We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
David Thompson Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Crossing Resort(Banff National Park)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chinook Inn(Rocky Mountain House)(Great Value!)
$74
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Tamarack Motor Inn(Rocky Mountain House)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge(Rocky Mountain House)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky Inn Express(Rocky Mountain House)(Great Value!)
$85
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canalta Rocky Mountain House(Rocky Mountain House)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The House Motel(Rocky Mountain House)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
47
41
32
34
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
41
32
34
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscowboy breakfastfull servicebeautiful locationconvenience storehorseback ridingmusic festivalgreat weekendold schoolbacondtrjaspercabingasreunionliquorpathrockies
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 207 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you are looking for the Mirage or the Delta supreme then you won't find it here.
What we found was a rustic lodge type hotel with clean rooms and all the services you would need at a remote location like this. The Cowboy Breakfast was an awesome experiance and Ron and Wendy really do go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one.
I will stay here again and look foreword to it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a great time at the resort this year. The weather was great and Ron and Wendy were as charming as ever. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well. The site was clean and well maintained. We were there during the week and it was quiet and very peaceful. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The garbage cans and recycling cans were emptied out every day. The 2 playgrounds were well used by our daughter and we also enjoyed the hiking we did. The food in the restaurant was also great as was the breakfast that was service in the cookhouse in the middle of the RV park. We are return customers and have plans to go back there next year. It is nicely located between Banff and Jasper. If you decide to go on a road trip for a day it is not too long of a drive and with the views you get along the highway are incredible. It is ideally situated for scenic tours through the national parks. We have met people from all over the world and it is a very friendly place to stay. This is a great family campground that had a few other activities for the family like mini-golf and Frisbee golf. If you want to go camping then this is a great place to go and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHELLEY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

While a short walk away from this campground is some amazing views, that really is the best this place has to offer. If they are relying on a view alone to keep this place going, it seems destined to fail. Firstly, while our site did have full service we had barely any water pressure and at certain times of the day the water was barely a trickle. When this was brought up to one of the caretakers he said it was fine and did nothing to follow through on this. The washrooms were few and far between for such a large place and only one was more than an outhouse. At this one they couldn't be bothered to supply paper towels so everyone used the toilet paper which ran out on more than one occasion. The showers were coin operated and didn't even consist of a bench. I felt very sorry for anyone who actually had to use them. These bathrooms definitely needed updating. Interesting to note that gasoline went up 15 cents a litre from Sat. to Sunday (when most people check out) and seemed like an obvious money grab. The campground book also advertised that Wifi was available which it might have been in their cramped little office only - not sure where you'd even be able to sit if you chose to pay for it. Yes, we were on holidays but when you are taking on-line schooling at the same time it was important we had access to the internet also. We won't be back and hope most people will stop and reconsider before heading off the beaten track to try this campground out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank allaboutthesun246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

In February, we booked and prepaid for an overnight stay at this motel in early July. We based our booking on their online site and paid $132.11. The motel is old, and poorly maintained. The very uncomfortable bed was supported by 2 x 4 wooden blocks, which were unstable. There was a constant compressor noise coming from either the pool or an ice maker. Second story sewage drainage pipes in the ceiling were also consistently noisy. And we could see light and ants coming in under the door which was missing the seal. The only reason a patron should stay there is if it is a last resort and your car is just too uncomfortable to sleep in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

What more can i say, Ron and Wendy treated us and the rest of the campers great. The place is beautiful and within hours of more amazing attractions. This has been one of the best holidays we have had. We will back over and over again..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heatherrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews