and a little coffee & bagel shop that opens at 7AM tucked in at the other end. The only other nearby eatery is the Chart Room across the road (worth a visit while Captain Jon and Tugboat Annie still run it - they are trying to sell the place and retire).

Throw open the doors and throw an extra blanket on the very comfortable bed and sleep deeply.

Room Tip: Third floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claycletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
15.6 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Lost Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Lost Coast

Property: Inn of the Lost Coast
Address: 205 Wave Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9158
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Lost Coast Hotel Shelter Cove
Hotel Of The Lost Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing