We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Shepherds Hut in a beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Compass Corner Shepherds Hut
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Compass Corner Shepherds Hut
Beautiful sunrises from Compass Corner Shepherds Hut The beginning of Spring 2014
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Compass Corner Shepherds Hut
Beautiful sunrises from Compass Corner Shepherds Hut
The beginning of Spring 2014
Inside - your comfy double bed with a view straight out into the field.
Inside - the breakfast/dining area next to the stove
The Kitchen area with HOT and COLD fresh running water
The doors flung open to let in the glorious sunshine
The doors flung open to let in the glorious sunshine
Fresh baked bread, Jams, Marmalades and Preserves provided at request & as much tea as you can d
Fresh baked bread, Jams, Marmalades and Preserves provided at request & as much tea as you can d
Your host Sue is on hand to prepare a variety of cakes and tray bakes to order
Purpose built shower room in the granary, a steady constant stream of cleansing hot water
Purpose built shower room in the granary, an integrated hair dryer mounted on the wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
East Grinstead, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LucyMac12...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning Shepherds Hut in a beautiful location”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Oh my gosh! Well what can I say..... Had the most fantastic evenings stay at Compass Corner.
The Shepherd's Hut is brand new and spotlessly clean and finished to an impeccable standard. It's full of cute little touches throughout and has everything you could possibly need for your stay!
Mark, Sue and their family could not be more helpful - and the freshly baked cakes on arrival and the continental breakfast with homemade jams and bread just topped off the stay!
The hut is in a corner of the field a short walk from their house and toilet/shower facilities but you really do feel as though you're on your own in the lovely meadow! We had a BBQ and they provided all the charcoal and implements we needed, again all in a spotless condition. Sadly we didn't see any deer, although were told they had poked their heads out of the woods that morning while we slept!
We'll definitely be back for another stay - perhaps in winter - as the hut looks so cosy for the dark, cold nights!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLWNSW
Essex
2 reviews
“Perfect Romantic Getaway!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Arrived to a very warm welcome! Was blown away on arrival of how perfectly beautiful it was! The shepherds hut is well equipped with everything you might need and lots of mod cons! The scenery is amazing and extremely private! Will defiantly be staying there again soon. Would defiantly recommend the curious pig in the parlour to eat out. Their food is amazing!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5* Fantastic Weekend Break”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a fantastic weekend break away, this shepherds hut, Sue & Mark's hospitality and very warm welcome is finished to 5* quality by Mark himself, this is way better than stopping in a hotel. The shepherd hut stands alone on the edge of a meadow and woodland with lovely views across the countryside and has every convenience that you could possibly need, it even has its own kitchen built on the end. Deer make a regular appearance each evening and early morning. With a very short walk to your very own toilet and shower, not shared with anyone else but yourself and is spotlessly clean in every aspect as is the hut itself. The home made breakfast and cakes delivered to our door every morning were fantastic and eating it outside in the morning summer sun was even better!
You will not be disappointed in any way stopping here, something completely different but with all the luxury of home or a fine hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Y...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful weekend break in the English countryside”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing stay in this beautiful shepherd's hut! Even though it was only a night, everything was just perfect. Mark and Sue were such wonderful hosts and the breakfast we got with the delicious homemade jams was just the perfect way to start the day. The place is absolutely peaceful and serene! Mark even offered to drive us to the start of the trail we want to walk on to ensure our safety. Totally just out of the goodness of his heart! We will definitely be coming back. And hopefully next time Andrew won't get trapped in the lavatory! (Don't worry...that's all fixed now and more funny than anything!)
Ps. Mark and Sue built EVERYTHING themselves so when you go, definitely enjoy the detail and the craftsmanship of the entire place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surroundings were spectacular and the hut itself was just stunning!
Liked least: My partner getting locked in the bathroom.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A weekend in a woodland wilderness with all mod cons like something out of Doctor Doolittle”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked one night but stayed two. It was so good we have booked again for later in the Year. Woke up to a heard of deer grazing just feet from our own little bit of paradise; in a field surrounded by woodland. full of Pheasants, ducks, rabbits and more in a shepherds hut that has everything you need and more. Mr & Mrs Palmer were perfect hosts. Try the cakes if you get a chance.
We were worried about plane noise as it is so convenient for Gatwick but it's not on the flight path so it was quieter than being at home. More mod cons than the local hotels and a totally new experience. Thanks Mrs P we look forward to visiting again in September.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unbelievable peace and quiet in a rural farm setting but with all amenities at hand
Liked least: Short walk 75 yards to loo and showers
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing