We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing Location”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We recently stayed for three nights at the Oceanfront Inn. As previous reviews state, the rooms are recently remodeled, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is right on the beach and the ocean view from our room was amazing. We enjoyed having a glass of wine on the balcony just watching the seals and sleeping to the sounds of waves crashing below us. The village itself is very low key. The surrounding area is lovely and much less touristed than Mendocino, Carmel, and Big Sur. It was a peaceful and relaxing three days - just what we needed. The food options in Shelter Cove are very limited. The pizza place is your best bet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atdrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    34
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
69
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I don't think this place could have been any nicer! The rooms were modern clean and perfect with a sliding glass door to a small balcony that you could leave open and hear the sea all night. You could not be any closer to the beach without being in a boat.

We had a large group of female motorcyclists, and found the place a total delight. We were able to have a nice fire on the beach, and sit out and see the stars and enjoy a few cocktails and conversation. The onsite restaurant was a bit overwhelmed with such a large group but they did all they could to meet our needs and the food was quite good.

Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn is an absolutely gorgeous little hidden gem. Shhhhhhhhhh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The room was clean and very comfortable and the price for a room with two queen beds was a very reasonable $165 INCLUDING TAX! But the view is what makes this place worth the drive to Shelter Cove!!! The property is right next to the beach and you can sit on your private balcony and watch the waves break and the seals play right below you. And there's stairs down to the beach if you want to do some beach-combing.

They have a restaurant in the building too which is very convenient. The food is good but not great but there aren't a lot of choices in the area. Also, the neighborhood is great for strolling but that part of the coast can be very foggy in the summer.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivehurst, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Oceanfront Inn at Shelter Cove Ca. is a great place for a romantic getaway. The rooms are newly remodeled and clean. The view from our room was spectacular! Every room has a balcony that overlooks the ocean. We actually fell asleep to the sound of the surf crashing onto the beach below our room. The Inn also has a restaurant with great dinners at a reasonable price.
Phil is a great host, very nice and helpful too

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights, should have stayed a week! You can not get any closer to the Ocean unless you are on a boat. The room is spacious and has a great tub for two. Take cash because the closest atm is 5 miles back up the road, none in Shelter Cove. The choice for food is limited in the area ( 2 restaurants not open past 8pm), but the food is good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikejulie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENEVA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at the Oceanfront Inn June 13,2012 and loved the beauty and stunning coast view. Had the most restful sleep listening to the ocean and star gazing of my life.The restaurant wasn't opened the night we were there but we picked up a pizza down the road that was fine. Loved how peaceful the area was. Road getting to Shelter Cove was interesting also

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flip8683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The views in Shelter Cove are beyond compare, the coast is stunning, especially the black sand beach. Staying at the Oceanfront Inn is a great homebase while visiting. I stayed in the Captain's Quarters and highly recommend it. Not only is the room large and spacious, it has the largest hot tub/jacuzzi I have seen in a hotel room. Plus, the views from the balcony is amazing. I had my sliding glass door open most of the night so I could hear the crashing waves. And, you can easily walk to the beach from the Ocean Front Inn, so the location is great and I felt as thought the Inn offered a great value as well.

I suggest stopping at the market, just beofre you start the 45 minute drive to Shelter Cove. And while here, get the tide chart so you can explore the tide pools and explore teh black sand beach a few different times, it is great!

Room Tip: choose the Captain's Quarters, it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyTravelingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
698 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
58 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Address: 26 Seal Ct, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9155
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn is located on the northern California Lost Coast, Shelter Cove California. Relax and recharge in our newly renovated oceanfront lodging rooms and suites. Captain's Quarters offer Jacuzzi tubs with views of the surf. Oceanfront Inn location has steps down to the beach -- tide pools, fishing, boating, surfing and hiking. New flat screen TVs and free wi-fi keep you connected to civilization if you want to be. Or get away from it all and immerse yourself in the unparalleled natural beauty of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing