We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention!! Your vacation will be completely ruined!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn of the Lost Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Attention!! Your vacation will be completely ruined!
After we arrived at the hotel, we were told that there was no room for us, and the hotel managers, Paul and Mary were treating us as if we were aliens from space. They said that all the rooms were occupied, despite the fact that we booked 2 rooms a month in advance and got an email and a call confirming that reservation from hotel managers. Later, on the hotel's website, we found a similar review from another guy who got a room but not the one he reserved and confirmed. He was told by the manager that he was "lucky to have a room at all."
Then came the attitude!! The managers insulted us rudely. Instead of accepting their mistake and trying to resolve the situation they were acting in the most plain-out unethical manner.
Mary was talking to us like we were a personal annoyance to her, and she was trying to get rid of us instead of resolve the situation. She called us insane! Then kept muttering insults under her breath that my 12 year old son heard, and there were words of the nastiest character.
She also said that we are crazy and completely ignorant. She was yelling non-stop. A 78 year old lady with no skills in hotel management and an attitude issue. And at the end of all this, after the second manager, Paul tried to apologize, she snapped at him screaming "no one cares!"
She refused rudely to give us the phone number of the owners of the hotel (Michael & Tony Caldwell), but judging by the fact that there are quite a few similar to ours reviews for this place, and all describing such poor treatment of customers, it’s probably evident that the owners don’t care much and do not appreciate the business their customers bring.
So all in all, “nobody is waiting for you here”, be ready that your rooms can be double booked even after all possible confirmations in advance by phone or by emails. And then like us you will have to turn around and start driving at 10:30 PM on a very curvy, dark road to a Best Western 30 miles away with empty stomachs and ruined vacation with the feeling that you were treated horribly unfairly.
Yelena, Mikhail S, Ella, Dima U

Room Tip: We could not even enter in hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
23  Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent a week at the Inn and it was a beautiful place to stay. So peaceful and relaxing away from the real world. Great hikes at the Black Sands Beach and a little drive to Humboldt State Park where we did a 12 mile hike. Got back and had a nice glass of wine while we watch the sunset from the balcony. Had the sliding door open all night and listened to the crashing wave as we slept. We want to make this a yearly getaway. The only con on this trip is that we had our room cleaned only 3 times out of a 6 night stay.

Room Tip: Go for the view and getaway. This is not the Ritz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmule0239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We came out to the Lost Coast about a year and a half ago for a weekend trip. We were pleasantly surprised! Our room was on the left corner with a deck overlooking the beautiful coastline. The rooms are right on the water with incredible views. The room was big, clean and nicely furnished. It was quiet and relaxing. We even took a dip in the hot tub one evening under the stars and moonlight listening to the waves crash.

Did I mention they are a pet-friendly establishment? We brought our two dogs with us, which was a great perk, as there are many places to take your dogs hiking and running on the beach. I must mention that being a dog-friendly hotel did not compromise the cleanliness of the rooms. No funky smells or hair all over the place.

The only drawback to this place would be the location is a bit out of the way from the main part of town. The pizza place right below our room was the closest place to eat, and it is pretty good. The location didn't bother us at all, as I don't think you come out to the Lost Coast to have all the amenities of home. You go there to drive around, hike and explore all the natural beauty of this special place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali4sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A really nice place. Friendly & knowledgeable people check you in, the rooms are nice with an absolutely tremendous view of the ocean & coast line. The bed was a little hard for my liking, and the fridge by my head made a lot of noise when it kicked in & out, but these were minor inconveniences and in no way took away from the enjoyment of the room

Room Tip: They all face the ocean and are all good, no matter what floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First off, if you're looking for a North Coast oceanfront place to hole up in and watch the surf, this fills the bill. It is perched right on the cliff above the rocky shoreline below. But be prepared to deal with a few quirks for that smashing view...

There is a pretty decent pizza joint and a coffee bar onsite. In addition, there is a restaurant across the street. But, that is about the extent of the dining options nearby.

I opted for a mini suite (Room 5), which was reasonably nicely furnished with the exception of the bathroom - what had been a relatively standard layout was apparently ripped out in an effort to make it handicap accessible. In doing so, they removed the toilet from the logical spot and moved it to a place where it almost resembles a practical joke gone wrong. At the risk of being indelicate, unless you are either a "little person", using that toilet is going to be an awkward, uncomfortable experience.

If it hadn't been for the hamfisted attempt at ADA compliance, I might not have noticed the Home Depot bargain rack shower kit.

But then there you are - if they're going to charge over two hundred bucks a night for a place out in the sticks, these kind of things matter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The rooms are spacious; there is a hot tub (!); the bed was adequate although not new; the towels were spare and the toiletries were abysmal; the welcome was charming. However, even with the pricey rates ($150+ per night), these aren't the reasons to stay at this lovely inn. It's the VIEW! Each room looks out onto the pacific ocean in all her glory, and it is SOMETHING!

If you're looking for an adventure, the drive down to Shelter Cove is it! We have driven roads like this on numerous trips in CA/OR so weren't intimidated, but it is steep, windy, and sometimes downright scary if you're not used to it. We only went for one night and will not make that mistake again. This is a TINY community but there's lots to do, including tide pooling, beach-combing, and bird-watching/butterfly-watching. Food choices are limited as some things have closed during the recession, but there is an okay market with reasonable pricing and kitchenettes in the rooms.

If I can figure out how to pay for it, this is definitely a place I could spend a few days in a quite pleasant inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor . . . very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

You'll take a long winding road out to Shelter Cove and feel the stresses of the world left behind you. The couple running the Inn were very nice and gave us a tour of the Inn before showing us to our room. Room was spacious (http://innofthelostcoast.com/room-view/mini-suite-kitchenette/) and clean with a flat screen TV, fireplace, bathroom, and kitchen. Don't expect to sit around and watch TV though - not much for channels - Don't plan to surf the net either - their wireless is slow BUT...why would you when you have such a calming and sweet town away from all the gadgetry?! In fact, you almost feel like you're on an island.

The room we were in was on the bottom floor. The INN is located on a cliff right on the ocean. Due to its location however, there is a chain link fence keeping you from going too close to the edge - our room windows looked right at that fence which initially bummed me out. It wasn't quaint OR pretty, but within 10 steps is the deck that looks over and above that fence...you are still looking through slats, but decking railing instead. It was still relaxing and nice - the only downside really.

Hot tub is cleaned regularly and was wonderful - though you may share it with others since its on the shared deck.

Had the pizza - it was good
Had the coffee and pastries in am and both were also good

Stayed 2 nights. Ate at the Chart Room Restaurant across the street from the INN - I'd pass if I were you. Tea House was closed when we were there. Shelter Cove RV and Campground & Deli - Get the Fish Fry - everyone does it and it was good; but don't feed the birds and DON'T leave your food unattended; the birds will eat it before you can even say "Fish Fry".

Grills available at the Inn - would've maybe considered bringing our own food to grill.

2 Beaches - One a Black Sand Beach with gentle tides; the other a black (smooth) stone beach with bigger waves - ALL were so breathtaking!

Room Tip: May prefer 2nd floor rooms to ground floor - better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
716 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
70 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Lost Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Lost Coast

Address: 205 Wave Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9158
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Lost Coast Hotel Shelter Cove
Hotel Of The Lost Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing