We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food & extremely poor service”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible food & extremely poor service”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wake up The Starr Inn & smell the coffee! There are some excellent restaurants in your area & I must say this is the wost food & service. We do not live in the area but visit regularly & staying at the Premier Inn visited your restaurant for the first time but never again.The drinks took ages to arirve & bar staff need to be trained. Glad I am not employing your staff. East Grinstead has many great people looking for work why not employ them! Have you never thought about training your waiting staff & your chefs? Our food was not what we ordered, mussels were so small that you could hardly find them, if at all, as there were less mussels than the shells! We spent 3 nights at the Premier Inn & the other nights decided that we would get a Dominos pizza & a take away from the M&S garage! I would not be happy if I were the management! We are usually so happy to please but this was a disaster!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Demelza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    112
    77
    89
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service and even worse food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staying at Felbridge Hotel, booked a table at The Star to cater for children. Service was appalling, order was wrong, hungry children, starters came half way through main course despite checking numerous times with staff. Quality of some of the meals was shocking, ordered drinks, had to keep going to bar to ask where they were. Chips on every plate burned, staff rude and unhelpful and as both teenage daughters are waitresses we can sympathise, but not here, staff didnt care at all and restaurant only quarter full if that. Worst meal I have ever had, beware

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dslkml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear dslkml,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the experience you received during your visit, we have asked our management team to investigate your feedback.

we have also sent you a direct message to discuss your review further.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good and varied menue”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a pub with plenty of parking space. The menue is varied and the prices are reasonable
It gets very busy on a Saturday night so it is not the place for those in a hurry. The staff are very good and work well under pressure. I enjoyed the food and will be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value for money nice food and service.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good value for money nice food and service and very close to the hotel. Friendly staff and good menu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KingArthurHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Cheaper then the Felbridge hotel restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Some bad revues on tripadvisor but we found it did the job. It's not fine dining its a pub grub place. Don't set your sights high here so you won't be disappointed. Food was cooked, edible and a decent price with a good assortment of beers and lagers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank koolsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing