We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The drive there is an adventure in itself”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Ranked #3 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Didn't see the sun the entire time we were there. It was grey, foggy and COLD in July! I booked this room for the spectacular view and drove all the way out there (one hour from 101) just for that, but God had other plans. However, the inn was very nice. The young lady at the front desk was extrememly helpful. We ate next door at the Cove restaurant. Food was OK, but the atmosphere was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdg90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2008

My wife and I spent a week driving Highway One in northern California. One of our stops was the Tides Inn at Shelter Cove. (We stumbled on to the Tides searching for lodging along Highway One.) Beautiful! Breathtaking! Awesome! Incredible! Words really can't describe the view at the Tides Inn. Even better, the accomodations are wonderful. Julie is a fantastic host.

We stayed in a standard room with a king bed that was on the second floor. The room had a microwave, refrigerator/freezer, a coffee pot, and an unbelievably beautiful view. We sat on the balcony of our room and listened to the waves crashing against the beach as we watched the sun set. Magnificent! The rest of our time we walked along the beach, checking out the tide pools, and watching the wildlife--we saw deer, hermit crabs, starfish, seagulls and pelicans, and sea lions.

The room was very clean and appeared to have been recently painted (or very well taken care of).

The drive from Highway One to Shelter Cove is about 40 minutes due to the many "switchbacks" and narrow sections of the road. I would not advise coming into the Cove at night.

There are a few places to eat in the Cove, but not all are always open. We had food with us, but did end up eating pizza at Costa Cucina. Not bad.

If you're in the area, don't pass up the Tides Inn. Great views; reasonable prices; very nice accomodations. Very secluded (best part--my cell phone didn't work there, so no one from work get call!)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kedawhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This is a keeper!!!!!
My husband and I were blown away by the amazing view, and the expert customer service. The inn was well kept . The bathrooms were spotless. The room was good size, very clean and, the bed was comfortable. The room had a small fridge, coffee maker, and supplies. The bathroom had all the extras; soaps, shampoos. There is a deli/grocery store just a short walk away for items or sandwiches. The Tides Inn is a very peaceful/restful place to stay. The drive down the mountain was exciting, as well as seeing the abundance of nature: tide pools, deer, and seals. The Tides Inn was a nice surprise to us. On our next vacation to California, we will seek out The Tides Inn again because we had a great stay.

Jim & Kitty

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2roam92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We stayed at the Tides Inn at Shelter Cove in the beginning of December 2007 and it was wonderful! Even though it was technically the off-season we found Shelter Cove enjoyable, peaceful, and relaxing.

It was our first anniversary and there was a bottle of wine waiting in the room for us when we arrived. Every morning we saw deer right outside the Inn and seals sunning on the rocks. I recommend the full suite because of the kitchen. We cooked dinner almost everynight there and had our meals sitting on our balcony overlooking the fantastic view.

Humboldt State Park (Avenue of the Giants) was unbelieveable. We spent almost everyday hiking there.

We highly recommend the Tides Inn, but make sure you spend at least a week there to take it all in.

2  Thank greengirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

This place is so wonderful! It is a little hard to get to, the road into it is 20 miles long but takes an hour because it winds so much. The rooms are facing the ocean and are just a short walk from the beach. It was a very nice room.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utahgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Wonderful place! Nice, clean rooms. Beautiful views! Great food nearby. Very hospitable!! Wish we could have stayed longer!
We stayed in the mini-suite and everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

On the road visiting the Nothern California coast and Rewoods. Liked the Travel Advisior reviews so booked for one night. Amazing hotel. Right on the water. New. Reasonable rates. We booked the cheapest room. Lovely ocean views outside windows. Small refrig and microwave. Nice King nonsmoking bed and table with small walkway balcony outside (shared walkway with 2 other rooms but seemed very private). Nice management. Great area to visit- seal, sea lions, tide pools, great black sand beach, deer and views. At least one restaurant good in the area. Lots of new homes- so come before becomes known town! Check out website and pics- exactly what like.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DebbyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.3 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
70 reviews
16.1 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
58 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove

Address: 59 Surf Pt, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range: $155 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove is Northern California's own little piece of paradise. We are on the ocean; every room with an unbelievably beautiful ocean view. You can sit outside, watch the whales go by and catch a glimpse of the moms and their babies. We have a family of sea otters right outside your door; sometimes they appear to be playing just for you. The tide pools below are choke-full of sea life. Everywhere you look, there is the framing of a beautiful photograph. Bring your camera, binoculars, and a good book and relax with the surf pounding on the beach below you. We have deluxe standard rooms and one bedroom suites, some with fully appointed kitchens. All of our beds are triple-sheeted with plenty of pillows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tides Inn Of Shelter Cove Hotel Shelter Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing