We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise...romantic...a gem on the Lost Coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paradise...romantic...a gem on the Lost Coast”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is our fourth visit to Shelter Cove Inn. We keep going back because, in a word, it's just special. It has the feel of an island condo without the high price of travel to get there. The word "hotel" doesn't describe this place. There are only 4 suites, which makes it really private, even when fully occupied. Suites are modern and loaded with amenities: hot tub for 2, fireplace, king bed, full kitchen. The surrounding area has both redwoods and beaches for hiking, and tons of wildlife viewing. Deer amble in and out of the property, pelicans fly in formation so low you can almost touch them, and then there's the ocean. WOW. Stormy nights with lightning and thunder only make it more romantic. All of this wonder is brought to you by the most gracious hosts, Richard and Margaret. They make the "special" spectacular. Can't wait to go back again....

Room Tip: 2 upper rooms have balconies with better views and easy access from parking area. Lower rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I will definitely return to this gem on the water. It was like a dream to wake up to the sounds of ocean birds and thundering surf. The weather was great and the hikes were amazing as well. But even with bad weather, the hot tub inside the room with a view of the tempestuous sea was enough for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Shelter Cove Inn and enjoyed our stay so much. Shelter Cove itself is the perfect place to relax, enjoy the beautiful surroundings and get way from it all! The inn is beautifully appointed and has everything you could need. The suite has an oceanfront view, full kitchen (well-stocked), jacuzzi, tv/dvd player and nice bathroom. The room also has coffee and tea. We made a few meals in the kitchen/suite and had everything we needed. Take Richard and Margaret's advice and stock up on any food you need at the store in Redway or before (as Redway is about 45 mins- 1 hour away from Shelter Cove). Richard and Margaret are very welcoming hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. They even gave us an egg for pancakes when we forgot to bring one! We spent some time walking around the town, exploring the black sand beach and hiking in the redwoods. Thank you Richard and Margaret for a beautiful place to spend a weekend!

Room Tip: All four rooms have an oceanview, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband just returned from a weekend getaway to Shelter Cove. At the recommendation of a close friend we chose to stay at the Shelter Cove Inn. We are so glad that we did! Our suite was spacious, beautiful and with a breathtaking view of the lost coast. Our suite was at ground level. We were able to walk out our door onto the cliffs. The owners are gracious and helpful. We can't wait to return. Treat yourself to a stay at the Shelter Cove Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We discovered this fairytale place when it just opened. Later that summer, we cancelled our plans for Hawaii vacation and came back to Shelter Cove Inn instead. This place is magical! It's quiet and heavenly peaceful... In the fully-equipped kitchen we cook our favorite meals, which (comparing to restaurant dining) save us a lot of money.

The Inn keepers Richard and Margaret are the loveliest people. Every time we come back there, it feels like visiting a family. We've been telling all our friends about Shelter Cove Inn. And although we've traveled around the world quite a bit, this place remains to be our favorite vacation spot!

Olga & Erick

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The owners Richard and Margaret were very friendly and attentive during our stay. All the restaurants were closed due to the off -season but we enjoyed the benefits of a full kitchen which was well equipped with all the necessities. We loved the view from the balcony, where waves were crashing against the rocks the whole time. We want to come back sometime, hopefully during the summer.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be a good bet and are right on the ocean . . . very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmw345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheltercoveinn, Owner at Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Hi Tera and Tom, thank you for taking the time to write that fantastic review. These are very important for our Inn. We would like to have you as guest this Summer, maybe you would like to experience our Spyglass suite. Regards, Margaret and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at another inn in Shelter Cove this summer, and we happened to see the Shelter Cove Inn on a walk. We looked at one another and said, "This is more like it!" After a wonderful conversation with owners Richard and Margaret, we made reservations for our anniversary. We arrived home today from that trip, and although I don't usually write reviews, this is one I'm compelled to write.

Our suite was beautifully appointed with great attention to detail (e.g., self-closing cabinets and drawers in the kitchen; marble counters in the bathroom, kitchen, and tub; fully stocked kitchen; spacious deck; etc.). The bed was so comfortable that we slept in every morning (a rarity in my life), and we awoke to the pounding of the surf, sunshine, and coffee on the deck.

Vacation time should cause us to sigh deeply and completely relax; that is exactly what happened here at the Shelter Cove Inn. Time stretched at the inn: three days felt like a week.

My sense is that one can arrive a stranger but leave feeling like family.

It doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove

Property: Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Address: 118 Dolphin Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9160
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your luxury brand in Shelter Cove. When you are ready to treat that special person to a luxurious ocean front spa suite and experience a room at the top, we are just a phone call away. Please read our reviews. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing