We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wanted to stay longer and will be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited Shelter Cove and The Spyglass Inn over the Christmas holiday, and it was an exquisite experience. The view from our suite was heavenly. The suite, itself, was pristine in its cleanliness, and couldn't have been better equipped. The full kitchen was a cook's delight. The bathroom was beautifully thought out, with a excellent water pressure and no shortage of hot water. We loved relaxing in the hot tub, with the fireplace roaring and the ocean roiling below. It's obvious that Margaret and Richard put so much care into the design and detail of this exceptional getaway. Just outside of our patio (we stayed in the Dolphin Suite), we watched as the deer made their evening promenade grazing along the edge of the cormorant dusted cliffside.
As for the hospitality, both my boyfriend and I appreciate privacy, and it was unquestionably honored by the innkeepers, Richard and Margaret. Marvelously, they are able to straddle the line of providing us with complete hospitality, while allowing us the opportunity to enjoy the solitude and peace that Shelter Cove provides. As a Bay Area native and a relatively seasoned Northern California traveler, I can say that the coastline (a five-minute walk to the Black Sands Beach) and the access to largely untouched California Redwood wilderness is unparalleled.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

My sister, mom and I stayed at Spyglass Inn for 4 days and 3 nights. In the morning, we wake up to the sound of the ocean as the sun rises in the horizon. In the evening we watch the sunset on our balcony with a glass of cabernet to end a wonderful day. Richard and Margaret were excellent hosts.

Everything about this place is beyond EXCELLENT. Its a "home sweet home" feel like as you walk in your room. The room is spectacularly clean complete with living room, kitchen, silverwares, plates, kitchen stuff. Did I say the view was amazing! The entire property was clean and very well managed. Wi-Fi is available if you can't stop looking at your smartphones or laptop. Thank you Robert and Margaret for a wonderful experince. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had a wonderful five days at this excellent inn. Quality materials and fixtures; great mattress; great water pressure; beautiful view of the ocean; a five-minute walk from the southern end of incredible Black Sands Beach. Also a two-minute walk from the town's new pizza place and bakery, which was delicious. Thoughtful touches throughout like individually set combination locks on the doors, so no keys to fumble with or forget. Fast wireless Internet connection. Coffee maker, full refrigerator, microwave, toaster. Owner Richard is a pleasure to deal with and an amazingly gracious and thoughtful host. On a sunny day, the drive to Ferndale is INSANELY beautiful. Likewise the Sinkyone Wilderness area. Jaw-dropping views of the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I spend two nights of an amazing trip up the California at the Spyglass Inn and we were truly impressed!! Richard and his wife were gracious hosts! The room was awesome it was nice to wake up watching the moon set over the Pacific, the views were spectacular!! Our only recommendation is bring enough food to cook for the time you are there, the local restaurant is not very good. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spyglass room, great spot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My son and I stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it very much. The couch folds out into a pretty comfortable bed with a wonderful ocean view and the ocean is seen from the bedroom, as well! Richard was very helpful and made dinner reservations for us. The room was very clean and well maintained with a nice, well-stocked kitchen. We liked the atmosphere of Shelter Cove - very small town - where everyone stops to talk to you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikilouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at The Spyglass Inn and stayed at the Spyglass suite. Very comfortable, clean with a spacious deck and the owners are good people. The Spyglass Inn is the best place to stay at Shelter Cove because it is NEW and the online pictures not misleading. We travel a lot and I am "over particular" and very fussy with hotel rooms and location. We highly recommend the Inn and visiting Shelter Cove off season.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theworldconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

From the easy reservation process to making dinner reservations at our favorite restaurant to a great CLEAN place to stay and awesome views you cannot go wrong with this place. My wife and I have traveled this Country from Hawaii to Maryland and this place tops all. This place was not only clean and comfortable but also had all of the accommodation of home from the full size fridge to the utensils necessary and the view from the balcony was amazing as we watched the sunset. The only other thing that we needed was more time to enjoy the views and comfort.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angolano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
70 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
61 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove

Address: 118 Dolphin Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9160
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your luxury brand in Shelter Cove. When you are ready to treat that special person to a luxurious ocean front spa suite and experience a room at the top, we are just a phone call away. Please read our reviews. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing