We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant. Very Scenic. Very Remote.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn of the Lost Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant. Very Scenic. Very Remote.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The drive to Shelter Cove, especially in thick fog, is fun the way roller coasters are fun: you're pretty sure you're going to survive, but...

There's not a lot to do in Shelter Cove except look at the waves crashing into the rocks. Don't let this deter you. After many long days of travel, watching waves slowly crush rocks into sand was just the thing.

The owners are genial and accommodating. When you get your key, they give you a quick, private tour of the small property, pointing out the pleasant open-air library, the hot tub (cleaned by hand, no harsh chemicals added, no pool), and the way to your room.

All rooms face the ocean. At night, the owners turn on some lights for a couple of hours after sunset so you can watch the waves before turning in.

The Inn has a pizza joint attached on one end that will walk a pizza to your room door (I don't care for pizza, generally, so did not sample it) and a little coffee & bagel shop that opens at 7AM tucked in at the other end. The only other nearby eatery is the Chart Room across the road (worth a visit while Captain Jon and Tugboat Annie still run it - they are trying to sell the place and retire).

Throw open the doors and throw an extra blanket on the very comfortable bed and sleep deeply.

Room Tip: Third floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claycletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    57
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
109
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

BREATHTAKING VIEWS!!!

We got the hot tub suite with the fireplace. The hot tub was a little smallish for us (we are a little chubby) but once my husband got out of the tub, I enjoyed myself just fine.

I can not stress enough about the views from the balcony. The balcony was very private and had comfortable furniture. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable.

What made this room was the fireplace. We ended up sleeping with the patio door wide open so that we could enjoy the sounds of the ocean and left the fireplace on all night. It was one of the best nights of sleep EVER.

The woman who ran the front desk was very sweet and helpful, making reservations at, The Cove, for us upon arrival.

Honestly, we could not have asked for more. What a gem in this little seaside town.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room was great but honestly, the fire place and ample balcony made it just perfect. If i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NbettePhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Such a beautiful place. Completely tucked away from everything! We loved the Inn of the Lost Coast. Great couple who run the place kept our trip wonderful. The views from the rooms are amazing! Super clean, everything you want in a coastal stay.

We would and do plan on staying here again; and totally recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived at the Inn of the Lost Coast around 5pm after a 3 hour drive and hiking the Avenue of the Giants. The inn is definitely off the beaten path and the drive is extremely windy. So if you are prone to motion sickness, make sure you have your meds on hand, as the roads snake around and consist of many curves.

Needless to say, we were extremely tired and looking for a relaxing evening. We had reservations and opted for a deluxe suite. Boy was it a pleasant surprise! Our room had a king size bed with a pillow-top mattress, an in-room sauna, a hot tub overlooking the ocean, a gas fireplace, and a balcony with a view to die for! Listening to the sound of the ocean at night was the perfect way to end our day. We would have stayed longer if they had availability; however, they were booked full. We will definitely be visiting the Inn of the Lost Coast next time we are in CA!

Room Tip: Opt for a Deluxe Suite! It comes with a king size bed with a pillow-top mattress, an in-room sauna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo7180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived in Shelter Cove under trying conditions. Fog was beginning to settle over the cove and the twisting, winding road was not as fun as we had expected. We later found out the road is knows as the "Dramamine highway". The hotel is very nice and clean and the owners are such nice people. Our room was so close to the Pacific ocean we could hear the waves crashing all night. Our private balcony offered us a great view even though the fog tried to dampen our spirits we did not let it.
They have a pizza parlor on site and the pizza was delicious. Our room was also next door to the café but we were not bothered at all by any noise. BTW, the coffee is delicious.
We stayed two nights instead of one, we liked th place that much. The views are breathtaking and the staff is great.
We highly recommend this delightful place to all.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We wanted a room overlooking the ocean. We wanted to leave the window/door open to sleep to the sound of the ocean waves. We wanted to be away from the city life. We hoped also for a clean room... This place was awesome! The views were fantastic! The sounds of waves crashing against the rocks was refreshing and energizing!
We paid a bit more for the suite and it was well worth it. The hot tub with the full-ceiling picture window view was used almost as much as sitting on the balcony overlooking the ocean below. The fireplace was a romantic touch that we used each late night/early morning. And the room was so clean and well-kept it just added to the fantastic experience!

The pizza parlor next to the office was an added gem, as the pizza was great, price was very fair and select beer and wine could be purchased to go along with it.
Many locals stopped for pizza as well as the little coffee shop in the morning.

The Inn-keepers, Paul and MaryJane, were knowledgeable and extremely friendly and added a very warm touch to our stay. Honestly, we can hardly wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views I'm sure. To experience the best they have to offer, stay in a sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We loved our stay here, the view was simply amazing, sitting directly above the crashing waves on the rocks and cliffs. Really amazing!! And they even had a few pet friendly rooms, which made it all the more awesome! The pizza shop on site was awesome and the coffee shop too... only thing is there are very few restaurants and hours and days of operation are very off and on, so make sure you check before you go, or make sure you bring food! Small grocery/deli, but closed at 5:00 - no nightlife, but that's not a problem with the amazing view and sound of crashing waves! Was entertainment enough! Also, the road to get to Shelter Cove is pretty rough, steep, and windy, would be difficult to get a big camper/5th wheel, etc...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
16.0 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Lost Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Lost Coast

Property: Inn of the Lost Coast
Address: 205 Wave Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9158
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Lost Coast Hotel Shelter Cove
Hotel Of The Lost Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing