We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn of the Lost Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent a week at the Inn and it was a beautiful place to stay. So peaceful and relaxing away from the real world. Great hikes at the Black Sands Beach and a little drive to Humboldt State Park where we did a 12 mile hike. Got back and had a nice glass of wine while we watch the sunset from the balcony. Had the sliding door open all night and listened to the crashing wave as we slept. We want to make this a yearly getaway. The only con on this trip is that we had our room cleaned only 3 times out of a 6 night stay.

Room Tip: Go for the view and getaway. This is not the Ritz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmule0239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    57
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
111
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We came out to the Lost Coast about a year and a half ago for a weekend trip. We were pleasantly surprised! Our room was on the left corner with a deck overlooking the beautiful coastline. The rooms are right on the water with incredible views. The room was big, clean and nicely furnished. It was quiet and relaxing. We even took a dip in the hot tub one evening under the stars and moonlight listening to the waves crash.

Did I mention they are a pet-friendly establishment? We brought our two dogs with us, which was a great perk, as there are many places to take your dogs hiking and running on the beach. I must mention that being a dog-friendly hotel did not compromise the cleanliness of the rooms. No funky smells or hair all over the place.

The only drawback to this place would be the location is a bit out of the way from the main part of town. The pizza place right below our room was the closest place to eat, and it is pretty good. The location didn't bother us at all, as I don't think you come out to the Lost Coast to have all the amenities of home. You go there to drive around, hike and explore all the natural beauty of this special place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali4sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A really nice place. Friendly & knowledgeable people check you in, the rooms are nice with an absolutely tremendous view of the ocean & coast line. The bed was a little hard for my liking, and the fridge by my head made a lot of noise when it kicked in & out, but these were minor inconveniences and in no way took away from the enjoyment of the room

Room Tip: They all face the ocean and are all good, no matter what floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First off, if you're looking for a North Coast oceanfront place to hole up in and watch the surf, this fills the bill. It is perched right on the cliff above the rocky shoreline below. But be prepared to deal with a few quirks for that smashing view...

There is a pretty decent pizza joint and a coffee bar onsite. In addition, there is a restaurant across the street. But, that is about the extent of the dining options nearby.

I opted for a mini suite (Room 5), which was reasonably nicely furnished with the exception of the bathroom - what had been a relatively standard layout was apparently ripped out in an effort to make it handicap accessible. In doing so, they removed the toilet from the logical spot and moved it to a place where it almost resembles a practical joke gone wrong. At the risk of being indelicate, unless you are either a "little person", using that toilet is going to be an awkward, uncomfortable experience.

If it hadn't been for the hamfisted attempt at ADA compliance, I might not have noticed the Home Depot bargain rack shower kit.

But then there you are - if they're going to charge over two hundred bucks a night for a place out in the sticks, these kind of things matter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The rooms are spacious; there is a hot tub (!); the bed was adequate although not new; the towels were spare and the toiletries were abysmal; the welcome was charming. However, even with the pricey rates ($150+ per night), these aren't the reasons to stay at this lovely inn. It's the VIEW! Each room looks out onto the pacific ocean in all her glory, and it is SOMETHING!

If you're looking for an adventure, the drive down to Shelter Cove is it! We have driven roads like this on numerous trips in CA/OR so weren't intimidated, but it is steep, windy, and sometimes downright scary if you're not used to it. We only went for one night and will not make that mistake again. This is a TINY community but there's lots to do, including tide pooling, beach-combing, and bird-watching/butterfly-watching. Food choices are limited as some things have closed during the recession, but there is an okay market with reasonable pricing and kitchenettes in the rooms.

If I can figure out how to pay for it, this is definitely a place I could spend a few days in a quite pleasant inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor . . . very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, mn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

You'll take a long winding road out to Shelter Cove and feel the stresses of the world left behind you. The couple running the Inn were very nice and gave us a tour of the Inn before showing us to our room. Room was spacious (http://innofthelostcoast.com/room-view/mini-suite-kitchenette/) and clean with a flat screen TV, fireplace, bathroom, and kitchen. Don't expect to sit around and watch TV though - not much for channels - Don't plan to surf the net either - their wireless is slow BUT...why would you when you have such a calming and sweet town away from all the gadgetry?! In fact, you almost feel like you're on an island.

The room we were in was on the bottom floor. The INN is located on a cliff right on the ocean. Due to its location however, there is a chain link fence keeping you from going too close to the edge - our room windows looked right at that fence which initially bummed me out. It wasn't quaint OR pretty, but within 10 steps is the deck that looks over and above that fence...you are still looking through slats, but decking railing instead. It was still relaxing and nice - the only downside really.

Hot tub is cleaned regularly and was wonderful - though you may share it with others since its on the shared deck.

Had the pizza - it was good
Had the coffee and pastries in am and both were also good

Stayed 2 nights. Ate at the Chart Room Restaurant across the street from the INN - I'd pass if I were you. Tea House was closed when we were there. Shelter Cove RV and Campground & Deli - Get the Fish Fry - everyone does it and it was good; but don't feed the birds and DON'T leave your food unattended; the birds will eat it before you can even say "Fish Fry".

Grills available at the Inn - would've maybe considered bringing our own food to grill.

2 Beaches - One a Black Sand Beach with gentle tides; the other a black (smooth) stone beach with bigger waves - ALL were so breathtaking!

Room Tip: May prefer 2nd floor rooms to ground floor - better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a review of the standard rooms, which are located in a 3-storey building next to the 2-storey building with the suites and hot tubs. This building hasn’t been renovated, and although serviceable is a bit worn down, particularly if you’re security-minded. In particular, the lock on the large sliding glass door was broken, and the curtain hardware was so rusty that the curtains could not be drawn. The deadbolt didn’t work and the door was split and looked like someone had kicked it in at some point. However, since Shelter Cove is so remote, and our neighbors were more likely vacationers than thieves pulling a scam, I told myself that this lack of security was okay, and enjoyed my time there.

The location of the Inn provides the best feature of these rooms: the view of the north coast and the constant sound of the waves on the rocks outside. It’s away from the center of town, which reduces the amount of car and foot traffic. The private decks are pleasant retreats at any time of the day, though they can get pretty sunny in the hours before sunset. My favorite time was morning, when the birds are most active. Since these units are equipped with microwave, fridge, and coffee maker, it’s easy to enjoy your coffee and oatmeal on the deck while planning your day. If you’d rather have espresso and croissants, there’s a decent coffeehouse on the first floor.

Other good features: The king bed was comfortable. Everything worked fine in the bathroom, and there was enough room for two people involved in different activities, unlike many similar beachside rentals. Kitchenette provided good food storage, as well as coffee, dishwashing soap, and a more than adequate assortment of dishes, silverware, and glassware. And don’t forget the sound of the ocean…you’ll hear it all the time! We also enjoyed the “no chemical” hot tub and the short (but hilly) walk to Little Black Sand Beach. Big Black Sand Beach, a bit further away, is a unique beach and great for photos, especially in the morning or at sunset.

Other questionable features: biggest minus is no screen door on slider. We left it open anyway, and tried to ignore the couple of kelp flies that wanted to befriend us. Refrigerator was old and loud, and when I tried to turn the temp down (after it froze my diet coke!) I noticed the control knob had been removed. Luckily there was a broken-tip steak knife in the drawer, which I twisted into the control to lower the temp. We turned temp way down at night because fridge did drown out the sound of the waves that we were paying for. TV was old CRT style and mounted at an awkward angle to the bed, but we didn’t even turn it on.

Also, don’t expect that your sheets will be changed. Housekeeping consists of management dumping a plastic bag of towels, trash bags for wastebaskets, soap, and coffee on a chair outside your door. You pack up your old towels and trash and leave them on the same chair, and management will clear those away when they see them. This is a pretty casual part of the country, folks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
55 reviews
15.6 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Lost Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Lost Coast

Property: Inn of the Lost Coast
Address: 205 Wave Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9158
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Lost Coast Hotel Shelter Cove
Hotel Of The Lost Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing