We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of David Thompson Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nordegg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
David Thompson Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nordegg
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great hospitality!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My family have been going camping at the David Thompson Resort for the last 3 years and the staff is great and my kids always have fun! The kids park is very popular especially the Rocket slide ! The cowboy breakfast at the rustic pub has a great atmosphere! Thanks Ron for the hospitality! We liked our camping site that was located in front of the small park for kids and the pub for breakfast. We are going again this year and looking forward to a relaxing vacation in the mountain! Nice walking trail that bring you to the Abraham lake! Very nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6304Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    28
    30
    52
See reviews for
72
36
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Do not be fooled. This place is not "rustic" like it says on their web page. It is OLD and in desperate need of a re-vamp or renovation. My wife and I stayed in the motel. It's not very nice. It was extremely hot, no AC, beds were unbearably uncomfortable and we hardly got any sleep due to our discomfort. We felt like we where drenched in our own sweat whilst lying on boards. Sheets even had stains , rips and holes in them. That's how uncomfortable it was. The stone walls in the rooms made us feel like we where in prison. Loud campers and STAFF members partying kept us up all night, not to mention the loud generator. We felt like we paid to have a bad time. Mice kept getting inside our room as well as spiders and my wife is highly fearful of both. Very, very uncomfortable night.

We had the cowboy breakfast in the morning which was actually pretty good. In fact, it's the cowboy breakfast that made us come to the resort. Friends of ours had nothing but wonderful things to say about the food. It was delicious.

However, my wife threw up directly after her meal when she used one of the outhouses that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a decade. There where a number of staff members driving around on golf carts. Couldn't they clean up these outhouses for the guests? I often wonder if my wife's puke was even cleaned up.

We where extremely dissatisfied with our stay and will never return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daddy56111112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Owner at David Thompson Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Daddy 56111112;
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are very sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay in July. We are glad you enjoyed the Cowboy breakfast and glad you took the opportunity to come and experience something positive during your stay.

We would like to address a few points you have made in this review.
1. Please let me begin by stating that we do not put torn, stained or ripped sheets on our beds. We take great care in providing clean linens. We hope you will be happy to know that we have been busy renovating and updating some of our rooms to include new mattresses.

2. Respectfully, I would also like to say that the very blocks that you describe as a "prison" are cinder blocks which does make the motel safer in the event of a fire but also impenetrable to vermin and the only way for mice to venture into the room is through the door when left open. As for spiders, every effort is made to ensure the rooms are bug-free, but in a mountain location, there may be the occasional spider we cannot control...

3. The campground and generator noise is not something you can hear in the motel as the campground is 100 yards away from the motel and the generator (which is our only means of power at this facility) is 250 yards from the motel and not something you can hear in any motel room as the 7000sq foot main building is a buffer between the generator and the motel.

4. The outhouses. They are checked 8-9 times per day by the same staff you mention on the golf carts. Every effort is made by our staff to ensure a clean, pot-pourri smelling experience is had in the 6 outhouses on the property in addition to our newly refurbished shower house in the campground.

Again, we are sorry that your experience was less than you hoped for. Our staff and we, Ron and Wendy the owners are always receptive to feedback that allows us to improve. It is my wife and I who host and prepare the Cowboy Breakfast every morning and the reason we do this is to meet our guests and hopefully provide them with a memory of a great breakfast to start their day, but also as a forum for them to voice any concerns and be a direct way to reach us for feedback and for us to address concerns as they happen. We wish you and your wife many happy travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nordegg hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

- rooms clean but need a renovation. Bathrooms same. Linens clean and good.
- one tiny window in my room which had a west facing window. Very very hot and short of sleeping with the door open.....
- restaurant ok for basics.
- the only place to stay in Nordegg unfortunately. Try staying in Rocky Mountain House which has more selection.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FZappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Although it takes an extra 45 km from Saskatchewan Crossing, this is one of the only serviced campgrounds around. The Campground is "dated", yet has all facilities required. Sites are pull-through in a forested area. Sites are quite close to one another, yet in September the campground is not too crowded. Accomodations are older, yet provide what one might need when being fully hooked up. There are special "group sites", one of which was used for a holiday party while we were staying. Yet, the campground rules were followed, so there was no noise at all. At the entry of the campground, several facilities are provided: shop, laundrette, restaurant. In the morning, one can opt for a breakfast being prepared for you (to be paid).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came for the playground. It was just as spectacular as I remembered (I'd stayed here 20 years ago!). We arrived on the Tuesday after the September long weekend, and pretty much had the place to ourselves. We have tents, and I have to say that this campground is definitely more suited to RVs and trailers. The unserviced sites were basically a gravel RV pad; grass, or even natural groundcover would've been preferable. I was worried about getting holes in my ThermaRest from the gravel poking through the tent bottom, but so far it seems okay.

Outhouses were nasty. They really should have cleaned them after the long weekend. Instead, the staff seemed to spend an inordinate amount of time moving picnic tables around. On the positive side, garbages and recycling bins were clearly emptied after the long weekend.

We did not have a restful sleep, despite the fact that the campground was practically empty. This was due to the fact that the campground staff had a very loud generator running ALL NIGHT. It was in a building close to the restaurant/stores, and we were in row 8, so quite a distance away. A staff member fired it up in the late afternoon, and other than a brief stop around 8:30pm, it ran all night. It sounded like a truck running right by our campsite. It was awful, and I have no idea what made them think this was a good idea. I can't imagine that they do that every night?? Or is it so loud at this campground during peak season maybe people don't hear it? Regardless, we will not be staying here again. Appalling disregard for visitor comfort and enjoyment. Price was incredibly high for the privilege of listening to a generator all night: $60 for 2 children and 2 adults in two small tents.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsaydu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Over priced for what you get. The rooms badly need renovations. You can hear everything. The only good thing was the rooms looked clean. Anything you purchase at the resort is over priced like the five dollar bag of ice or the four dollar chocolate milk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just spent 5 days here and had a wonderful time!!! We joined some friends who raved about the east coast festival and are sooo glad we came!!! If u are looking for a 5 star motel and campsite then go to banff!! The showers were great, hot and only a toonie! Campsites are a little rocky and unlevel, suck it up! The staff were fantastic!!! The festival was one of best I've been to! Superb entertainment all weekend!( can't remember when I last danced so much!) and the lobster dinner on Saturday night..... Yummmmmmm!! It was a perfect weekend!! I can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nordegg hotels
0.0 mi away
HI-Nordegg, Shunda Creek Hostel
Show Prices

Been to David Thompson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Thompson Resort

Property: David Thompson Resort
Address: Box 17, Nordegg, Alberta T0M 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Clearwater County > Nordegg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nordegg
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
David Thompson Hotel Nordegg
David Thompson Resort Nordegg, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing